Happy Birthday to me (until 6:00, that is)

I’m a Christmas Eve baby.  Which means that I get to share my birthday with perhaps the most special Babe of all – the Baby Jesus.  My mom was so cool about my birthday.  We’d have a cake and a little get-together every year in the afternoon.  I’d have a Santa pinata and a Christmas tree cake.  My birthday presents would NOT be wrapped in red or green, and it was my birthday up until 6:00.  After that, Jesus could have His day.

santa-pinata

Today was fun – The boys served me breakfast in bed (pancakes, bacon, clementine, orange juice and MOST importantly – coffee).  I received some lovely gifts, and then it was off to the races.  As a youngster, I never appreciated all that my mother had to do on this day.  Now, I’m racing around just to fit it all in – I can’t imagine having to plan a birthday party on top of it all.

I thought you might want to see what happened in my kitchen today.

Coffee Cake

Coffee Cake

This is for breakfast on the 26th, when we’ll have company.  I’ll wrap it tightly and hope it’ll keep.  I also made

Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie

Cinnamon Rolls

Tea Ring/Stollen

Tea Ring/Stollen

The tea ring is a family tradition (it’s rising in the picture above – didn’t have time to wait for the rising and the baking and the icing)  We had a Swedish friend who made one for us every year.  Hers were works of art, and in 15 years of trying to replicate hers, I’ve never come close.  I am getting better at it, though, and my husband and father-in-law look forward to it every year.  This year, I added dried apricots.  I hope it doesn’t throw the flavor off.  I’ll let you know later how it came out.

One response to “Happy Birthday to me (until 6:00, that is)

  1. Happy Birthday (a few days late) – but, hey, where’s your pinata??

Leave a Reply

