It’s Anti-Procrastination Day

Did you ever have one of those days where you had an “That’s it!” moment?  That was me this morning when I walked in from taking the kids to school and saw the sink full of dirty dishes, the kitchen floor that bore the results of eating in this month, a pile of paper on the end of the cabinet (which is a spot that we like to call the “Information Center”, but in all reality, it’s the place where all papers go to die), and laundry in various stages.  In the back of the house resided a funky smell attributable to the boys’ bathroom, and I knew that if I didn’t tackle ours, the EPA would soon come knocking with an application to be included in the next SuperFund cleanup list.

So I kicked it into gear this morning.  1 hour and 45 minutes later, all the bathrooms are sparkly and smell Spic N Span (one of my favorite cleaning products), the laundry has been rebooted, all surfaces mopped, the kitchen cabinets wiped down, the sink scrubbed, and the pork roast for supper is thawing on a clean countertop.  I still need to vacuum, but I ran out of steam and so I’ve stopped to check emails, have a quick peanut butter sandwich and milk to re-up the energy, make a list of what else needs to be done, and hopefully kick back into gear in another half hour or so.

broom

info

I’ll update later….

UPDATE TIME:  Okay, so I”m feeling pretty skippy about all the stuff I’ve accomplished today.  Here goes:

I dusted what I thought was a frosted glass light hanging over my dining room table.  Turns out it wasn’t frosted after all….

lamp

I filled the birdfeeder that had sat empty since December (eek – sorry Cardinal family)

001

I took down the hummingbird feeder and washed it…I’m pretty sure that the hummingbirds have been enjoying their lovely vacation in southern Mexico and didn’t need three month old juice…

hummer

I made 6 appointment phone calls

calls

Plus – two loads of laundry have gone through the washer and dryer and just need to be put up.  That’ll be a task for later this afternoon.  It’s time to go pick up the kids, return a book to the library, and hit the post office to mail a birthday present to my brother.  Then it’s homework, baths, and dinner.

I think I’ll take the rest of the day off after that.

One response to “It’s Anti-Procrastination Day

  1. That is such a great feeling isn’t it? To just buckle down and GET IT DONE.

    I was in that mode last week! Sadly, it comes and goes, and for me right now it’s gone. I’m happy for you though. 🙂

    I know you’re a big meal planner. In fact, Will asked me to make your egg/saugsage/hashbrown casserole tonight. I have a hard time finding Simply Potatoes. I looked at Walmart and King Soopers (Kroger) and couldn’t find them anywhere. I guess I bought them at Safeway last time. I ended up with shredded hashbrowns. I think they’ll work if I cook them a bit first.

    Have a happy, productive day!

Leave a Reply

