Pantry Update

Earlier I posted about Roulette, the little game I’m playing in January that involves me NOT going to the grocery store and spending money, and instead working out of the pantry and freezer stock that I have.

I think I’m a closet hoarder. No, not a collector of closets, but a secret stasher. I don’t like to not have backup. And I’m really happiest when my backup has backup. I have three freezers. One in my side by side fridge in the kitchen, one garage fridge where we keep the backup milk, eggs, and cokes (we bought that fridge back when the triplets were little and going through 10 gallons of milk a week. It has been worth every single penny), and I also have an upright freezer. Costco and CP&L love me.

Since the new year began, I’ve been systematically working my way through the pantry. I made a list, then made another list of what I could make with said list, and then made a third list of menu plans including lists one and two. (On the list for things to buy on my next trip to Walmart: paper!)

So far we’ve had:

For Suppers:

BBQ pork (had the pork shoulder in the freezer and an extra bottle of BBQ sauce in the pantry)
Chili Mac with wagon wheel pasta (freezer meat/pantry staple)
Beef Tips with rice (freezer and used three cans out of the pantry)
Black bean Chili (cans out of the pantry)
Lasagna (pantry and freezer – made two – ate one and put the another back in the freezer for later)
Baked Chicken (freezer, when chicken was 49 cents a pound)
Roasted Chicken (ditto)
Chicken enchilada casserole (freezer and pantry)
Swiss steak and rice (ditto)
Pork roast and corn

For Snacks/Dessert:
Chocolate Cake
Vanilla Cake (the kids are loving this game)
Homemade Hot Cocoa with tons of marshmallow

For Breakfast:
Banana Bread (twice – and still more bananas frozen, waiting to be used)
Sausage biscuits and gravy (sausage frozen from a sale three months ago and biscuits from the freezer)
Blueberry Muffins (pantry mix)
Pancakes (pantry mix)
Breakfast burritos
Waffles
Hot Pockets (Yes, they are in my freezer….don’t hate me)

I don’t know if the list is complete. The point is, we’re eating well, and wow, have we saved a ton of money not going to the grocery store. I think I’ve only spent $70 on fruit/veggies/milk/eggs/bread/oj since we began. And from the looks of the freezer, we’ve got a ways to go.

Still haven’t figured out what to do with the coconut milk, but I think I can add it to a jar of vindaloo simmer sauce (pantry) that I’m looking to pour over some chicken thighs (freezer) for later this week.

4 responses to “Pantry Update

  1. I am a closet hoarder too! 🙂

  2. Awesome job, Susan.

    I have Hot Pockets in my freezer too…

    And for some reason, I didn’t realize your boys were triplets. Where have I been?

  3. Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog! And I’m glad to have found yours.

    Interesting experiment! Your talk about your “back up for your back up” made me smile. I think I might be your opposite in that regard… I’ll throw away anything if it’s not nailed down and we’re all the time making grocery trips because we’ve run of out shampoo or diapers. Wish I had a little more of that “be prepared” gene. You’ll be way more prepared for any sort of calamity than me! 🙂

  4. Okay, so we’re playing the “clean out the pantry game” at our house too this month because we are broke since I quit my job. Unfortunately, we don’t have near the stash you do. Some sample meals at our house:

    -Hamburger helper made with kidney beans instead of meat
    -black eyed peas and jalapeno cornbread (that would be an entire meal)
    -lots of pb&j
    -freezer burned veggies with chicken breasts
    -Ritz w/ peanut butter

    My family wants to come to your house!

Leave a Reply

