Love is in the air…

Don’t you just love February?  January’s gone (and I intensely dislike January, which drags forever because usually I’m on some post-holiday diet and cranky as all get out that I didn’t have enough discipline to get through the holidays without gaining eight or more pounds…usually more…) and the daffodil stems are just starting to peek out of the ground and the birds seem a little chirpier, and even though there’s snow on the ground, everyone knows that SPRING IS COMING!!!

I thought I’d use the first couple of weeks of February to run a little series on love.  I’m a preacher’s daughter, so sermon series are nothing new to me, and I can usually whip out three points and  a poem on most anything.  I think I’m going to muse (and perhaps a-muse) over boyfriends past and some of the things I’ve learned about love.  A few ground rules:  I will not name names.  I have absolutely no idea who reads this blog other than the four to six of you that actually leave comments.  I know there are more, judging from my blog statistics (I know you’re out there – STALKERS!).  I’m assuming that none of them are ex-boyfriends.  (Most of my ex-boyfriends broke up with ME, not the other way around, so I have no reason to believe they’d actually be interested in “whatever happened to that old crazy pyscho girlfriend I had”).  But if by chance there’s an ex running around the blogosphere, relax…no one will know it was you that crooned along while Elvis sang “I’ll have a blue Christmas without you”  on a hot August night outside the multi-plex. (That, by the way, was the last date).  And I’m not pining away.  I married the greatest guy in the world.  Lucky me.

I was thinking about love songs and that got me on my personal boyfriend play list.  Thought I’d share a few with you.

.38 Special – “Hold on Loosely”  I dated a guy right out of high school.  We met at a convention center we both worked at.  Had the summer fling.  At the end of the summer, we decided to make a clean break of things. Tears streamed down my face as I popped in my favorite Wang Chung tape into the deck of my ’79 Caprice Classic, and drove off into the sunset thinking I’d never see him again.  As I was leaving, a buddy of his walked up, draped his arm across his shoulders and said “Dude, you can hold on loosely, but don’t let go.”  By the time I got home, there was a message on my answering machine asking me to reconsider the breakup.  We dated for a couple of years after that.  Fun times….

Lionel Richie – “Hello” – My very first boyfriend was in the 3rd grade (he also counts as my first kiss – I was such a hussy – but it barely qualified as a kiss when we did it on a dare and counted down before hand).  We did the boyfriend/girlfriend thing again in the 8th and 9th grade (kinda’ hard to call it dating when you can’t drive).  He dedicated “Hello” to me on the radio and I missed it.  But he told me the next day.  Whenever I hear it, I go straight back to junior high and sweaty palms and fluttery hearts and the cute little girl that stole him away.  Yeah, that memory starts sweet, but ends in a screeeeech of tires as the car runs right into the jersey wall and explodes in a ball of fiery flame.

Extreme – “More than words”  – That song reminds me of the guy that strung two of us along at the same time.  Yeah, I’ve got more than words for him, too.

Frank Sinatra – “You make me feel so young”  Isn’t that the kickiest song?  Doesn’t it make you want to swing your arms around and twirl and laugh and be happy all at the same time?  That was what I did on our wedding day when my (5 years older) husband sang this to me at our reception.  It still makes me smile just thinking about it, which goes to show you that “even when I’m old and gray, I’m going to feel just like I do today…”

2 responses to “Love is in the air…

  1. As always, your blog posts read like a good book…and work like the Calgon commercial! For example, I was sitting here, thinking about songs of the 80’s, high school, my wedding day..then K4 runs up to me with nose goo and WHAMMO..I’m back to my reality. But, it was fun while it lasted..thanks for the break!

  2. i read this to rachel over the phone (she was “doing homework” and couldn’t read blogs).

    we both very much enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

