The things I do not love…

I do not love that it’s Thursday and I’m madly scrambling about doing the things I should have done Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.

I do not love that my Natural Match Medium Brown 5N did not match what was on my head and really came out more of a darker brown than medium.

I do not love that it was …count ’em…19 degrees outside when, sweaterless, I dropped the boys off in carpool.

I do not love Michael Phelps right now.  Can I say I’m very disappointed?  I realize he’s young and all, but, really….

I do not love that the car I cleaned out and vacuumed, and Oxi-cleaned three days ago is filled with white styrofoam beads from the hacky-sack that got destroyed last night in the 5 minute drive home from the restaurant.

I do not love that I lost my debit card and I cannot find it anywhere and we had to cancel it last night and I have to go the next 5-7 business days to get a replacement.

I do not love vacationing in a country where I know people live in abject poverty about 15 minutes past the gates of the resort where I will be staying.  It makes my stomach hurt.

I do not love disappointing my husband who really wants to go on this vacation with me and only me, so I will go.  And will tip extra.  And buy lots of souveniers to help the local economy.  And ask God to give me a chance to show His love towards someone there.

I do not love feeling this gloomy about leaving my boys, especially my differently abled little one who has a little thing about being away from his Mom who is his best friend.  Or maybe it’s me that has the little thing.  Okay, it’s a big thing and it’s tearing me up inside.

I do not love spilling tears across my freshly applied mascara.

I do not love having such a depressing blog entry.

4 responses to “The things I do not love…

  1. You NEED this vacation. It WILL make you a better mom. It’s OK to have a depressing blog entry. Your babies WILL miss you terribly, but WILL appreciate you even more when you get home. Your friends WILL be praying for you to have a wonderful vacation filled with laughter and lots of rest. It’s OK to have tears falling….and…Michael Phelps is a 23 year old MAN that needs to GROW UP.

  2. ditto…
    I love that your boys will see a wonderful example of how a husband cares for and cherishes his wife.

  3. I hope you will find something enjoyable about your getaway! (I bet you will). I’ll pray for you and your family.

  4. Susan, I hope you are able to relax and enjoy time with your hubby. I pray God will show you many blessings on your trip. I know it’s hard, but this time away will allow you to be refreshed and be an even better mom. At least that’s my experience.

Leave a Reply

