Lifting the veil

Several of us were having a little chat over on Mer’s blog about authenticity yesterday.  We were talking about why we blog, what we blog about, and how honest we are when we blog.  There was some discussion about how much to share, what we share, why we share.  The conversation spilled over into some emails going back and forth, and as I’ve been thinking through stuff, I thought maybe I’d just have a little chat with you, dear reader, about why I do what I do, and the level of honesty that you will find in this blog.

First things first.  I honestly took the cat’s temperature yesterday.  That was not made up.  Neither was the swearing or the cat fur getting everywhere, or the conversation about the KY with the assistant.  And it cracked me up, so I thought I’d share it with you.  And I made the tamales, and I kissed a boy in 3rd grade, etc. etc.  I’m telling the truth when I share my stories (tho’ a little sarcasm and embellishment may sometimes sneak in – strictly for humor purposes.)

I started this blog because I truly love to write.  I love seeing words jump to life on a page – I love the sound of the keyboard as the thoughts flow and the words fly through my fingers. I’m not the greatest writer, but I love the craft, and I want to get better so that one day I can write the book that lives in my heart about the fabulous adventures of a little girl growing up in the jungles of a third world country.  So I practice at writing the fabulous adventures of her everyday grownup life so that one day, when the time is right, the book will be published and I’ll sell the movie rights and make kajillions of dollars and go buy a castle in Scotland.  Or a villa in Italy.  Or both. Or the manuscript will be sent to one of those self-publishing houses and no one will buy it, but it will be done and I can cross off  item #1 on my Things To Do Before I Die list.

I blog because I live far away from my family and my best friend, and this is the best way I know how to open my life and share and stay connected with the ones I love.

I blog because I have a terrible memory and I don’t want to forget the crazy and fun things that happen along the way of living life.  And I failed at scrap-booking and I never remember to charge the video camera, but I like to tell stories, so this will be the way (for now) that I leave a bit of a legacy for my children so they can see the heart of their mother.  Most days they see someone that tells them to clean up, sit straight, do their homework, and pick up their clothes.  I want them to see another side to their mom.  Someone who loved loved loved to laugh and adored her friends and fiercely loved her kids even though she had absolutely no clue as to how to raise them.

I blog because telling the happy and funny stories keeps me from sinking into that hell hole we call depression/discouragement/anxiety that comes with the challenges that all special needs families face.  (As an aside, did you know that 4 out of 5 marriages with a special needs child end in divorce?)

I blog because life’s too short to stop making friends, and I’ve already made some new ones in the few short months that I’ve been doing this.

I blog because occasionally I will have a lesson that God has taught me and I want to share it.

I blog because I don’t have the answers and sometimes I need the collective wisdom of the village to get my head on straight (be thinking about how I can have a happy dinner hour – that’s coming up in the next few days!)

These are just some of the reasons why I do what I do.  I’m sure there are more, but this entry is turning into War and Peace II, so I think I’ll stop yapping and ask why do YOU blog?

5 responses to “Lifting the veil

  1. I blog because a certain situation last year caused me to become comfortable with negative, depressive feelings. I needed something to help me focus on good things, fun things, God things..so, after much prayer (and harassment from a dear friend) I started my blog. It has helped so much…and is a lot cheaper than a second round of therapy. 😉

    Let me know when the book is published..I’ll be one of the first to buy! I just love your blog!

  2. “I’m not the greatest writer”

    Maybe not, but you’re darn good. You have a flow which I am trying very unsuccessfully to not covet. Ahem. I’m with Tracey. Sign me up for the book.

    And i will pray for your marriage. And your special needs child. Taking a leap here, to assume that you’re speaking in the first person. Please pray for mine.

  3. I identify with just about all of your reasons for sure. Great things to think about.
    I’ve found that blogging is such a good outlet for me… to process emotions, to find redemption in even the mundane of life, and to learn from what the Lord is teaching me. Writing it all helps us not forget- the goodness and faithfulness of the One who created us and loves us.
    I think those of us who love to journal (I have ever since I was little) have found blogging to be such a gift.
    It’s a way to stay connected in your community of friends and family across the miles that separate, a way to share your heart, and a way to
    encourage each other as we navigate through life.
    Great post. Keep up the blogging, friend. Can’t wait to meet IRL someday!

  4. I came over here from Gretchen’s blog. I like your writing. You need a subscribe button though!

    You put into words a lot of good things that I am finding about blogging too. I think I mostly enjoy the social aspect of it, since writing has always been an area that I have avoided. I enjoy reading though!

  5. Wow…you made me cry…I wish I could find within myself the freedom to write like you and Lorie do…did you check out her blog?

    I WILL BUY the book about the little girl growing up in the third world country…I’ve always wanted to know more about that….

Leave a Reply

