Try a little tenderness…

“When I grow up, I’m going to be  a billionaire and invent a robot that does my homework for me and cleans my room.  I’ll call it a Botler.”

You have a Botler.  It’s called “Mom”.

And honey, you realize that you have to do your homework now while you’re a poor 3rd grader so you’ll know HOW to build a Botler and make your billions.  And are you going to take care of me in my old age and make sure my suite in the very nice assisted living facility is situated right next to George Clooney’s?

___________________

I had fun this morning taking one of the boys out of school and over to the doctor’s office for a checkup.  I had planned on taking pictures of us playing hooky and drinking milkshakes from McDonald’s, but I realized that he might not want his medical privacy violated.  Especially if he really invents the Botler and makes billions of dollars later on down the road…can’t hurt to be nice to the ones that pick out your nursing homeAnd I definitely don’t want to mess up my chance with Clooney.

While we’re at the doctor’s office, he picks up a brochure that deals with his particular affliction and begins reading.

“Hey, Mom!  Did you know that positive reinforcement helps kids with *XYZ*?

Hey, Son!  Did you know that a glass of wine never hurts their mom, either? And have you seen the sticker chart on the refrigerator?  The one that has, umm, NO STICKERS on it?

“Mom, it says that sarcasm doesn’t help.”

I could not make this up if I tried.

8 responses to “Try a little tenderness…

  1. Just got caught up on your posts. And have figured out how you and Mer know each other. I think she needs to come to this part of the country and visit. Don’t you?

    About todays post…no ever told me when they handed over that 10 pound baby eleven years ago, that he would grow up and learn to have an opinion. Where was that in the handbook?

  2. I knew I should have waited until lesson planning time to read this…you are killin’ me today! 😀

  3. So, is Amy going to stop and see you on her way home?

    (Had to ask you a question because telling you how funny you are and how your post made me laugh seems so redundant.)

  4. My 3rd grader is inventing an eraser that is completely invisible, but shoots fire when you erase with it. Go figure.

  5. True story: My son’s neurologist said that gifted kids tend to ask more questions than folks of normal intelligence. Son deadpans: “Really? Why do you think that is?”

    I’ll never catch up.

    At this point, i think it’s time for me to start picking out “our room” next to George’s. You know, because with natural attrition, we’ll be widows, and we’ll simply have to cross our fingers that he’ll still be alive. I’ll share.

  6. That is priceless!

  7. Pingback: A long run for a short slide « Carpoolqueen’s Blog

Leave a Reply

