Eat your heart out, Annie Liebowitz

Hi.

I’m Travis.

I was sick today and hung out with my mom.  We went to her doctor’s appointment.  She was annoyed about it because she hates seeing any medical professional about herself, mostly because it’s a pain to pick out the appropriate underclothing to parade in front of total strangers.  Funny, she doesn’t seem to mind hauling my little behind to the doctor.  What’s up with that?

I think mainly she was annoyed that she didn’t get her morning cup of coffee because they were going to draw blood and she had to fast.  That first cup’s pretty important to the whole family, so we were concerned.  She managed okay, though, and didn’t run over any kids in the carpool line.  I’m proud of her.

While we were in the doctor’s office, Mom gave me her camera to keep me occupied while she talked.  I shot a lot of pictures of this.

001

Before I get too far, Mom said to tell you that it was NOT one of THOSE appointments and that she certainly would have made other arrangements for me had it been otherwise.  I have no idea what that means because I’m only nine, but Mom said you would know exactly what she was talking about.

I managed to get a picture of Mom’s phone, my other favorite toy.  I hear she might be getting an iPhone.  I’m so excited for her.  Mom just told me to type that in case Dad reads her blog today.

0021

Anyway, I heard some interesting words when Mom stepped on the scale.  She did a lot of eye rolling, as well.  When the doctor asked her why she had come in, she talked about getting checked out because she’s about to turn 40 and she’s afraid the warranty’s about to expire on her.  That’s when the doctor started to roll her eyes as well.

003

After all the poking and the prodding, and Mom talking WAAAY too much about how she didn’t exercise but had been meaning to get back to it, we went to the lab.  That’s where all the fun stuff was, and Mom looked like this.

004

After Mom looked at the pictures on the camera, she snort laughed at this one and said “I must remember to put on a more pleasant face for the lab tech.”

We’re back home now and Mom’s drinking a big ole’ pot of coffee and muttering under her breath about the scale.

I think I’ll make myself scarce.

Love,

Travis

11 responses to “Eat your heart out, Annie Liebowitz

  1. OMG…no coffee???

    Tell Travis he’s a riot and thank you because I needed to laugh today.

    iphone? really? I am pea green with envy.

  2. Now THAT was funny!

  3. Oh Travis,

    You are a brave boy. THat look on your mothers face at the lab is how I look at anybody who talks to me before I have had my first 16 oz. of coffee. Even my dog won’t look at me until I’ve walked to the coffee pot a second time.

    Needles? Bring em on. Going with out food for 12 hours. Easy. Not drinking coffee and have to go out and be nice to people…takes an act of God.

    But I was talking about you…your post was awesome.

  4. That is good stuff! Love the look you are giving the lab tech….sceery.

  5. Very Clever!

  6. Funny–I have to get my blood drawn sometime soon…I left the lab last time because I was DONE fasting for the day, and there were twentyeleven people in line waiting for one lab tech, and I had already waited my apportioned 30 minutes. I actually had to you know…drive my son to school. Eat. Drink coffee. And drink some more. My warranty expires in 2 days.

  7. The fasting wouldn’t be so bad if I could just have my coffee! Hopefully I don’t have to do that anytime soon, but when I do, my face looks like yours, I’m sure. Cute post.

  8. Oh My!! Hilarious!!
    Just what I needed today!

  9. This gave me a good laugh, thanks, haha!! :o)

  10. I’ve come over from Meredith’s blog and man, are you funny!

    I really can’t figure out why you don’t have more comments…so I thought I would help with that.
    No need to thank me.
    🙂

    But, seriously, I always come your direction when I need a good chuckle! Oh, and I would totally hint at things on my blog, if my husband ACTUALLY read mine. I think he thinks I’m a little crazy for having “friends” that I don’t really know. Ok, a lot crazy. I say, I’m ok with that.
    Have a great weekend!

  11. I laugh EVERY.SINGLE.TIME I read your blog.
    You make my day.

Leave a Reply

