Out of the mouth of babes…

We should have done a linky today.  Mer, Kellie, Gretchen, and Tiffani did this meme and I’m copying because other than finding all of my Italian pottery serving pieces on the floor of the boys’ bathroom filled with water and floating Lego pieces, and making inedible soup for supper (a meal only saved by Whimzie’s Crack Popcorn), nothing much happened around here yesterday to warrant an interesting post.

So I brought them in for questioning and here’s what they had to offer, unedited.  Since this is a game that Travis is challenged to participate in, I’m going to provide his answers in italics as the truth.  Tommy’s in blue and JJ’s in purple.

What is something your mom always says to you?

Clean it up/I love you/ They’re both right. Mom’s bipolar.

What makes your mom happy?

When we do our chores/when you’re with me/sleeping in

What makes your mom sad?

When we were bornyou said you cried/when I misbehave/when there’s no half and half

How does your mom make you laugh?

When you say we’re having tadpoles for supper/when you do funny things like tell jokes/when she tries to do the Cabbage Patch, complete with white girl overbite

What was your mom like as a child?

You had pretty hair and a good smile/you looked like that picture when you were sitting on the toilet (NOT scanning in that one)/She was OBEDIENT, ahem, and did her  homework without complaining

How old is your mom?

38/39/You think I got to live this long divulging that kind of information?

How tall is your mom?

Huh?/I don’t know/5’11

What is her favorite thing to do?

Knit/Go out with Dad/Get a massage

What does your mom do when you’re not around?

The laundry/Knit/Attends Internet/Facebook/Twitter/Blog Addicts Anonymous meetings- they’re on-line sessions, of courseand does laundry

If your mom became famous, what would it be for?

Knitting hats and scarves/a knitting champion/you guys are crazy – she only knits washcloths.  No one gets famous for that.

What is your mom really good at?

Making us lunch and supper/cooking/being distracted

What is your mom not good at?

The wii/watching television/cleaning bathrooms

What does your mom do for a job?

working at the house and being dad’s boss/ works at an office/works PT from home for a pharmaceutical company and works for us

What is your mom’s favorite food?

Artichokes and brussel sprouts/spinach and brussel sprouts/Potato chips and French onion dip, but she says brussel sprouts so we’ll eat more veggies.

What makes you proud of your mom?

Helping us when we’re hurt/cooks our favorite food/that she knows all the words to this (and it’s not the Anita Renfroe version, but it has the words in case you want to learn it too – oh wait – you probably already have the words memorized if you’re a mom …..)

If your mom were a cartoon character, what would she be?

Mickey Mouse/Atom Ant/Jessica Rabbit

What do you and your mom do together?

Go shopping/go shopping/go shopping

How are you and your mom the same?

We both rhyme with “ommy”/we’re people/we both get the giggles at inappropriate times

How are you and your mom different?

She’s a woman, I’m a kid/we’re male and female/I’m more technically savvy than she is

How do you know your mom loves you?

You feed me and care for me/you give me surprises and stuff/she’s still here, isn’t she?

What does your mom like most about your dad?

When he gives us surprises like taking us out to dinner/Kisses/His cute tush (we’re not allowed to say butt in our house, Ms. Meredith)

Where is your mom’s favorite place to go?

Milton’s (no)/McDonald’s (again, no)/the spa (ahhhh…..)

12 responses to “Out of the mouth of babes…

  1. Love it!!
    Thanks for the smile.

  2. You both rhyme with “ommy.” That one’s my favorite!

    Please scan the picture?!

  3. I hope you rescued your serving pieces before any damage was done – to the pottery. Cute answers! My favorite ones were “being dad’s boss” and “Adam Ant”! Is his Adam Ant different from the Adam Ant I’m thinking of? “Goody-two, goody-two, goody goody two shoes. . .”

    • I just realized it’s ATOM Ant, not Adam Ant *and edited my post*. I guess JJ was right – I don’t watch much TV – cartoons, anyway.

  4. I am loving this meme…I’m getting a really good glance at all my favorite bloggers.

    I’, hoping that your favorite foods are not Brussels sprouts. I have eaten a lot of veggies, but never brussel sprouts. That just doesn’t seem right.

  5. hahahaaaaa. cracked up at
    She’s still here isn’t she…

    and i’m in a starbux right now so i look like a lunatic. hahaha. thanks!

  6. Ok I needed a blog topic that wasn’t as depressing as what I want to blog about so I am going to copy this tomorrow. Love the “being Dad’s boss” comment.

  7. We both rhyme with “ommy”. How funny.

    You really must post the toilet pic. Or burn it so they don’t blackmail you with it.

    Are you really 5’11? I don’t remember that.

  8. You both rhyme with “ommy.” My fav.

    Love this. But very scared to know what my kids would have to say.

  9. Wow. The carpoolqueen is tall…

  10. Howdy! Well done. I’m sick jealous of your 5’11 height. Feel like I might be bipolar too–or just a bipolar mother. And I totally feel the distracted…wait a minute….what was i saying? Lastly, no half and half warrants the ugly cry. Just sayin’

  11. oh my! this is soo funny! I laughed so hard at the beginning before the Q&A even got underway b/c I soo identify w/ drowned Lego pieces in “serious” dishware…

    She’s still here?? Funniest response I’ve heard YET!!

    Such a great “interview”!

Leave a Reply

