Random Randomness

1.  Bat time:  7:30 this morning. Bat channel:  At the kitchen table.

I’m in comfy pj’s ( not the cute matchy ones – think more along the lines of paint spattered holey t-shirt)  Hair approximating what my children’s last school picture looked like.  Barely one cup of coffee in me.  Easing into the day with my husband who is up early to go golfing.  We’d been sitting at the table for about half an hour, him checking the scores to see if his brackets were busted, me just trying to pry the eyelids open.

Dear reader, did he use ANY of those 30 minutes to tell me that we were going to have company come THROUGH THE DOOR and pick him up for his golf outing?

Umm, that would be a “no”.

2. Beloved husband rescued my spiral into evil thoughtness by calling me later with a funny story.  They stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts on their way to the golf course and inside was a kid getting a huge ice cream cone.

At 8 a.m.

The mom turned a panic-stricken face to my husband and his friend and said “It’s his birthday.  I told him he could have whatever he wanted.  This is what he chose.  What could I do?  I’m really not a bad mom.  See, it’s in a waffle cone.”

3.  In a little while, I will be loading up three children and a wheezing cat and hauling everyone to the vet.  I sense future blog material coming from this little adventure.  I wonder if the vet prescribes Xanax.  I know they prescribe Prozac because I have a friend who gives it to her cat.  Every day.  I think today my cat is going to have anxiety issues along with his wheezing.  A little for him, a little for me…

4.  And since you asked and JJ already outed me….

19721

That would be me getting into my mother’s talcum powder while trying not to fall in the toilet.  I’m a multi-tasker from way back.  What impresses me the most is that my mother raised 4 children and was confident enough to take a picture of her bathtub.

And note that the white boots match the white barette.  I’m fancy that way.

5.  Nothing really to put here, but I cannot abide having a list that isn’t numbered to 5 or 10.  I’m psycho that way.

Have a nice day.

11 responses to “Random Randomness

  1. Good strategy, Grasshopper. You posted the picture yourself, taking away my leverage. But I have other pictures….

    Is that cat STILL sneezing? Lord, love a duck. Having been on the receiving end of one of those, I don’t know how you’ve held up under the pressure.

  2. Haha! This made me laugh out loud while having my morning cup…with the same hair as you… 🙂

  3. I had a dog that had serious anxiety after having a leg amputated. (I mean, he had 3 left, what’s the problem?) Anyway, he had some meds prescribed to help him sleep, that I got from CVS & not the vet. The bottle actually said “HONDA-DOG Take as directed. Alcohol intensifies drowsiness. Use caution when operating a car or dangerous machinery.” Really, if I see a 3 legged dog driving a car while drinking a beer, I’M going to need those pills!

  4. there is so much I could say here…but I’m trying to multitask myself (which means chat on facebook, comment on your blog and check my email–not put away laundry, load dishwasher and prepare dinner. ick.)

    Powder in a glass dish…well, that’s just somethin’ from back in the day, for shiz.

    Your balancing techniques are exquisite have you ever considered performing in Cirque??

    The Dunkin’ Donuts story is wonderfully good..gotta love a Mom tryin’ vindicate herself w/ strangers at 8am….it’s all good, DD Mom.

    I can’t even touch what you said about the cat and the kids (and the silver spoon…sorry, I bust out in random song lyrics if even the slightest thing triggers them)…

    At the risk of being long winded I’ll stop now. Can’t wait for the update on kitty drugs.

  5. Well of course everybody knows that eating a waffle cone is equal to eating an almost-healthy breakfast. That had me rolling!

    And, oh, that picture is classic. The white boots are my absolute favorite thing about this whole scene .

  6. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog the other day CPQ. I stopped by for a visit and girl can I say that you just crack me up. I will definately be back — well because you crack me up. When one mom can make another mom laugh at life as a mom until tears roll down her cheeks — said mom who is laughing until she cries knows that she has found a new daily read.
    Lisa

  7. The carpoolqueen is tall AND posh. Wow. 🙂

  8. The sideways perch on the potty aids in not falling in…or so I was informed by my youngest just the other day.

    And ice cream cones for breakfast? Are we only supposed to save those for birthdays? Darn.

  9. Waffle cone. Reminds me of Bill Cosby’s “Himself”. We just watched that nearly 30 year old show with the kids. Rolling. Rolling, I tell you. “Dad is great…give us chocolate cake.”

    Blessings on your cat…

    Clearly God must’ve thought you were going to be bored today. 😉

  10. I’m laughing at you and at Gretchen’s comment too…”Dad is great, give us chocolate cake”. SO funny.

  11. You make me laugh. That’s all.

Leave a Reply

