You may be excused…

I excused the kids from the table last night before some of them were ready to leave.  Why?  Because Craig and I were hovering over the plate remains like vultures circling six day old carrion.

Oh.

My.

Word.

Crabcakes.

Just stop whatever you’re doing and go to the grocery and buy a pound of crabmeat.  It doesn’t have to be lump.  It just has to be real.

Combine well:

1/2 cup mayonnaise (I use Hellmann’s – I think it’s Best Foods for my West Coast friends)

1 beaten egg

1 1/2 ts. dijon mustard

1 1/2 ts. brown (spicy) mustard

1 Tb. Worcestershire sauce

1/2 ts. hot sauce

Add in:

1 C. crushed saltines

1 lb. crabmeat

Blend together, and let it chill for 30 minutes before shaping into patties.  Broil 4 minutes a side.

Slap your mama good.

10 responses to “You may be excused…

  1. I’m having comment technical difficulties, but I’ll try again. I was just saying that I can’t believe you’re making me buy Hellman’s. You realize you can have your Southerner card revoked for much less. These just better be good is all I’m saying.

  2. Not much gets into my slap your mama good category…..

  3. Oh goodness…my hubs would think he’d died and gone to some seventh heaven. It would impress him immensely that I knew how to cook something other than the standards: spaghetti, chicken casserole, tacos….

    Too bad his birthday has come and gone…maybe Father’s Day?! Okay, I can try before then.

    I am tempted to say “uh uh..I have to be puttin’ all them saltines up in there and all that mustard…you can have a coke!” 😉

  4. Slap, slap, slap!!!!

    Oh my…Why were the kids invited at all? Missing one meal wouldn’t have killed them.

    Oh, dear.

    Party gaffe.

    I’m not mother of the year. 😉

  5. You lost me on the 1st ingredient.

    I have a mayo thing.

    Is it Thursday yet?

  6. The best thing about this post very well might be the category. 🙂

  7. oh yum! I will have to try this. And by that I mean my hubby will have to make them for me 🙂 because me and cooking? arent great together.

  8. that is a very compelling recipe post. I guess I better go shopping tommorow.

  9. Wait.. I really can spell, Im just tired. Also, did you really use 2 kinds of mustard? Do you think I could just fake it with all dijon?

  10. next time, I’m coming over to your house for dinner. uninvited if i must. sounds WONDERFUL!

Leave a Reply

