Muffins!

Several of you who are my Facebook friends saw that earlier this week I was on a baking kick and was looking for some muffin recipes.  I received several links and made some (Thanks, Tiffani!) , but the title of one recipe in particular caught my attention.

Bacon and cheese muffins.

Oh my. Two of my favorite things crammed into a portable transport mechanism.

I got a barrage of emails saying “Hey, when you get that recipe, send it to me.”

My friend Karen just posted the recipe for them on her blog, so if you want it, go here. They sound delicious and I love that the recipe can be tweaked to make different varieties.

I’m going to make them tomorrow.

If you have a favorite muffin recipe, my carbohydrate-loving children would be eternally grateful if you would share the recipe with me.  Please email it to me or leave me a link in your comments.

muffin

Have a nice day.

11 responses to “Muffins!

  1. My pregnant, NYC dwelling friend recently posted a blueberry muffin recipe. http://www.mmmmtastesgood.blogspot.com
    I’m waiting until June when we pick ours fresh, but I’m sure they’d be good now, too.
    Love muffins.

  2. Bacon & cheese?? Are you sure the rapture hasn’t come? Because these sound heavenly. Not only that, but if I eat as many of them as I want to…I’ll be headed there soon via clogged arteries. But what a way to go. Especially when served up with a mocha or caramel macchiato.

  3. Okay…just on the subject of bacon–I was watching a PBS cooking show yesterday, and the host (Rick Bayless) was wearing a t-shirt that said “Bacon is meat candy.” How true is that?!

  4. I have an AWESOME recipe for bran muffins. It makes a gazillion and you can keep the batter in the frig for like 3 weeks so you can make as many/few as you want. I’ll have to e-mail it to you.

  5. Never mind it’s not that long. Don’t tell your kids they are “bran” muffins. They are very sweet and seriously, these absolutely rock!

    BRAN MUFFINS

    • 15oz box of Raisin Bran (7 ½ cups)
    • 3 Cups Sugar
    • 5 Cups Flour
    • 5 tsp. Baking Soda
    • 1 tsp. Salt
    • 4 Egg Beaters (or eggs)
    • 1 Cup Oil
    • 1 Quart Buttermilk (or powdered =16 T. and 4 cups Water)
    • Extra raisins and/or pecans, craisins, whatever–to taste

    Mix all (this takes a HUGE bowl). Store in frig a minimum of 24 hours. Bake in muffin cups at 400 for 15 or 20 minutes. Keeps in frig for 3 or 4 weeks.

  6. Oh, I knew I shouldn’t have clicked over here when I saw in my Reader what you were posting about. Carbs, the bane of my existence.

    I don’t make a lot of muffins, but I have collected several that I have always meant to try.

    http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/White-Chocolate-Macadamia-Muffins

    http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/Cream-Cheese-Carrot-Muffins

    http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/Apple-Streusel-Muffins

    That’s all I’ve got. Keep in mind I haven’t actually made these, so I can’t really vouch for them…but! The pictures sure look good.

  7. oh my word…talk about bliss. I will definitely be making those!!!! I loved all the variations…yum-o!

    Hey, when you made those muffins did you add in any vanilla?? Mine didn’t turn their noses up w/o it 🙂 I was just curious…

  8. Slighty upset that you didn’t give my Martha White blue bag specials a shout-out….

    But I’ll be okay.

  9. Oh my – cheese and bacon? what could be better? 🙂

  10. Yummy! I have a muffin recipe but it requires wheat kernels and a wheat mill . . . now, don’t go thinkin’ I’m all a weirdo who wears ugly running shoes and all . . . just a tad bit of a health nut -he!he!

    These muffins do sound wonderful! Please run a marathon one day. . . you’ll be so glad you did . . . especially after you recover. Start with a 1/2 marathon if you need to, then work your way up.

  11. I made some lemon muffins two nights ago, with a lovely tangy lemon glaze. I’ll try to remember to post it soon 😉 I love me some muffins, too.

Leave a Reply

