100!!!

And the winner of  the Starbucks gift card is…..

Amber who said in her comment that she never wins anything.  Well Amber, there’s a first time for everything, and congratulations on winning on my 100th post!

19

Timestamp: 2009-04-07 03:18:51 UTC

____________________

And just one little note before we dive in.  Y’all are a bunch of sissies on this banana sandwich thing.  You know not of what you speak. Or as Whimzie says “You all up in my kool-aid and you don’t even know the flava.”

This is your Carpool Queen challenge for the day:

Take two slices of white bread and lay them on the counter in sandwich preparation mode.

Put a thin layer of mayo on the face-up sides (or skip the mayo if you are twitchy about it, but I promise you if it’s a thin layer, you won’t notice it…it just adds a nice tangy counternote to the sweetness of the banana.  Didn’t know this was Food & Wine, huh?)

Slice a banana lengthwise and place slices on top of the mayo (one side only).

Sprinkle with white sugar and then dust with cinnamon.

Close sandwich.

Butter and grill until toasty.

Then take a bite, you doubters, and tell me what you REALLY think.

I double-dog dare ya’.

_____________

Today’s giveaway is a $5 gift card to Panera.  All you have to do is leave a comment!  (And by the way, when you use your gift card that you won, be sure and post of pic of yourself enjoying your treat.  That way I feel like I’m with you.  In a non-stalking sort of way. And if there’s not a Panera near you, I’m so sorry.  Because you’re missing out on the cinnamon crunch bagel in all its carby goodness.  And if you prefer Bruegger’s, let me know, because I can be flexible about either one.)

____________

And back to my 100 things that we started yesterday….

26.  When I go to sleep at night, I rub the tops of my toes on the sheets.  I don’t know why.

27.  I read the obituaries in the newspaper every day.  Even if I don’t know the dead people.  I just feel like it’s my duty as a fellow walker in this world to see them off.

28.  I didn’t pronounce “car-a-mel” properly until I met my husband.  It’s his pet peeve when people say “car-mel”. Carmel is the mountain, caramel’s the candy.  Glad we cleared that up.

29.  When my husband called to ask me out for our very first date (pizza and ice cream in Old Town Alexandria for those of you who love the details), I told him I’d go, but informed him that I was not going to consider it a date, that I would call it an “activity”.  I also told him I was not going to dress up for him.

30.  Amazingly, he still decided to go out with me.

31.  I fought him for the last piece of pizza.

32.  I still do.

33. I do not like to fold cold clothes out of the dryer.  If I dry a load of towels overnight, I still turn on the dryer to warm them up before folding.

34.  I can speak without fear before crowds of thousands, yet sometimes feel uncomfortable one on one.

35.  I play Def Leppard at the loudest possible setting whenever they come on the radio.  And bang my head.  And imaginarily play the drum solo.

36.  I am an alto.

37.  I play the piano and the flute.

38.  I have a secret crush on Brian Williams.  Mainly because I’ve heard he does the grocery shopping for his family.  And I am mesmerized by how he can go on and on and on about a topic when there’s really not much else to say (kinda’ like my blog, now that I think about it.)

39.  It was my choice and desire to leave home and go to boarding school at the tender age of 7.

40.  It seemed normal at the time and I was eager to do it, but now as an adult, I just can’t imagine how my mother had the strength to let me go.

41.  There are days, however, much like yesterday, that I think I could find the strength.

42.  When I was 12 years old, I told a friend that I wanted three boys.

43.  Had I known God was listening to the desires of my heart at such a young age, I might have tacked on “one at a time”.

44.  I have been uncomfortably close to bullets intended for other people.  Within 10 feet uncomfortably close.

45.  I have experienced a coup d’etat.

46.  I have slept at night with a packed suitcase at the foot of my bed.  This suitcase had a note pinned inside giving the address of my nearest stateside relative in case of emergency evacuation.

47. I am really okay with the last three statements for I knew then and know now that God’s hand of protection is always on me.

48.  White tic-tacs make me sneeze.

49.   I currently have a cobweb the size of Texas by my desk.  It casts shadows and frightens the children.  It’s oddly comforting to me.  Like a special friend.

50.  My doctor told me today to cut back on caffeine.  It’s been a nice life…..

Tune back in tomorrow for items 51 – 75 and another chance at a giveaway! Thanks for helping me make this 100th Post Week so much fun.

Have a nice day.

28 responses to “100!!!

  1. these are so fun to read!

    I shall try the sandwich on Wednesday. I am not a fan of May now, but when we were kids, we used to eat a cold peanut butter, banana, and may sandwich all the time. as a treat. So, who knows? I’m out of bananas, so it has to wait for grocery day.

    I also need to try Panera.

    Number 34. me too.

    Your boarding school story fascinates me. Have you already blogged about this? I’ve never known anyone who went to one.

    Also, I chuckled at the ‘find the strength’ one.

  2. I love your lists 🙂 so fun!

    maybe i will try that sandwich – it doesnt sound that bad actually . . . .

  3. 44-46 This must be from past line of work? Would love to hear about that, is there older blogs?

  4. I promise to try your disgustingness by the end of the week.

    And I can’t wait for your book to come out. Fascinating.

    Again, I love CPQ! 🙂

  5. Cue Twilight music. Man…Lots of similarities. Except I’ve never been in any line of work where “I could tell you, but then I’d have to kill you”. Fascinating. I want more, I tell you…MORE!

    Bang Your Head! Huh? Me likey.

    #33? I thought I was the only one contributing to our earth’s demise.

    This is great fun.

    I played flute, but playing piano is on my bucket list. I’m also an alto. 1st alto, actually, because i’m a diva and all. Don’t have much of a range, actually…just think i might be an alto. Been singing as one for years.

  6. #26 I do the same thing and play with my hair.
    #32 I do the same thing too
    #39 WOW. . . this is coming from a girl who grew up in a very small town with only 1 redlight.
    #43 made me laugh
    #44 WOW again. . . sounds exciting -he!he!
    #50 my doc told me the same thing. . . i told him no way.

    I love Panera. I’ve decided to take on your double dare and I’m going to make me and my kiddos one of your sandwiches today for lunch. i’ll let you know how they turn out and what everyone thinks.

  7. I’m enjoying your lists!

    #28 I worked a cake booth at the Shopping Spree one year. It’s amazing how many ways there are to say the word caramel. I heard them all that weekend!

    #38 Grocery shopping? I’m dumping Shep for Brian. I’ve heard I’m not Shep’s type anyway, but I keep hoping it’s not true!

    #48 Me, too! Altoids do, too. It’s a mild food allergy.

    I really read all of them, but isn’t it funny that the 8s got my attention the most!

  8. We will try the sandwich. We will take pictures. We will take a poll to determine how many Dormans will participate in your craziness.
    “coup d’etat”…I’m ashamed to say that I had to google it. And, please, can we have more details about the boarding school. You must have been an amazingly mature 7 year old.

  9. I’ve never been to Panera Bread…It sounds like a yummy place… 🙂

  10. I don’t think we have either of those places by us, but I GUESS I’ll comment ANYway….

    Ok, I have to say now that you’ve described it in a little more detail it doesn’t sound half bad. The banana mayo sandwich, of course.

    #44-#46 have me completely intrigued.

    So inspite of those 3 things, we still have some things in common.
    I heart Def Leppard, rubbing my toes on the sheets, and caffeine. And I’m an alto. But your husband wouldn’t like me…cause I say carmel…am I now a redneck in his eyes?:)

  11. I just started reading your blog recently. You crack me up! My 100 list was nowhere near this fun. 🙂

  12. As wonderful as it sounds, I’m not sure I’ll ever be adventurous enough to put mayo on a sandwich that also has bananas on it. I don’t even put mayo on turkey and cheese!

    I also had to google coup d’etat, and I’m a little freaked out by #44-46. I hope it didn’t all happen at boarding school!

    p.s. I really think I should win this giveaway. I love Panera.

  13. Congrats on 100!

    Hey, I’m an alto, too, and I play the piano. But no flute, just the saxaphone. It’s been a loooong time since I picked one up.

    #44 – 46 – um, wow. I don’t even know what to say. Except to agree with you, and thank the Lord for protecting you! I know you probably can’t tell us too much about it, but man, am I curious.

    I still say “car-mel”. I think everybody that grew up in the Midwest does, or maybe my family was just weird.

  14. Gunshots, coup d’etat, boarding school AND triplets…God intended for you to have an exciting life, if for nothing else, to make my lunch time blog reading more fun!

    I can’t believe so many folks haven’t eaten a banana sandwich. They are a staple around here.

    Your life is fascinating…I’m full of questions..boarding school? are you the female version of Jack Bauer? are you still undercover? I mean, really, what better cover than a mom with triplet boys???

    I sure hope I win that gift card…I heart Panera.

  15. WOW!! A secret asian man disguised as a “normal” mom. I can’t wait to hear more. Seriously, a book is in order.

    I love banana sandwiches and although mayo is my favorite food group, I’ve never done it on a banana sandwich. Nor have I heard of adding sugar and cinnamon. Oh, if I only had some bread.

    So do you award the gift card randomly? Because if NOT, I’ll buy you a cinnamon crunch bagel if I win. 🙂

  16. I am going to comment even though we have moved out of the land of Panera.

    Not trying the sandwich thing, don’t have bananas or bread and really just can.not.go.there.

    I can totally relate to #41. When we lived in Alabama Tim was the chaplain for a military academy, I have been known to tell the boys it had openings if they so desired.

  17. Okay, the transition (or lack-thereof) between 47 and 48 makes me laugh! Of course, you always make me laugh!

  18. Come on, gift card. Mama needs a cinnamon crunch bagel!!

    I can’t wait until the book either. Can I play you? Or have you already promised Oprah she can?

    And Craig? You know I love him with all my heart, right? I let him marry my best friend and all. But according to Merriam-Webster…
    ( http://www.merriam-webster.com/cgi-bin/audio.pl?carame01.wav=caramel …..)
    either pronunciation is “proper.” According to one of my sources, linguists have found 18 different pronunciations of the word “caramel.” I say it the way he does, but I just like yanking his chain.

    You know I love you dearly, but I still don’t get the Brian Williams thing. Me, I’ll take Charlie Gibson telling me he hoped I had a nice day ANY day of the week.

  19. I am a new reader, but highly entertained. I’ll come back for more. I won’t ever try the sandwich, but will gladly eat at Panera. 🙂 Don’t you know I’m hanging on for tomorrow’s 25!

  20. Congrats on you 100th post! LOVE your blog!! My BFF makes fun of me for saying car-a-mel..I will let her know she is wrong…When I was a kid – maybe 9ish I slept with a packed suitcase under my bed..I was deathly afraid that our house was going to catch on fire. For weeks on end I would recite John 3:16 over and over while I fell asleep…don’t know why I remember that!

  21. brian williams.
    i am so with you.

  22. I’m SO with you on the clothes needing to be warm out of the dryer! Do they just fold better that way?

  23. First I need t confess that I had to look up ‘coup d’etat’ on the mac dictionary. Wow!!! Sounds scary. DO tell… along with the bullets within 10 feet. I hope they were a related incident. Was James Bond involved or did Brian Williams save the day?My, you live an exciting life.
    BTW, I had to look up Brian Williams too. I was thinking of Bryan Adams and his sultry voice (I love the movie Spirit, just for the music).

    If I win the Panera gift card I’ll treat you to a Cinnamon Crunch. $5 can go a long way on their breakfast menu, but you’d have to buy your own coffee, as I prefer the pricey fancy ones! Wink wink

  24. I feel like I need to prepare a speech. You’re kidding…right? Me? Actually won something? SHOCKING!!! 🙂 I’m very excited…you have no idea!!

    And warm clothes out of the dryer….me, too!!!

    And I get you on all the scary evac stuff…ahhh…the life of an MK. I never went to boarding school, but my sister did. Kind of sad I missed out on that experience.

  25. I think your banana sandwich sounds lovely, and I WILL be trying it.

  26. CPQ, you are my long-lost twin sister!

    I LOVE Panera, but my favorite bagel is the Dutch Apple. YUM!

    I play flute and piano.

    I’m an alto.

    I read the obits every day. Just in case.

    I need to cut back on caffiene, BUT I’M NOT!

  27. Girlfriend, your “100” is turning you into a superstar!! Seriously.

    Hate I missed the contest but nonetheless had to come read for I am not a contest-enter-only-reader you know…

    Also, I would feel like a local fool if at the County fair this fall I asked for a “carAmel apple” and they probably wouldn’t know what it was I was speaking of…it’s Carmel Apple, sister! Preach it!

    My BIL and soon to be SIL have a very classified job in DC as.we.speak. So, I have connections….I believe that was my “Ask Sus” ? anyway, right? I def. hope we meet IRL soon to discuss…

    What’s up with you chickadees and your men anchor crushes? My sis loves Shep Smith.

    Warm clothes are a FAVE and the kids INSIST on me covering them with the pile prior to folding (of course they don’t stick around to actually fold)…

    Waiting to finish out 100, sister!

  28. I loved reading your list! You have a great sense of humor!! 😉 I love Panera Bread! I haven’t been a while!! I’ve been etching to get those Cinnamon Crunch Bagels!!

Leave a Reply

