I need a distraction…

It only took me four hours to pick up the phone and make the call , but I did it.

And they can’t see me until Tuesday.

So I have four more days to wrap myself around an axle prepare for the big dentist appointment, which will only be a consultation, for they know if they try to touch me in any way, shape, or form other than to take an x-ray, they’ll have to pry me off the ceiling tiles.

They have promised massive amounts of whatever hallucinogen that I require for the “real” appointment.  We all agree that’s a fantastic idea.

In the meantime, I need to take my mind off things, and since sugary foods are verboten, I decided that a little eye candy would make a fine substitute.

george_clooney

Yes, fine indeed.

I’m also going to to distract myself with a Pineapple Diet Dr. Pepper that Amber swears I’m going to love.  I won her Sonic card give-away, which is slightly amusing since she won my Starbucks card give-away about 10 days ago.

It just took a tiny little guilt trip. I swear this wasn’t rigged.

And just in case all of the above doesn’t do the trick, I’m headed here for lunch with a girlfriend.  Their website says they have “a soothing atmosphere with a blissful tang”.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always felt blissful drinking Tang.

tang-orange

Made me feel like an astronaut.

Spacey.

Hopefully like the happy pills will make me feel next week.

Have a nice day.


20 responses to “I need a distraction…

  1. Seriously, Sus. Dibs. You have to respect dibs.

  2. I don’t know if I’d waste my sonic prize on Amb’s pineapple diet dr. pepper, she has made me try it before… Sorry sis, but I must speak the truth in love. 🙂

    I have to go back to the dentist next Monday. I think I live there these days. Hate it. I’ll be thinking about you.

  3. Now that is some fiiiiiine eye candy, indeed.

    Tang? Did you ever make any instant orange spice tea with that and Nestea? I think my mom and I did that for Christmas gifts when I was about 14.

    I’m so proud of you. Such usage of big girl underwear.

  4. George Clooney, Michael Vartan…CPQ you are leading me down a dangerous path.

    That sushi has my mouth watering.

    Have a beautiful Friday!

  5. Yeah, I hate dentists, too. Who doesn’t? Mine was an abusive drunk. He actually punched you if you bit him, and locked you in the x-ray room if you cried. How is he not in jail? I still don’t like them, though I go every 6 months. I feel better going to a female dentist. Maybe that will work for you? If not, there’s always Valium!

  6. The valium should make everything all fine and dandy! I have never had it, but Corey had it when he had is corrective eye surgery, and he was totally in La La Land!!! 🙂

  7. So sorry about the dental trauma. Ugh. Now I’m in the mood for Tang. Or Sunny Delight. Or some other high fructose orange-ade drink. Yum!

  8. I’m sorry, what? Did you say something?

    You can’t expect people to read your words and respect their marriage vows when you post pictures like that.

    Yikes. I’m not even a huge Clooney fan, but that’s just beautiful.

    Now, seriously, did you say anything I need to know in this post? Cause I think I’d better go back and re-ogle. I mean, reread.

  9. I have loved that man since Facts of Life.

    Oh, and I have to say that I am FOR SURE that there is no such thing as a random number picker thing. It is all so rigged! Enjoy your Sonic. It is my place of addiction.

  10. Will I be in trouble if I admit that…

    a) I love his smurk smile.
    b) I’ve yet to go to Sonic and we’ve had one in town for awhile now.
    c) My mom and I would give that spiced hot tea that gretchen is talking about for gifts. (We called it “Friendship” Tea I think?)
    d) That I’m a little jealous that you get to go have lunch w/ a girlfriend…cause I could REALLY get out right about now.
    e) All the above.

    Have a nice day NOT thinking about your dental appointment.

  11. My husband is in the same boat. Lots of cavities as a child, lots of fillings, root canals and etc. He hates the dentist but asks for gas every time and it really helps. They give it before the numbing stuff. I feel for ya’ because I know how fearful he is and it’s awful to have the adult knowledge mixed with the childhood fear.

  12. Tang.
    Here is an interesting fact.
    Did you know that the dishwasher manufacturers recommend running an empty load with Tang in the dispenser? I’m not making this up. The citric acid cleans the interior of your washer.
    Look…I’m just trying to distract you from the…you know… the upcoming dental “opportunity”. It’s all about the spin.

  13. Oh my, a fellow George groupie(can’t think of a better term?). There is just something about his eyes!

    I’m not a fan of the dentist either….trying to think of something supportive to say in that area……I feel your pain? That probably doesn’t help,huh?? Wishing you well!! 🙂

  14. Lunch was fun. Very tangy, if I don’t say so myself.

    Do you need a ride to the dentist on the REAL day? I could print out the Clooney picture and when your drooling due to a numb mouth we can totally blame it on him.

  15. Perhaps the dentist could wear a GC mask?

  16. Find you a picture of McDreamy. Add it to your Clooney shrine. Slurp you some pineapple with your Diet D.P. And all will be right with the world.

  17. Oh yes ma’am, I could look at Clooney any day of the week. Or Holloway. Or….um, better stop now.

    You’ll have to let us know about the Pineapple Dr. Pepper. Since I don’t like DP, I doubt if I would like it with pineapple added to the mix, but you never know.

    And thanks for reminding me…I am about a year late on scheduling my dentist appt.

  18. I am so intrigued by the ding dang pineapple drink I’m just gonna get one just to shush Amber up about it, already!! Congrats on your “I swear it wasn’t rigged” win!

    George is beautiful but I still hate the dentist.

  19. You are hysterical!

    First, the pineapple Dr Pepper things sounds … well, gross. Hope you enjoyed it. I’ll likely never try it.

    Second, Mr. Clooney is not my preferred eye candy, but … yum! Great picture!

Leave a Reply

