He’s a smart cookie

We went out for Chinese food last night. 

It’s very important that you know that is was NOT Asian food,

for as we know,

JJ doesn’t eat Asian.

It makes him hurl.

Chinese food, however, is okay,

because “Chinese is not Asian”.

Got that? Yeah, me neither.

Anyway, we all grabbed the usual off the buffet line…

sweet and sour for JJ and Tommy,

pizza for Travis,

and everything else for Craig and me.

The meal went swimmingly until the fortune cookies came.

At which point my eyes were swimming in tears.

For you see,

we all took turns reading our fortunes.

It was the usual drivel to which I mentally added a two-word ending.

But then Travis’ turn came.

In a quiet halting voice, carefully sounding out his words, he said

Wisdom is found in truth.

In Jesus.

16 responses to “He’s a smart cookie

  1. Oh, how my heart is smiling for you, friend. Because it just doesn’t get better than that!

  2. Oh, I love that!!

  3. After the week you’ve had, that was just a little back-pat from above, don’tcha think?

    How awesome.

    You need to write a memoir.

    Just sayin.

  4. Oh! That just makes me a little weepy this fine morning.

  5. Well, I didn’t expect to cry when I came to visit you today! That was absolutely the most touching thing I’ve heard in a long time. I agree with Gretchen – a good end to the week you’ve had!

  6. Amber told me to check in on your blog. I often do what my daughter recommends. What great affirmations we get from our little ones, when we least expect it. Makes all of the other days balance out, doesn’t. Have a good one.
    Jim

  7. aw, Amber’s Dad came over! how neat!

    Sus, I don’t think I have words. But, what I DO have is a mama’s heart…so I can understand this moment in a very real way.

    Sweet, sweet boy.

  8. My daddy. Gotta love him.

  9. chills.

    that’s what I like to call a little “wink from God”.
    😉

  10. How very sweet & touching, “out of the mouths of babes”! It amazes me how God gets through to us sometimes in His creative ways. I loved watching you with Travis…so patient, tender, & sweet. (I know you probably have “those times” just like the rest of us, but God has given you such grace. ) It sure was a fun evening!

  11. What a wonderful gift … and it’s not even Mother’s Day!

    I ditto what my mom just said: It was so refreshing watching you in your mommy role last night. You ARE so tender and patient. Thank you for being such a beautiful example!

  12. How sweet is that? I love it when wisdom falls from the lips of children.

  13. Gotta love a God who arranges and backs up what we are trying to sow into our kids.

Leave a Reply

