If you can’t, Jesus will

Do you know how many times a day I get asked to go to Target?  I kid you not, Travis asks me in excess of 100 times a day.

Every.

Single.

Day.

It’s the first question on his lips when I see him in the morning.  It’s the last question on his lips as I kiss him goodnight.

The kid loves Target.

What can I say?  So does his mama.

But while I love it as much as the next girl, I don’t every day love it. Usually I’ll take him every couple of weeks and let him get a little trinket (he always chooses a metal Thomas train – thank you, God, that he did not become obsessed with the wooden ones at four times the price of the die cast).  Regardless, within six hours, it’s as though we never went and he is asking to go again.

We haven’t been in a couple of weeks, so he’s been extremely persistent the last few days.  I must have told him “Not today” one too many times because last night, on our way home from dinner, I heard his plaintive little voice from the back seat praying, “Dear God, please take Travis to Target.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

Should I be God’s hands and feet, or should I tell him that sometimes God answers “No”?

As much as I want Travis to seek God in the little things, the biggest prayer that I want him to pray, however, is one that I don’t know that he will ever be capable of voicing.  My heart’s desire is for all my children to come to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ.  I want them to know Him.  I want them to trust Him.  Every night as I pray over them aloud, I end my prayers with a heartfelt request for them to grow up to love Him and serve Him with all their heart.

While my other two boys have come to a saving faith in Jesus, I don’t know that Travis can understand what that means.  He loves to pray.  He quotes more scripture than I do.  He looks forward to church every Sunday and delights in listening to praise music.  As I prayed with him last night and he asked Jesus to also take him to the dentist (I think he must have been switched at birth), I asked,  “Travis, do you love Jesus?”  And he smilingly replied, “Jesus loves Travis”.  In my heart, I felt the Lord whisper, “I love him more than you can imagine. Trust me with him.”

I know I tread on theologically shaky ground.  The Bible doesn’t spell out how God handles salvation for the cognitively impaired.  But I do know my Jesus welcomed little children and asked for childlike faith.  And so I come to Him and place my precious child in His hands, and ask Him to honor the pleas of a mother’s heart and the spoken acknowledgement from a little boy’s lips of Jesus’ love for him.

Jesus loves Travis.

Enough to die for him.

Enough to place him in our care.

Enough to watch over him.

Enough to take him to Target.

Which I think looks an awful lot like heaven.

Have a nice day.

28 responses to “If you can’t, Jesus will

  1. Susan, that was lovely. Jesus does love Travis. That childlike faith keeps us all humble. I think I’ll take my kids to Target today too, right after I stop crying that is. Thanks for sharing. Have a nice day.

  2. You know what, he DOES love Travis and Travis loves him.
    Thank you for sharing.

  3. yep, I’m bawling like a baby over here…

    You and your sweet family are blessings!

  4. Hmmm…

    I just wrote a really long comment, but it got erased somehow. So maybe I should keep it short.

    Jesus loves Travis. Jesus made Travis. Jesus will perfect Travis in His great love.

    What an amazing little boy you have.

  5. “Unless you change and become like children, you will never enter the Kingdom of heaven.”

    I’m so blessed to know Travis. He is so precious to me.

    And that title? Well, friend, that’s a sermon in and of itself!

  6. Jesus not only loves Travis, He knows every hair on his head…and He knows how much Travis loves Target…and how much Travis knows , understands and loves Jesus.

  7. Jesus MADE Travis, so no one knows that sweet boy better!!

    I always love it when you write about your moments with T.

    Aunt Tiff says this weekend looks like a great weekend for patronizing the Bullseye!

  8. Well, now I’m all kinds of weepy. Thank you so much for sharing this. Precious. Just precious.

    And Jesus does love Travis. More than we can ever imagine.

    I’m with Tiff….take that boy to Tar-szhay.

  9. Wow! That’s just beautiful!

    (And I like the part about going to Target too.) 🙂

  10. Very well said! I have two young children (one not quite 6 weeks yet), and although I try to verbally dedicate my children to the Lord often, it’s so hard sometimes to rememer that they really aren’t mine, but His. It’s hard to imagine that even though I carried them for nine months (and pushed for what seemed like 9 months), that they’ve just been entrusted to my husband and me for a time.

  11. How totally precious…pure child like faith. What a sweet little guy!

  12. Okay, I made you laugh out loud and you made me cry all over my laptop. Are we even?

  13. Jesus loves Travis. How simple and beautiful that statement is.

    And yeah, add me to the list of readers who are wiping tears this morning.

  14. Susan, this is even shakier ground…but there is that whole “he and his entire household scripture” that I tend not to ignore or rationalize away. We do see ‘families’ come to him here. It is a more Middle Eastern concept than our independent American mindset. God created Travis to glorify Himself, He’s got it all covered, don’t worry.

  15. I think I have something in my eye…

    Beautiful, friend.

  16. I don’t know what to add, but have to say thanks for sharing your Travis with us.

  17. I really think you need to add a tissue alert to your blog.

    “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to him belong, they are weak but he is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. The Bible tells me so.”

    How much sweeter can the message of the gospel be?

  18. Oh I agree. Tissue alert PLEASE!

  19. Hi CPQ,
    Amber asked if I ever read her peep’s blogs. I have a few, but usually it’s sparked by one of your comments on hers. She mentioned to me last night about Travis, so here I am this morning, and I have to say – you and he have touched my day more than you can imagine. This Sunday evening I’m to preach on What We Believe About Salvation. I hope you won’t mind being an example.

    Let me encourage you, my sister. Often I am brought to the realization that as we grow up we lose so much of the simple TRUST and FAITH of a child. I believe that is exactly what saving faith is about, and not how much theology we can spout with all the high sounding words. Jesus gave us a simple gospel faith to which He requires all we are. In Travis’ few words there is great depth of understanding that is heartfelt. Given His time, it will be affirmed to you as you continue to love him through his journey.

    You’ve blessed me today. Give Travis a hug!
    Amb’s Jim-Dad

  20. Lauren Richardson

    amen

  21. Beautiful.
    What insight!

  22. oh my golly, that is beyond beautiful.

    can’t even write the right kind of comment.

  23. My precious “daughter”,
    How I long for those words to come from my son’s lips! My prayer is the same as yours: That he will grow up to love Him and serve Him with all His heart, and to know that unconditional love that Travis knows about. Have no doubts; Travis knows something about God that we will probably never know. I love you so much. Thank you for touching my heart so deeply today and reminding me how to pray.

  24. Thanks for taking the time to share that moment from your life! I am a substitute para-professional and the days I am allowed to work, I get plenty of opportunities to see God’s glory revealed. Precious children who have cognitive impairments and physical challenges often have such a unique perspective! Your child has such an awesome and inspiring spiritual viewpoint from which to live his life. Jesus loves Travis!

  25. Ephesians 1:3-10
    3 All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ. 4 Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes. 5 God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure. 6 So we praise God for the glorious grace he has poured out on us who belong to his dear Son.[a] 7 He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins. 8 He has showered his kindness on us, along with all wisdom and understanding.
    9 God has now revealed to us his mysterious plan regarding Christ, a plan to fulfill his own good pleasure. 10 And this is the plan: At the right time he will bring everything together under the authority of Christ—everything in heaven and on earth.

    God loves Travis. I believe He loves us all equally, we were all created in His image as His children! He adores your boys, and He wants you to take Travis to Target….anytime you feel led to do so.
    I, too, am also thankful for the diecast Thomas and Friends….those wooden trains could definitely send you into a financial frenzy! Hope you enjoyed New Orleans and ate a lot!!!

  26. Oh, what a beautiful post! I think Travis is just the picture of what Jesus had in mind when he said “child-like faith.” Oh, and I think that those precious, simple statements are evidence of the Holy Spirit in him.

  27. “Jesus loves Travis” — I think the boy’s definitely got his theology down 🙂 That’s about all we really need to know, isn’t it? Thanks for sharing this.

  28. Pingback: Things that amused me today. « Carpoolqueen’s Blog

Leave a Reply

