Laissez les bons temps rouler

I should be studying for my Vacation Bible School class tomorrow morning, but after the way the hoodlums my precious charges acted this morning, I think I’d best practice a headlock.   Or my death stare.

Just kidding.

Sorta’.

I already posted a few pics of my super fun, hotter than Hades weekend in New Orleans with our friends M and F, but here are a few others that my parents can see…that can’t be used against me in a court of law… highlight some of the good times we had.

Our first stop on the way to the hotel from the airport was Franky and Johnny’s.

005

Very dive-y.

So dive-y that our cab driver was stunned that we had stopped there.

So dive-y that my flip flops stuck to the dirty floor as we made our way to the table.

That’s when I knew it was going to be absolutely fantastic.

We started with crawfish and demolished this trayful in less than 3 minutes.

I kid you not.

006

Mr. CPQ got the shrimp po’ boy (that’s a happy man you see here).

007

I ordered the half muffaletta.  This is HALF of the half – notice how much of the plate it covers.

008

Craig made me turn the sandwich around so you could see the olive salad.

I was touched he cared about you all.

But not so touched that I let him eat a bite.

009

From there we went to the hotel which was located at the corner of Bourbon and Canal.  We dropped our bags in the room and hit the ground running because we wanted to get oysters for appetizers before our dinner at Cochon.  We had planned on going to Acme, but our local guide in town (a friend of M’s) told us that the charbroiled oysters at Dragos were better.

oys_cooked

I didn’t have my camera with me, but this picture is from their website and they looked exactly like what you see.  And fun thing – M found a pearl in his!

From there we wandered down to Jackson Square, up Royal Street and over to Bourbon Street then back to the hotel where we changed to go out for a late dinner at Cochon where again, I didn’t have my camera but the food was fantastic.  We all ordered different things and ate off each other’s plates.  Brisket, cochon de lait, house made sausages, ribs, macaroni and cheese, collard greens…my stomach is starting to hurt again just thinking about it.

After rolling out of the restaurant, we hopped a cab to Cafe Du Monde for dessert at 11:30 and waddled home.

019

This picture of Cafe Du Monde was obviously not taken at night, but the next day when we were back at Jackson Square (after stopping for a mid-morning break at Brennan’s).

courtyard

And don’t click for a larger image – I just snagged that pic off their website because I was having a bad hair day on Saturday so any pictures of me have been deleted.

We were going to the French Market to participate in the festivals that were going on (Seafood Festival, Zydeco Festival and the Tomato Festival), and we happened upon a Second Line forming in the Square.  Of course, we had to join in.  Here are Craig, M and F dancing all the way down to the French Market.

015

027

And what was leading our illustrious little parade?

030

Yep – I was dancing after a shrimp.

We spent most of the day eating fried seafood, browsing the flea market and listening to music, then headed back to the hotel to freshen up for our romantic “just the two of us” dinner at August. We stopped by Harrah’s on our way back and contributed to the New Orleans economic recovery fund before calling it a night.  We needed to save up for the granddaddy of all experiences the next morning – brunch at Commander’s Palace because by this point, we’d obviously not eaten enough.

058

It may look kitschy, but it’s old school, baby.  Jackets, please, for the gentlemen.

It was a wonderful way to cap off the weekend.

Music…

061063

Bread pudding souffle….

064

And old and new friends….

062

Good times, indeed.

Have a nice day.

18 responses to “Laissez les bons temps rouler

  1. Wow, you two, a vacation, and deep fried bread products. Who would have believed it. 🙂

    • You guys will have to go with us next time. I needed a shopping buddy, and let me tell you, KK has got NOTHIN’ on those beignets.

      • “KK has got NOTHIN’ on those beignets”

        Blasphemer! You must say “I will not pass the Hot Light” 10 times and eat 3 hot original glazed for forgiveness.

  2. Whew! You weren\’t kidding when you said you ate your way through New Orleans. But it looks like it was fun!

  3. You should open an online business on how to eat your way through various American cities. I\’m serious…folks would pay good money to know about the restaurants you visited.

    On a VBS note…one of your sweet boys came over to me yesterday and gave me a hug. It made my day!

  4. What a fun weekend! Boy, you weren’t kidding about the eating were you? I am so jealous.

    And oddly, that shrimp reminds me of my Uncle Sonny.

  5. You would give Rachel Ray a run for her money. Great “review”!

  6. found you on bye-bye pie. Hey you’re super funny too… dang it, just when i thought i was super funny, i find you & June… the competition is too much! 🙂
    ~misschell (chinamommy)

  7. Sounds like you guys had about as good of a weekend as we did!!!

    It’s been years since I’ve been to NO. But I do remember the food being good.

  8. The food looks fantastic! That is one of the places we have always wanted to visit….and oh, did I mention that the food looks fantastic? Drooling.

  9. I cannot get over the beautiful purple jacket on you. So darling!

    Lurvely gastronomic tour my friend, thanks! I haven’t been to N.O., but i can see now that it needs to be on the list.

  10. Love N.O.!!

    Love the food. Love the people dressed as shrimp. Love that N.O. makes you do crazy thing like chase after shrimp.

    We also contributed to the economic recovery plan while there. So thoughtful of us, I think.

    Glad you had a good time.

  11. It’s so funny that the commenters are saying “you weren’t kidding about eating your way through there”…no offense, but I had no doubt of what you meant!! 🙂

    When Adam lived/worked in TX last year they drove over to LA for Po’Boy’s he came home with a love affair ’cause ain’t nosuchathang in GA.

    Glad you had such a GREAT, belly full, trip!

  12. Is that little tiny smiley face showing up on anyone else’s screen? I was trying to scrape it off my computer to no avail.

  13. Food, schmood! I’m just glad my hoodlum I mean little boy is not in your VBS class to be headlocked! I mean, I’m glad for YOU as I’m sure he’s already been headlocked by some poor soul.

    And my question for the next Ask Sus is how do you strikethrough your text? Like “precious charge” instead of “hoodlum”?

    Honestly though this is an awesome play by play. Makes me want to go there even though I’ve always been afraid of N.O.

  14. I gained 10 pounds just reading your post!

  15. You’re making me HUNGRY!

  16. I love my memories from eating at Cafe Du Mond, didn’t you just love it? Did you get good pics of friends with their faces covered in powdered sugar?

Leave a Reply

