It’s the most wonderful time of the year

Today’s the first day of 4th grade!

My children would have omitted the exclamation point.

I’m fighting the urge to add sixteen more.

I’m also fighting the change to my morning schedule since for the past six weeks, I’ve been rolling out of bed between 8:30 – 9:00.

The school bell rings at 7:50.

Nice.

We’ve been a little busy around Casa de Carpool getting ready for the big day.

There were hairs to be cut.

002005007

Notebooks to be purchased.

009010

And when the checkout lady at Wal*Mart saw my cartload, she politely asked, “Are you a teacher?”

To which I replied, “Do I get a discount?”

And while I was sorting 30 notebooks, 24 folders and enough pencils that make me responsible for deforesting half of Brazil, what did I find, Dear Reader, at the bottom of Baby A’s backpack from last year?

016

I appreciate and applaud his good oral hygeine, but I am slightly concerned that he’s been using this because I’ve never bought him a Spiderman spinning toothbrush and I have no idea from whence it came.

Heebie.

Jeebie.

Have a nice day.

24 responses to “It’s the most wonderful time of the year

  1. Happy First Day of School!

    To the boys….

    And to you!

  2. We are on a traditional schedule so school won’t start for another month. I don’t even want to think about shopping for supplies. I can’t imagine buying everything X3. As for the toothbrush, my son has come home with odd items too. Generally, a child at a neighboring desk or locker just doesn’t want to pack his mess up so my scavenger boy brings home all the ‘good stuff’. Nice.

  3. Eeeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwww. But happy first day anyway! 🙂

  4. Wow. I’m speechless. 🙂

  5. Oh my! School supplies times 3!! Ewww on the toothbrush, but this could be solved in the next edition of Craig Sez. I’m holding out hope that he knows where it came from. . .

  6. Ha and ewww…about the toothbrush.

    Loved the discount comment.

    So, they year round school?? And 4th grade!

    The haircuts look great. Handsome boys.

  7. You just gotta love boys!

  8. Ewwwww on the toothbrush *shudder*

  9. Rebecca Marchbanks

    Haha!! I love the toothbrush…that would soooo be my son’s backpack!

  10. hahahaha that toothbrush totally cracked me up . . .

  11. As the mom to 4 boys, I know I should just shrug off the unknown toothbrush, but it is eeeewwwww! LOL Happy first day of school.

  12. Did you get the discount? Hope you enjoy some quite time!

  13. Your boys look so handsome with their new haircuts.

    And I’d waaaay rather find an unidentified toothbrush at the bottom of the backpack than what I found one year — a turkey sandwich that had for the last three months been morphing into black goo. Ugh ugh ugh.

  14. First day of school? In July? THAT gives me the heebie jeebies. I can’t even think about the toothbrush. That would send me over the edge. Great looking kids! Happy 1st day of school!

  15. I am so torn. I love summer…no homework. Yet, I am so ready fro the kids to not be “bored.”

    Enjoy your day!

  16. Sometimes it is better that we don’t know what does/ does not go into our children’s mouths.
    As a former teacher, I’ve seen it all: Licking of the bottom of the tennis shoes, picking up old chewing gum from the floor… it’s a wonder I ever gave birth.

    I laughed out loud reading this post, girl!

  17. I hate to say it, but I wouldn’t be too terribly sad if my kids had to go to school tomorrow. But I’m sure I’d want them home again next week. The best of times, the worst of times. . .

  18. Ew. Gross. And a big ole’ Ick on Spidey.

    Hooray for back to school! (for mom)
    Booray for back to school! (for Babies A,B,&C)

  19. Nice hair. Well done, CPQ men-children.

    Did you do as I said, and act sad as you were shoving…er…as they got out of the car? 😉

    4th grade is a fun year. At least both of my kids enjoyed it–kinda leave the early elem feel behind and get more independent.

    And the toothbrush.
    Niiiiiiiiice.

    Question: What IS a discount at WalMart? Would that be stealing?

  20. Oh how I heart fresh, new school supplies!

    Spidey…ACK!

  21. Oh, I so love year round school! You are a lucky woman CPQ. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

  22. ohmyword!!!! spidey! I, too, hope craig sez has something insightful to say. Do your kids have year round school? My daughter’s teacher has a friend who teaches in a school like this and enjoys it. i think if i lived in the south, i would like it as well as it would get so hot in the summer you wouldn’t want to go outside anyway. so…..what are you going to do today with no little people to follow you around??? have fun! enjoy the quiet!

  23. That toothbrush – oh, boy. Well, I guess he isn’t any worse for the wear, right???

    “Are you a teacher?”…that just cracked me up.

  24. This made me laugh!!!!! You gotta love boys. My #2 son recently left his toothbrush at a friend’s after a sleepover but neglected to tell me ….the friend’s mom sent me a text 2 days later asking if the toothbrush in the green case was his! I figure at almost 15 he didn’t needed to be reminded to brush his teeth. It’s what I get for figuring. Thankfully his 7 year old sister had EXTRA toothbrushes in her room.

Leave a Reply

