The best biscuits

Whenever my mom and I call to brag about something that we’ve done, the conversation always begins with the phrase “I made the best biscuits today.”  We learned this phrase from a friend of Mom’s back in the old seminary days who never failed to mention what a great cook she was.

Of course, she’s also the one who cut her nose shaving her armpits (this was before the days of contacts and I guess she really needed to see what she was doing).

But I digress.

I don’t always hit dinner out of the park every night.  In fact, any night that I don’t serve tacos or spaghetti and meatballs, I’m sure to face resistance from at least three of the four men around my table.  And just two nights ago, they were really  happy when they had to play “find the chicken” because Mom Genius over here had misread the recipe and instead of using 2 cups of cooked rice, I had proceeded to COOK two cups of rice which resulted in a ginormous amount that threw off my filler-to-good-stuff ratio.

You win some, you lose some.

But last night?  Oh last night I made the best biscuits in the form of grilled sirloin tips with risotto and grilled vegetables.  In fact, they were so good that two hours after supper was finished, Mr. CPQ was still talking about it.  So if you’re looking for a yummy, nice, husband-approved dinner, look no further, my friend.

Here are the recipes, and by the way, I used loin flaps because we like them.  You could do this with any other cut of meat that you prefer.

Marinade for steak

1/2 C. Worcestershire

1 C. Italian dressing

1 C. BBQ Sauce

1 t. garlic powder

1 t. black pepper

Mix well and pour over sirloin tips (or any other steak that you like).  Marinate for up to six hours.  Send the husband outside and have him grill over high heat to whatever doneness you like (I’m a medium rare kind of girl).

Grilled Vegetables

Red bell peppers (you’ll use some of this for the risotto)

Yellow Squash

Zucchini

Cut veggies lengthwise, drizzle with olive oil and salt and throw them on the grill with the meat.

Risotto with Roasted Red Peppers

4 Tb. butter

1 C. arborio rice

1 finely chopped shallot

2 finely chopped garlic cloves

1/2 C. white wine (pinot grigio or sauvignon blanc work well)

4 C. simmering chicken stock

1/2 C. parmesan (I used the real stuff but I’ve also used the kind in the green jar and it was fine, but I had to add a little more salt)

Melt butter and soften vegetables.  Add in the rice and toast for 5 minutes, then add in white wine and stir until the wine’s been absorbed.  Then start adding in the chicken broth – a cup at a time and stir it while it’s being absorbed.  When the mixture starts to dry out, add more.  Keep going until all the chicken stock is used up.  Add in the parmesan, stir and set it aside for a minute or two.

Remove the charred skin from a grilled red bell pepper and dice into small pieces.  Gently fold into the risotto.

Check and adjust the seasoning (I like to add white pepper and a touch of salt.

Seriously yummy and great for company.  And since you can marinate the meat and prep the veggies ahead of time and send them outside with your husband to cook, the only other thing you have to do do is make the rice.

Best biscuits you’ve ever had.

Have a nice day.

15 responses to “The best biscuits

  1. I’m going to make this tonight or tomorrow! Thanks!

  2. MMMMM, looks good. I think I need to make a trip to the grocery store.

  3. Yummy! Totally should have dropped by the house for a visit yesterday.

  4. Wow! A whole meal of recipes … I like your style!
    BTW: if you ever make extra, my family would totally dig that meal. Just sayin 🙂

  5. Lahoma Greenwood

    Be sure that your fellow bloggers understand that it was my friend, not ME , who cut her nose shaving under her arms. You’ve inspired me to make some biscuits…tomorrow, maybe.

  6. Yum. G would be thrilled if I made that.

  7. That sounds delicious, but let’s be realistic: I will never make it. Thanks for sharing anyways, because I am now duly impressed with your culinary skillz 🙂

  8. Love the “code” words for what really means ~ I really outdid myself! Nice

    All I can come up with is “I just crack myself up”

    I’m just sayin’

  9. I’m salivating. Wow that sounds tasty.

  10. hmmmm….what exactly is a loin “flap?” Are you hoping I’ll come back here with some embarrassing butcher story? Do you buy them at the “market” next to the other parts for sale?

    • It was called “sirloin flap” and it looked like the trimmings from a sirloin steak. You could easily just do this with ribeyes or sirloins.

      “Flap” does sound kind of funny, now that I think about it. Tastes good, though!

  11. p.s. the recipe sounds great, and I think I’ll try it…but the jury is still out on the flap!

  12. I almost smacked all my children last night – I served grilled london broil (which had been marinated in a delicious soy-lime-garlic sauce), szechuan green beans, and dilled red-potato salad (in other words, a real dinner); and from the wailing and moaning and gnashing of teeth around the table you would have thought I had given them refuse from the dumpster behind our local supermarket.

    I am never. cooking. again.

Leave a Reply

