In the Kitchen with Sus

Alternatively titled “How to take a perfectly healthy recipe and turn it into the reason I’m having to go to the gym”

I have several recipe blogs in my reader that I like to pounce on whenever they’re updated, because even though I have the best intentions of menu planning for two weeks at a time, the reality is that most afternoons at 4:00, I’m scrounging the recipe search engines to type in the ingredients that I have on hand.

Uncrustables?  Check.

Water chestnuts? Check.  (I still haven’t figured out a way to use them since last January.)

One of my favorite recipe blogs is Lynn’s because her recipes are quick and easy to make, and best of all, they’re consistently good.  A couple of days ago, she posted this recipe for  honey cinnamon rolls that really caught my attention because “sweet” and “bread” are my love languages because they were a healthy version of a favorite food of mine.

I could take the rest of my morning and go through the drama in which I ran out of key ingredients (cooking spray so I substituted butter, frozen bread dough so I used parkerhouse rolls), had faulty ingredients (hello, brick-hard brown sugar that had to be subdued with a meat tenderizer), and flat out mis-read the recipe because I was in such a hurry to get to the eating part. But that would bore you.

Instead, I leave you with pictures of the process (which took mere minutes and resembles Lynn’s recipe except for the healthy part but turned out delicious nonetheless).

003

006

009

010

014

013

016

017

019

020

Thanks, Lynn, for the advice and inspiration!

Have a nice day.

17 responses to “In the Kitchen with Sus

  1. This is only one decent thing to do with Water Chesnuts.

    1. Wrap them in 1/2 slice of bacon.
    2. Stab them with a toothpick (to secure bacon AND get out some aggression)
    3. Bake on for 1/2 hour on 350, drain grease (I do it on a broiler pan or cooling rack over a cookie sheet so they aren’t cooking in the grease)
    4. Twirl them around to coat them in a lovely mixture of 1 C sugar & 1 C Ketchup (or Catsup if you don’t have Ketchup)
    5. Bake another 1/2 hour on 350.
    6. Pretend you’ve invited a bunch of people over but then eat them all yourself.

    You’ll never look at a can of water chesnuts the same again. And they’d go great with those awesome looking cinnamon rolls!

  2. I meant to say this is THE only decent thing to do with water chesnuts.

  3. I actually don’t care what you do with water chesnuts.

    Let me try once again, and I am not trying to win any specific number commenter award (this time).

    This is THE only decent thing to do with Water Chestnuts.

    Now goodbye.

  4. Ew, you said sweet bread.

  5. oh my heavens. that looks delicious.

  6. but you also have to remember that I’ve been existing on camp food for over a month now. So any food-related comments I leave must be taken lightly . . .

  7. you are so bad. now I have to go make these.
    bad, bad, bad.

    and water chestnuts and bacon? Only if its covered in dark chocolate.

  8. Are you trying to make me crazy? This morning you tweeted about cookies and I had to go make cookies….and now cinnamon rolls?

    I might have to start playing hardball and whip out the s-word. Oh yes, I won’t even say it or we’ll all be eating Snickerdoodles before sun down.

    Oops.

  9. Well I’d say your version turned out fine. Though I really would like to hear about the brown sugar/meat tenderizer incident. 😉 Thanks for the links.

  10. Yum. That bread with a good cup of coffee….on a rainy day. Did I say yum yet?

  11. You are makin me hungry!

  12. HOW can you do this to me. It’s 9:30 at night and I’m trying to figure out how quickly I can whip this up before bed.

    I’m SO making these!

  13. Oh and by the way, I have a great recipe for a hot chicken salad with water chestnuts

  14. My mama used to make something like this. She called it “Monkey Bread.”

  15. Yummy . . . Oh I’d work out an extra hour to get a taste of those babies!

  16. While I’d lurve to have your company, I’m glad we don’t live closer for this reason only.

    Snort, snort, snort. For I am a cinnamon roll eating pig.

Leave a Reply

