Jesus loves me this I know

I don’t often stop to think about how much Jesus loves me.  I know that He loves me in the larger sense of, oh, say, bearing the brunt of God’s wrath on the cross for me, but in the day-to-day dailiness of life, I don’t know that I am often gripped by that thought.

It may be a sign that I need to reinvigorate my spiritual life.

It may also be a sign that most days I’m just flat out tired and thinking deep thoughts, spiritual or otherwise, is challenging.

Can I get an “Amen” from other moms of many loud children?

I knew I could.

Yesterday, though, Jesus broke through the busyness of life to tell me that He loved me, and He did it at Chick-fil-A.

I don’t know about you, but there’s something that just makes me happy about going to The Chick.  It’s always full of people that look like me (crazy-haired moms with a boatload of kids are not out of the norm), the staff is nice, the restaurant is always clean, and no one thinks twice about you bringing your child of the opposite sex into the bathroom with you.  It’s really kinda’ like eating at your mama’s house.

That is, if your mama made peach milkshakes.

Again,  Amen.

I took the boys there yesterday to celebrate a clean bill of health at the dentist’s office (and believe me, with three mouths that love Jelly Bellys and Oreos, it’s no small feat),  and the manager immediately made me smile when she offered to take my tray to the table (I had Travis in his wheelchair – she was so kind to notice that my hands were full).  While we were eating, no less than three people stopped by to ask how things were going, asked the kids how their dentist visit had gone (they were proudly wearing their tooth stickers) and generously offered to refill our cups.

I kept looking around to see if Mr. Truett Cathy was in town, but I didn’t see him and trust me, I know what he looks like because his face is always smiling at me on the sign that announces the store is closed on Sunday.

As I’m trying to open the door.

On Sunday.

As we were finishing our Ice Dream cones, I noticed the darkening clouds (we’ve been in a daily afternoon thunderstorm pattern this week) so I told the boys it was time to load up and get to the car.  As we started to leave the restaurant, I could see the drops beginning to splat on the sidewalk.  We started to make a run for it, but halfway across the parking lot, the bottom dropped out of the sky, and the boys started screaming and laughing as I fumbled for my car keys to unlock the car to let them in.  Since I had to lift Travis out of his wheelchair to place him in the car (and then load the chair), it was looking like he and I were going to have to join the drowned rat club.

It’s on occasions like this that it’s so easy to throw myself a pity party and think “If my child weren’t disabled, we wouldn’t have to be standing in the rain.  He wouldn’t have to get soaked.  My hair wouldn’t be plastered to my head and my clothes to my body.  We could have climbed into the car by ourselves and we’d all be merrily on our way.”  As I fumbled with his seatbelt, I felt my attitude starting to spiral downward and darken as the sky above me.  The beginnings of a grumble began to form in the back of my throat.

But before that grumble had time to be released in all its frustrated ugliness,  I noticed all of a sudden that I wasn’t getting wet, which struck me as odd because I could hear and see the rain falling all around.  I looked up to see what was blocking the rain, and there, above my head, was a huge black and white cow-spotted umbrella.  I turned around to see its handle being held by one of the employees with whom we had interacted while we ate.

I kid you not, I started to cry. Big, fat tears that took both of us by surprise.

Tears in response to the overwhelming love of Jesus that I was experiencing at that exact moment.

Jesus, in a Chick-fil-A uniform, watching out for me when He didn’t have any rhyme or reason to do so.

Jesus, in a Chick-fil-A uniform, seeing my need and running to me.

Jesus, in a Chick-fil-A uniform, sheltering me from the storm.

Jesus loves me, this I know.

A black and white cow told me so.

Have a nice day.

56 responses to “Jesus loves me this I know

  1. Nothing like starting my day with a good cry. 🙂 This is beautiful!! I need to eat there more often, if for no other reason than to support them. Well, and the world’s best strawberry milkshakes.

  2. Wow! That is really all I can say. Thanks for sharing. And on a side note, yes….I am another mom with the loud crazy kids…

  3. yes, good cry indeed. isn’t that so just like him?? just when you think you’re going to lose it, he steps right in and says hey, wait, here i am!! Let me help you!! I love that. And I love this story. Thanks for sharing it.

  4. Now you got me crying! I love that place and coincidentally I took my two there after their dental visits last month. The regional traveling mgr. stopped by to talk about those peach shakes and really engaged both my children in a serious conversation. They talked about summer camp, swim team, etc.
    By the way, I read your blog faithfully, but this is my first time commenting. We go to the same church. I will speak to you next time we cross paths.

  5. I even kind of knew this story and I still BAWLED as I got to the end. I’m getting sappy, or this is a great story, or both.

    or! I need a vacation 😉

  6. Aww, yea God!!! 🙂

  7. Those are the moments that leave you feeling hugged by God.

  8. Amen! (mama with loud children)
    Amen! (chick-fil-a is like eating at mom’s house)
    Amen! (God is so good)

  9. You gotta know I mentioned, in my last blog post, that I am an emotional person. I need a ‘warning’ that I’ll need to read one of your posts without my mascara already set in place. 🙂

    That is just beautiful! Beautiful! I try to thank God for empty parking spaces or a stream of green lights just when I need it — but I too fail miserably in acknowledging the daily ways God shows his love. Thank you for sharing this!!

  10. Somehow my comment got eaten. Must’ve been the disrespectful tone and all…(???)

    Amen, Sus. To all.

    Not even 7:30, and I’ve been brought to my knees twice already.

    As it should be.

  11. What a beautiful story! Thanks so much for sharing it with us. It is so easy to spot God in the BIG stuff but sometimes it is more humbling when we find Him in the day to day.

    And I’m sure the employee said “My pleasure!” when you thanked him!!!

  12. Aww that made me cry. This is our Jesus, in real life. Beautiful story!

  13. I have always loved Chick-fil-a, but now I love them even more — and I didn’t even know that was possible! It is just so great that their employees are real people. Thanks for sharing your beautiful story.

    Oh, and I’ll email about Labor day. 🙂

  14. Tears in my eyes over here, CPQ. Sweet. So, so sweet.

  15. Whew! This one really got me – tears are rolling! Thank you for sharing this beautiful story. Have a blessed day!

  16. With tears in my eyes . . . God is DEFINITLY on your side!
    We will all have good days today for sure!

  17. Wow! You made me cry too. That was perfect.

  18. There went my eye makeup.
    What a beautiful story. Thank you for sharing this, friend.

    I was in the amen section when it came to the peach shakes and dry-momma days

  19. Lahoma Greenwood

    I will add peach milkshakes to the menu when you are here in September. It isn’t easy to keep up with Chick -Fil-A, but I’ll be found trying! So proud of you.

  20. Oh, my, ditto on the ruined mascara. Isn’t He just right on time? Thank you so much. Could I just stop crying already??? He does love you.

  21. Big fat tears here, too. Thank you for sharing from your heart.

  22. Aww…that just rocks!

  23. The drops are beginning to splat on the keyboard. That just warms my heart.

    Jesus in skin. Oh, if there were only more of that Chick-Fil-A employee in this world. He deserves Employee of the Year.

    How do we petition for Chick’s on the West Coast???? Cause I’m really feeling like God is calling me to eat at one…

  24. ChikFilA makes me happy, too. I sure hope you called that cow’s manager and put in a good word for him. Mooo….

  25. What an awesome illustration of God’s love!! Thank you for sharing…I’m passing it along too. You do need to share that with the “big wigs” at Chick-fil-A!

  26. Big fat tears are rolling down my face… I hope my sniffling doesn’t wake up my baby sleeping beside me! I so love Chick-fil-a. They almost always have me smiling at their drive thru. What a great story. God was definitely showing His love.

  27. Wow, just wow! I love Chick fil a, now I love them even more.

  28. I love it when Jesus shows up in skin.

    Because He does love us so much. So much, in fact, that He even uses cow spotted umbrellas to show us how much.

  29. This is a great tribute, and should be a great encouragement to my CFA owner friends. My almost 70 year old parents join all the college students at every new store opening camp-out within a 100 mile radius. Mr. Cathy has come a few times to lead devotions at these camp-outs.

    Even after studying Philippians 2 today during my QT, I still needed this reminder to do all things without complaining or arguing.

  30. I KNOW to not wear mascara when I read your blog… because every time it is tears … from laughing aloud, or like today’s from tears of joy & gratefulness to God for showing us His love in so many ways, including through the experiences of our brothers & sisters in Christ. I wish I could have SEEN this whole scenario! Thanks for sharing, my dear friend.

  31. Ok, that brought tears to my eyes. Don’t ya love when you see Jesus like that!

  32. Jesus loves me! How cool is that!?

    And this is what blogs are for…look how many people that you’ve been able to tell this story..look how many of us left your blog with tears in our eyes…and look how Chik-fil-A’s stock just went through the roof! 😀

    “I believe no amount of business school training or work experience can teach what is ultimately a matter of personal character. Businesses are not dishonest or greedy, people are. Thus, a business, successful or not, is merely a reflection of the character of its leadership.”…Truett Cathy

  33. Like the others, I can hardly see my computer screen now due to the puddles in my eyes! God is so good to us and I just love it when He does these kind of things and we are overwhelmed by His love.

  34. Wonderful! Just wonderful!

    Adrienne

  35. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing this sweet, meaningful “hands and feet” moment!

  36. Oh my goodness … I have no words. I am brand new to your blog and this is the most perfect introduction! I cried reading this. I love how He works in the most AMAZING ways! Plus, I love Chick-fil-A! God is good! Have a blessed weekend! 🙂

  37. that was awesome.

  38. So, so good, Sus! Thanks for this. We love the Chick to for this very reason. They are just so nice…but even I didn’t expect the ending of this beautiful story. You need to drop the Chick a line of kudos for this one!

  39. I was emailing back and forth with a bloggy friend the other day, talking about how sometimes it’s hard for me to grasp the fact that Jesus actually loves ME.

    And she wrote back – “you need to talk to Him all the time, and just ask Him to show you. And He will.”

    And truly, He will – this story is a beautiful, touching, example of that. That employee probably had no idea that he was being Jesus to you at that moment – but God knew exactly what you needed.

  40. Amber’s aunt and Jim-Dad’s sis here. I keep up with their blogs, leave comments at times, and occasionally “peek in” at blogs of their friends. This time, I just had to tell you how much this one touched me. I’m crying as I type. I’ve had my share of trials in my life, and have had things happen to lift me up just when I needed it. Recogizing those times as “Jesus at work” was sometimes instant, and sometimes realized as that truth at a later time, in reflection. Thank you for sharing this with us. You made my day!

  41. Absolutely FABULOUS! Loved reading this! 🙂 Isn’t God good?

  42. Sus,
    This post is precious…showing that Jesus still chooses to show Himself in unexpected ways…and how He takes something that blessed you and spoke to you to speak to me.

    Love you.

  43. Oh my gosh…I have fallen in love with your blog. Funny stuff. Definitely something I will return to and read again. I’m sorry about my earlier comment about your mundane Saturday. It sounds like you deserve mundane once in awhile. (I too have a wheelchair kid – the one that turned 21 in my Day-in-the-Life inspired by June posts. I know that stuck in the rain feeling. Jesus loves us.)

  44. So… I’m a little behind on reading my blogs, but I’m sitting here in the Portland- crying. I love how the Lord just shows up so powerfully in the most unexpected places. Love it. Thanks for sharing.

    And PS- I told the Pacific Northwest to grant you sunshine and coolness for your upcoming journey. It better behave. 😉 LOVE IT UP HERE!!!!!!

  45. Someone sent me the link to this post and told me they thought I’d like it. She was right 🙂

  46. Oh, Susan, this was just so beautiful!

    I watched a Chick-Fil-A employee hold an umbrella over a pregnant woman and her toddler last summer as they walked inside. It moved me to tears then as well, and I’m quite sure the cashier thought I was crazy when I pulled up to pay for my order and my face was streaked with mascara!

  47. Suzanne Tucker

    I have never read your blog before, but was so touched by this. PLEASE consider submitting this to Guidepost or another publication. It is worth sharing with others. I have prayed for God’s power in my life…and He keeps reminding me that His power IS LOVE. There is nothing more powerful. It is simple. It is do-able. And you have reminded us of how the most “ordinary” kindnesses are Jesus’ hand extended. Thank you SO much.

  48. This is the first time I’ve read your post and have to tell you how you blessed my heart in a BIG way! The song “His Eye Is On the Sparrow” started playing in my mind while I was wiping away tears and blowing my nose after reading it:)
    I’m guessing that thoughtful employee was a young person??? Our society seems to only tell the negative things about teenagers. I have found the complete opposite in most cases. Jesus loved you with a person whose Mother taught them to be loving and kind. Wouldn’t she have been so proud to have seen her child holding that umbrella up for you? Amazing how that brief moment in your life was planned by our blessed Lord and Savior………..Praise His name!!!

  49. Wow. I’m starting work at Chick-fil-A this week, and I stumbled upon your post because I was looking for Chick-fil-A uniform information.

    This story touched me very much, and I hope Jesus can also use me in this way. In fact, I know He will and that excites me.

  50. I enjoyed your beautiful heart warming story. It inspires me to pray and ask Jesus to be as closen to me as my skin. Also, to be attentive and sensitive to the needs of others. God bless you for sharing.

  51. I have never been to a Chick-Fil-A . . . I don’t think we have them in Minnesota.

    What a trooper you are. So grateful for those little miracles you described.

    A lovely post.

  52. Pingback: Chick-Fil-A « Carpoolqueen’s Blog

  53. Awesome! I love the thought of Jesus holding a cow umbrella…I love how He touches our hearts when we need it the most!

  54. Aww… beautiful, He poured out blessing… with an umbrella. I love hugs from God. 🙂

  55. Just now reading this after how many months? And have tears running down my face. What a beautiful story…

    Hmmm, I sure could use a chicken sandwich and those fantabulous waffle fries right about now… 😉

  56. Susan,

    My name is Jeff Cash. I am head of operations for both the Chick-fil-A at Falls Village and the one at Capital Crossing in Raleigh, NC. Today, we recieved our corporate-wide magazine called “Create.” The experience that you wrote about at our Falls Village location and submitted to corporate was featured in this months issue in that magazine.

    I thought you might like to know…me (a grown man) was just sitting in our back office reading the story you wrote about our location…crying my eyes out. You see, many people work to simply make a paycheck, but here we are always trying to work in a way where Christ is exalted! We try to work everyday in a way that would be pleasing to the Father! We teach our employees here to serve the way that Christ served the church! With that said, I cried hearing your story, knowing that the Lord is using this place as a vessel for bringing joy to the lives of those in this community.

    Your words were very kind and encouraging to our team. We are going to frame the magazine to demonstrate how love effects a person’s outlook on a day, but hopefully impacts their lives eternally. May we all join together and give God the glory, for great things He has done, does, and will eternally do!

    I have read several other of your blog entries, and look forward to continuing to follow your journey. Please, next time you are in the store, ask for Jeff. Hopefully I am at that location, as I would love to chat.

    In His grip,
    Jeff Cash

Leave a Reply

