Reunited and it feels so good

I’m dropping off the kids this morning at school and heading straight to the airport to pick up Mr. CPQ who has been out of town this entire week in Argentina.  He was given strict instructions to leave Governor Sanford’s soul mate alone as well as orders to bring home a souvenier, preferably not of the swine flu variety.

Hello, CDC government analyst.  It’s just a blog.  Move along.

The return from this trip is especially welcome since it’s the fourth and final trip in a month that’s seen him gone more than home.  To say it’s been a long July would be an understatement.

But I have a secret.

Something I’ve been dying to tell for a while now.

This secret is what has kept my spirits buoyed through these long days of single parenting.

You wanna’ know what it is?

I’m getting a girl’s weekend away as a little gift from the Mister.

This time next week, I’m going to wake up in a different state.

Having made a long trip.

In a plane.

To a different time zone.

To have a little reunion.

With some friends.

That up to this point have only lived in my computer.

Do you want to know who?

tiara1

A crown?

With jewels?

Could it be, maybe, I don’t know….Gretchen????!!?!?

And rumor has it that some other folks are going to be there too.

DSC_0017

Jenster

hg

His Girl

kel

and

Coffee Gal.

That many wordy people in one house?

We’ll never sleep.

It’ll be worth the last month.

Every single minute.

Have a nice day.

17 responses to “Reunited and it feels so good

  1. single parenting is no fun, but your weekend sounds fab! have a great time! i’m off to DC (in like 87 minutes!) for the weekend with my daughter to visit my sis and her girls. Can’t wait!

  2. You are going to have the BEST time in Whidbey.

    Talk till y’all’s ears fall off!!!

    Just a teensy bit jealous, but SO happy for you guys!!!!

  3. Woo hooo! I’m sure you’ll have more than enough fun to make up for the last month! 😉

  4. I am so excited for you!!! I did that too! I just spent 4 days with a friend I met online through Facebook (friend of a friend) last Spring. It was SO much fun! Have a GREAT time!

  5. Need to get started polishing my crown. 🙂

    can

    not

    wait.

    Welcome home, C!

  6. How fun!!!

    Just wanted to stop by and say hello 🙂

  7. Nice! Have a fabulous time, you so deserve it!

  8. SO EXCITED!!!!!

    can’t.even.wait.

    Glad you broke the news. Oh, and that your husband is home. but mostly…. THAT IT’S JUST A FEW DAYS AWAY!!! Whoop!

  9. Yay! Have a fun time!

  10. …the only time I’ve ever wanted to live in my neighboring state…sigh.

    I GUESS I’ll be happy for you all.;)

    But it’s really too bad that you couldn’t wait until the last weekend in August when I’LL be in Blaine, WA. (Did you hear that Gretchen? I think that’s close to you?)

    But, seriously, that is awesome! I hope you have SO much fun! …and I’ll only be a little bit jealous that all these peeps are getting to meet other blogging peeps IRL…:)

  11. Yay, YOU! Mr. Fun is coming home tonight after being away for two weeks… maybe I will show him your post and I will get a girls’ weekend? Oh well, a girl can dream…

  12. Oh, you all are going to be one heck of a weekend – I can’t even imagine all of the fun and awesome conversation that you girls are gonna have.

  13. YEA! I hope you have a great reunion and a great girls weekend away!

  14. IN the words of CPQ:

    SQUEAL!!!!!!!!!

  15. Did you miss me?????????? Lest you think I’ve forgotten your wonderful blog…I haven’t. I’m finally settling into “normal” and hoping that I can be as faithful as I ever was in supporting this outrageously funny, thoughtful blogaroonie.

    So, nothin’ like a Peaches and Herb title to pull back to the comments…

    Oh how I’ve missed your wit and insight (even though I DO, and thankfully, talk to you in other places). So glad your man is home…like I told you big.old.baby. here…and your girls weekend??

    Just wishing I could teleport myself there…you guys are seriously going to have a BLAST! Pics pics pics, okay?

  16. Trying to think of something nice to say that would mask my despair. I really am happy and excited for you guys. I know it will be nothing short of awesome!

  17. Pingback: I’m here! (Or there!) « Carpoolqueen’s Blog

Leave a Reply

