Raindrops keep falling on my head

I let my child do something that I’ve always thought would be fun to do but I never had the gumption to do it myself.  Isn’t it fun to live vicariously through your kids? We had a huge thunderstorm roll through town yesterday afternoon and I was sitting in the office searching the world wide web for some supper recipes and enjoying the sound of  the rain pounding against the glass.  I vaguely recalled hearing Travis cackling in the living room (he loves stormy weather as much as I do) but by the time I realized that his laughter was coming not from the living room but from the deck, it was too late.

plastered

He almost came undone with laughter when he was discovered. plastered2

And then he squealed “Travis is getting a rain shower!” and my entire reason for being alive suddenly became perfectly clear.

So I gathered some supplies…

supplies

And gave them to him so that he could lather…

wash

And rinse.

rinse

And repeat strip.

getting serious

And get soaped all over.

happy

And bundled up.

bundled

And be oh so very happy.

resting

And I didn’t have to clean the bathtub.

Have a nice day.

19 responses to “Raindrops keep falling on my head

  1. he will surely remember the day his momma let him bathe in the rain. he will think he has the best momma ever!!! it’s the little things.

  2. TOTALLY AWESOME! What a great memory of a totally cool mom!

  3. Oh.My.Goodness! An unforgettable moment for T!! I LOVE IT!

    I let my kids run out in the rain but they would ADORE me if I handed them the shampoo!! What a fun way to show off your “Fun Mom” card (as Amb would say)…now I’m hoping for a rainstorm!!!

  4. Love it! Travis is such sweetheart….and you are such a fun mom. Go Sus!

  5. Oh, I love it! I would have loved to hear his laughter. These are the times that make our lives “exceptional”. God is SO good!

  6. That ther just brings a big ol’ smile to my face.

    A-W-E-S-O-M-E

    And I’m seriously fighting the urge to fly out there and give Travis the biggest hug EVER.

  7. That is so neat. You are the most awesomest mom ever.

  8. When I was growing up, I remember that there was a gutter on the side of our house that didn’t run all the way to the ground. We would stand under it and use the bar of soap that Mom tossed to us three girls and shower in our swim suits. Hmm. Maybe my son needs a rain shower – we’ve got storms coming in…thanks! 🙂

  9. We love to play in the rain. Unfortunately, there aren’t too many times that it doesn’t come with thunder (which mine are fearful of). What great pictures! And a star for being a ‘yes’ mom! 😉

  10. Sending my kids to you next week. Just need to do their laundry and say g’bye. 🙂

    What a fantastic, delicious moment.

  11. Hello, Fun Mom.

    Nice to meetcha.

    And what a way to secretly get in bathtime…nice.

  12. Such sweet pictures! It’s all about the little things sometimes! 🙂

  13. That is priceless!

    You are the COOLEST mom evah!

  14. I love this. It’s so sweet and tender and … wow. I love the way you love your kids!

    I adore thunderstorms, too, but my kids are terrified of them. My favorite part of our resort in St. Lucia was the outdoor shower attached to our little bungalow. So cool. There’s something about being naked in the rain, surrounded by palm trees and tropical flowers. It’s like Eden. 🙂

  15. Love it! I think we’ll have to do the same thing with the exception of the stripping part — with the golfers back there and all. 😉

  16. You rock!

  17. What a great moment!

  18. I believe that for this, and this alone, you win mother of the year honors. What a memory for your boy.

Leave a Reply

