In which you begin to question if I have a screw loose

Mr. CPQ and I spent the better part of last night mapping out our Great Big Ball of Twine Tour that’s coming up in September.  We’re calling it that because we’re traipsing across Arkansas, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, Missouri, Ohio and Kentucky to see things that, well, are a little quirky and off the beaten path and  yet, for some reason, I feel compelled to see them before I kick the bucket.

Of course, after 4,000 miles of driving, I may be ready to kick the bucket sooner rather than later.

On the list – Crater of Diamonds State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Wall Drug, the Corn Palace, the St. Louis Arch, and the Lousville Slugger Museum.  It’s probably the most ambitious trip we’ve ever undertaken with the boys and Craig thinks I’m certifiable, but LORD LOVE THIS MAN, he’s loading up and going with us.

And paying for it.

I’m sure I’ll be paying for it for years to come, too.

In the form of never getting to plan a vacation again.

I’ve been trying to convince him to do this We’ve been kicking around the idea of this jaunt for a couple of years and I thought we had everything settled until yesterday when I came across this website that put one more stop on our itinerary.

I am giddy.

People, the ACTUAL Great Big Ball of Twine is on our way to Mt. Rushmore.

The.

Very.

One.

Cawker City, Kansas.

Here we come.

Have a nice day.

P.S. What crazy place is on your bucket list?  If we survive this trip without Mr. CPQ leaving me for a woman who never sets foot out of the house, I’ll need to start planning NEXT year’s vacation.

20 responses to “In which you begin to question if I have a screw loose

  1. Well, I think Mr. CPQ is going to start calling you Willie, as in “we’re on the road again” Willie Nelson! I think you are crazy, absolutely, and will pray for your sanity every single day. However, I will look forward to your posts as I’m sure they will be quite entertaining. I can’t even get 4 blocks to the grocery store without someone getting pinched in the back seat. Do you restrain them all or do you have one of those plastic partitions that goes up, like in a taxi?? I’d love one of those!!

  2. As someone who has already logged over 70 road trip hours this year with the children, you know that I support you and yet question your sanity. I’d better question it now because I’m not sure that there will be any left to question after The Great Big Ball of Twine tour.

    I apologize. My sense of adventure left me right after B neon orange silly puttied the back of his shorts, his booster seat, and the back of my head. (Alcohol removes baked-in silly putty by the way.) Best part of this trip? It puts you and the boys within short driving distance of me. Now that’s something (someones) I’d be willing to get back in the car and drive to see.

  3. We did a very similar tour when I was the boys’ age. My psychiatrist says I’m this close to being over the trauma.

    If you’re going that far, you’ve got to add Devil’s Tower to your tour. And watch Close Encounters of the Third Kind before you go. But don’t serve the kids mashed potatoes beforehand.

  4. I’m jealous. I wanted to do that this summer, but DH only wants to sail around the world, after quitting his job and pulling the kids out of school. That’s why I married him, he makes me look sane.

  5. My parents did Wall Drug and the Corn Palace last summer and have not stopped talking about it. They did not, however, make it to the ball of twine. Their loss, I’m sure.

  6. Oh, what’s on my bucket list? Nothing too crazy. I tend to lean toward the ancient world, literature-driven tourist sites. Like Jane Austen’s home. I would love to visit that.

    Nightly News recently did a story on a new trend in tourism: people wanting to visit the places where famous people died. My husband thought it was ridiculous, but I meekly admitted I have pictures of myself where both John Lennon and Princess Di were killed. That’s about as weird as I get.

  7. How fun, road trips are the best!!!! 🙂

  8. If you are looking for quirky – you must come to Amarillo and visit the Cadillac Ranch. You’re boys would get a kick out of this. http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2220

    Of course, you could also attempt to eat the 72 ounce steak at the Big Texan Steak Ranch.

    The best part of this addition to the road trip, would be that I would get to see you and meet all your boys.

    Sounds like a fun trip!

  9. When I was 17, my parents took the family from central Florida to Los Angeles…a three week vacation in a Mini-Winnie (Winnebago) without air conditioning. It was a fun time.

    Hope your adventures provide loads of blog fodder…can’t wait to read all about it!

    My bucket list places : I want to tour Wall Street with my husband, tour England with my oldest daughter, visit Legoland with my son, and take the younger two with me on a cruise to Alaska.

  10. When I was a child my family traveled quite a bit. One of my favorite stops was the Varsity in the heart of Atlanta. (Not the chain rest. They have around GA. The varisty boasts it is the world’s largest drive ins…it had over 1,000 parking spaces and people could also go in to eat. Their hotdogs, orange freezes and peach turnovers are always a treat. People come from all walks of life and it was THE place to people watch

  11. OH, I love quirky road trips! I have several of your stops on my list, so I will look forward to vacationing with you via blog. I’d also like to see the geographic center of the US (Lebanon, Kansas), the Laura Ingalls Wilder homestead in South Dakota, the factory tour at Crayola, and the factory tour at Blue Bell Ice Cream in Brenham, TX.

  12. FUN FUN FUN!!

    I’ve been to Wall Drug, Mt. Rushmore, seen the Arch but not IN it and the Corn Palace, I was around your boys’ age when I went too and SO want to take mine and see all those things with much more appreciative grown up eyes!!! It’s an amazing country we have here!

    Too bad you AREN’T headed this way yet..cause I’d support Katharine’s Varsity Idea in a cholesterol-ridden heartbeat!

  13. What fun! Would you believe I’ve never been to any of those places? I can’t wait to visit vicariously through you! Lots of pics, please!

  14. We love anything tacky. Those are the best family trips.

  15. I SO want to visit the great ball of glorious string.

    Oh…and make sure you pack clothes for ONLY diamond digging. Because you will come out covered head to toe in gooey brown clay. And it doesn’t come out. So…extra shoes. Extra gross clothes. And be prepared to just throw them away when you’re done…because that is all they are good for.

    You’re welcome.

  16. What a great idea and such a fun memory for your family!!

    My bucket list vacation destination is Bora Bora (the huts on stilts over the water). Not what you’re looking for, I know.

  17. Fun! I love road trips, mostly for the food along the way.

  18. The only place on your list that we haven’t seen is Corn Palace. I dream of taking the boys on a tour of Civil War battlegrounds/national parks. Also believe it or not, I have never been to DC so it is on my list.

  19. lydia Stevenson

    Great minds think alike, we are too planning such a trip in September. Our looks like this Ar to Mt Rushmore, Devils Tower, Yellowstone, New Mexico( Hot Air Balloons & grandparents), Texas( relatives and speaking engagements) and back to good ol AR( Crater of Diamonds). Wouldn’t it be funny if we happened to meet up at the great big ball o twine??

  20. Lauren Richardson

    my husband grew up in salt lake, and says the corn palace is not to be missed!! =)

Leave a Reply

