Blame it on Starbucks

I’m a little bit zippy as I type this entry to post in the morning.  I met a friend for dinner at Pei Wei and then went to Starbucks for coffee afterwards because we hadn’t used up all of our words at the restaurant and we still had to discuss important things like the tragic news that the “it” colors for fall are purple and grey/gray and neither of those colors do a thing for me.

Ordering at Starbucks always makes me a little nervous.  I feel like such a poser when I walk in the door because I don’t go in often enough to have a standard order that just rolls off my tongue.

It’s the same way with hamburgers.  I never order them the same way twice in a row.  Somedays I feel like mustard and pickle and other days I feel like mayo and tomato.  Drives Mr. CPQ crazy. It really adds zest to our marriage.

At any rate, I tried the cinnamon dolce latte and in my desire to keep it relatively healthy, I focused on getting the word “skinny” out of my mouth (and trust me, that’s not a word that gets used a whole lot in my personal little microclimate) and I forgot that the word “decaf” would be equally as important seeing as I was tossing this puppy back at 9:00 at night.

Sadly, I don’t even have anything on Tivo to keep me company tonight while I watch the minute hand rock around the clock.  I’m all caught up on back episodes of General Hospital Meet the Press, and the boys’ 115 recorded hours of Max & Ruby and Go Diego Go just aren’t going to cut it.

Speaking of cutting, I’m getting my hair cut, colored, and foiled next week.

Try not to get whiplash from that segue.

I’ve been coloring my own hair to varying degrees of disaster success for the past couple of years, and I’m finally going to bite the bullet and just have a professional take care of it for me. I’m a little bit nervous about it since my hairdresser just got back from Toronto with a new technique that I get to be the guinea pig for that she’s anxious to try on me.  She’s used the terms “umbrella pattern”, “caramel” and “violet” in the same sentence, so who knows what it’s going to look like.

Hey, now that I think about it, isn’t “violet” another word for purple?

I guess I’m going to fashionable this fall after all.

Have a nice day.

28 responses to “Blame it on Starbucks

  1. Starbucks became my haven during revision time when my housemates just Would.Not.Shut.UP! So I’d go there every day and order mocha after mocha as I worked and now it’s my regular and they know to give me one when I go. But I’d rather be a complete stranger than be that wild eyed girl you need to walk on eggshells around lest she bites you.

  2. I’m exhausted just reading this! I can hear you (at least what you sound like in my head) rambling off all these thoughts at supersonic speed. I also kinda want to go to Starbucks now. Aaaaah … I love that place.

    I can’t wait to see how your hair turns out! Sounds cool!

  3. They should automatically confirm the caf/decaf situation for orders at that time of night!!

    I think your hair has been looking nice and chocolatey lately, but I’m intrigued by your description of the new process!

  4. TWO A.M., Sus, that’s when I went to bed!!!! UGH!

    and, YAYYYYY, for purple and gray…I LURVE that color combo (sorry it doesn’t work for you, of course)…unless the hair thing comes out violet…hmmm.

  5. Violet highlights? You can be an honorary LSU fan!

  6. Umbrella pattern and hair style? Two words that definitely don’t seem to mix!

  7. Do you chew gum?

    Because all I’m picturing is Violet from the Chocolate Factory.

  8. Why am I reminded of that fast talking FedEx commercial?

    And you notice I didn’t mention a thing about the automatically generated “possibly related posts.”

    Whoops.

  9. I’m having my highlights done next week by a new girl and I find the whole new hairdresser thing one of the most stressful bits in a move.

    I’ve learned to give specific instructions which include-no purple, no orange, no skunk…make it look sun-kissed. This has worked for me so far.

  10. I’m with you, purple and gray do nuthin for me. Post pics of your new ‘do when it’s done! 🙂

  11. you always leave me laughing! Just what I needed today & to know that someone else isn’t excited about purple! Can’t wait to see the umbrella!

  12. Mercy! Okay, since I live near eleventy million Starbucks, I shall help you:

    Order A (standard, daily fix)
    Nonfat, double tall latte with 2 raw sugars.

    Order B (fun times)
    Nonfat, grande cinnamon dolce latte with 1/2 the syrup. And never say no to whip.

    You’re welcome. Because I care.

    Can’t wait to see your hair. It’ll be beautiful. And do you know another reason why we’re friends? The whiplash. For my veddy first blog used to be called “Quantum Leap”. That’s right. Because I do.

  13. LOL I hope the “purple” comes across well in pictures so we can see how it turns out, cuz that sounds very interesting.
    I’m just sayin’

  14. Gray and purple? oh-oh

    Good thing I found out here so I can be all trendy! Because I am ALL about trendy. Yessiree. 😉

  15. Can’t wait to see the new cut/color. The coffee concoction sounds delish!

  16. Dont forget to post pictures of the new do. Like you would forget.

  17. Goodness that was one ride of a post…

    Here’s how I order at SB :

    “OK, you have water, right?? OK, I want a decaf coffee with the calories just above water…I think it has something to do with some kind of skinny stuff.”

    Maybe next time I’ll ask them to tell me the ‘you are so cool’ way of ordering…or maybe I’ll continue to look like a doofus. Who knows??

  18. There is a new drink I’ve been getting at Starbucks. Tastes like Raspberry Hot Cocoa-you order a steamer with chocolate (their in house mocha they make) and raspberry. Yum-O.

  19. Wheeeeee! I love a roller coaster post!
    Sorry you were up so late … I’m sure you conquered some closets and rearranged the medicine cabinet. No?!

    About the color… I sat behind you on Sunday admiring your cut and color. I should have said something!
    About the colors for fall… my inside fashion source tells me that bright navy will be all the rage too. I can dig that way better than purple (gag)

  20. I’m a happy girl. I LOVE grey and purple. Even violet! I look good in those colors, what can I say. Maybe change up your hair color and you’ll love how they look on you, too?

  21. Why does it seem like purple has been the “in” color for WAY too long?

    Can’t wait to see the umbrella-inspired, violet ‘do.

  22. A few gold streaks and you could call it gurple …. trend setter.

  23. lydia stevenson

    Ok the hair color sounds totally European, which is cool by me. Imagine going to a stylist that speaks little or no English and trying to explain what you want. I began teaching my hairdresser English just for that reason!! I noticed that glasses in the US are becoming very European too, not to even mention the clothes. So, apparently I have been “in” and did not even know it( that is a first) .

  24. So by ‘umbrella effect’ I’m picturing a lovely umbrella with a Monet painting all over it with soft hues of gold and all sun-dappled and glowy. On the other hand I’m picturing a ‘gustbuster’ purple Cleveland golf umbrella that is no where near anything that could be called pretty, but it is hurricane-proof. Hope you get your money’s worth.

  25. Go for it. Once you go foil, you’ll never look back. I took the leap a while ago and I’m hooked.

    The trick is that once you get a good foil, you can’t switch stylists. It is an art. Some people work in fine oils. Others in finger paints.

  26. You absolutely MUST have the before and after pictures of your hair. I have NO patience to wait until a Sunday to see the NEW you!! 🙂

  27. Wow, you WERE brave downing a latte at 9:00. Take my word for it, Decaf doesn’t do the drink justice…..it just doesn’t taste the same. I always order half the syrup but always, always keep the whip!

  28. I almost always forget the ‘decaf’ part when I add in the ‘skinny’ part. In fact, tonight, this very moment I am up because I think I may have mis-communicated with my Starbucks Cashier regarding the fact that I needed to have a decaf Pumpkin Spice Latte for the First Day of Pumpkin @Starbucks tonight -er last night.

    anyway – I am up much too late, but since I don’t have Tivo or TV – I have blogs!! woo hoo!!

Leave a Reply

