There’s still time…

I’ve been in a cooking mood since I watched Julie & Julia Sunday night.

Notice I said “in a cooking mood”, not “I have been cooking.”

Ergo the saltines and peanut butter that passed for lunch yesterday.

But I’m rallying today, channeling my inner Ina Garten,  and using the bits and pieces of stuff in my vegetable bin to throw together one of my favorite suppers that’s quick, easy, and company good. And in case you haven’t decided what’s for dinner at YOUR house, there’s still time to run to the store and pick up an ingredient or two if you don’t keep them stocked.

Here’s what we’re having tonight, and if you don’t like grits, this would probably work over rice.

Or cardboard.

Shrimp and Grits

Grits:

Whatever the box tells you to do. 

Except add a little more butter or heavy cream because you’re special.

Keep warm.

Shrimp:

However much shelled, deveined, raw shrimp your family will need, sprinkled with cajun seasoning (I use 1-2 pounds, sprinkled with Emeril’s)

8 ounces andouille sausauge, sliced

1 cup finely chopped yellow/spanish onion

1/2 cup each chopped red and green bell pepper

1 teaspoon minced garlic

2 tablespoons chopped spring onion (green tops only)

2 tablespoons chopped parsley

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

1/4 cup heavy cream

In a large skillet, brown andouille sausage in a little vegetable oil and remove once browned.  Add in seasoned shrimp and just barely cook through.  Remove them from the pan as well.

Add 1 tablespoon of oil to the skillet and saute the yellow onion and the green and red bell peppers until soft.  Sprinkle with a little more cajun seasoning and then add in the garlic.  Cook for about 30 seconds until fragrant.

Add the chicken broth in and let it boil/reduce for 5 minutes.

Add back in the shrimp and andouille, cream, green onions and parsley.  Let it simmer for 3-4 minutes and then serve over the grits.

You’re welcome.

Have  a nice day.

21 responses to “There’s still time…

  1. Wowzers!! Am I first??!!

    Girl, if it’s got grits, I’m game….I’ve always wanted to try this…I may just have to..the hubs would think me loverly.

    I have no idea who Kinder Garten 😉 is that you mentioned but she must be good if she’s sharing things like this with you!!

  2. Shrimp and grits just might be my favorite thing to eat ever. Yumm. Yumm. Yumm.

  3. Lisa@SliceOfLife

    Yum! I can never find andouille sausage because I live in the sticks. Is there a good substitute?

  4. man…this sounds good. I think I’ll add heavy cream to my grits for breakfast.

    Do they sell the sausage around these parts? We’re pretty far from LA.

    And Julie/Julia inspired me to cook. Have I actually cooked anything? No.

  5. OK so here’s a question for you…. other than making it (which I’ve never done,) who do you think has the best shrimp and grits in the area?

  6. I have heard so much about shrimps and grits. I soooo want to try that sometime. I love love love grits and love love love shrimp, so don’t think I can lose, haha!! 🙂

  7. ohmygosh!! I just laughed so hard at her story I could have peed my pants!! how funny is that???

  8. I’ve never actually thought of making it at home. I have no idea why not.

    Sounds like I could make some good money mailing andouille sausage around the country. Too bad I don’t like going to the post office.

  9. You had me at “however much shrimp your family will need” (lots; I especially will need lots); but by the time we reached heavy cream . . . well let’s just say I am sooo ready for this dish 🙂 Thanks for sharing it.

  10. Yummo!! (that’s me channeling Rachael Ray.)

  11. APPARENTLY I need to try grits. Because now, both you and Tiffani have talked about it. Just one more food item for me to fall in love with…my hips won’t thank me.

  12. Grits? Grits? Google has shown me that this is something I’d probably like and I now feel the need to try it. Your blog makes me want to do a food tour of America. Not that I still think about your New Orleans post or anything.

  13. Well now that I’m a grits enthusiast, I can try this at home. I don’t lurve shrimp, but Big does, and sometimes I do things just for him to be nice. Not often, however.

    And thank you for telling me I was special. I always knew extra cream was good for something. 🙂

  14. This would sure count as “brownie points” to my husband. He fell in love with shrimp and grits when we moved down here.

    But the last time his parents were here and he made breakfast grits — he read the salt as Tablespoons instead of teaspoons. Ohhh—pretty nasty.

  15. Um, you do realize that Shrimp and Grits is my absolute favorite entree?!
    Wait for it… wait for it…
    oh. I thought the phone was ringing with an invite for dinner. =)

  16. YUM! I love shrimp and grits. but my hubby? not a fan. . . not that it matters since I wouldnt ever take the time/effort to make it but whatever.
    ps-i LOVED that movie!

  17. Wow, that sounds so good. Thanks!

    I found you through Amber and Gretchen. I just love those two. I think you went on vacation with them recently? Can’t keep track.

    Anywhoo, just saying hi. Enjoy the shrimp!

    Andrea

  18. I’m still stuck on the fact that you actually have a vegetable bin.

  19. Oh wow. Thanks. If I ever get motivated to prepare this recipe, I will make my husband very happy!

Leave a Reply

