Being Home

I’ve been home all week, daily reminding my father why he was so glad to walk me down the aisle and turn me over to someone else to pester with all my stuff I’ve strewn across the house to love. 

It’s been good for my soul.

I have a great family.  I’m the youngest of four children and the only girl, and I adore my brothers and my parents.  We’re close, but also highly respectful of each other’s independence. 

And we are fiercely independent. 

Every last one.

I come home once a year to get my tank refilled.   

I come home to a daddy that cleans my car  inside and out, who checks my tires for tread, and tells me how proud he is of me. 

I come home to a mom who fusses around the kitchen and does the laundry and goes shopping with me and just calms me by her mere presence.

I come home to brothers who hung the moon and are brilliant and capable and great dads and who still treat me like their punk little sister, and I come away feeling so loved and special to this group of men who have looked out for me every single day of my life.

It’s been a week of highs, flying above the plains of  Oklahoma in Uncle Steve’s airplane and running around Uncle Paul’s property on 4-wheelers. (Uncle Jonathan joins us this weekend for a huge family birthday celebration.)

The following picture is of Uncle Steve’s airstrip. 

It also doubles as a hayfield.

IMG_1515

When it’s time to fly, he just raises up the side of his house and pushes the airplane out with his 4-wheeler.

IMG_1528

IMG_1529IMG_1530IMG_1531IMG_1533

It was the highlight of the boys’ week.

IMG_1538IMG_1537

Our highlights have been marred only by what will hereafter be referred to as the Great OU Incident in which the boys most likely ruined their chance of ever getting accepted into the illustrious state school due to a slight mishap related to an ill-placed display of wind chimes in the Noble Museum of Natural History.

Oh well, we’re Razorback fans anyway.

We still have lots on the agenda before heading out for the driving-until-we-can’t-see-straight portion of our vacation but I’m having so much fun just sitting at my mother’s table that I may just hibernate until it’s time to leave.

Home. 

Have a nice day.

24 responses to “Being Home

  1. Like I told you earlier tonight, it does my heart good just to know you’re home with your family.

    Love you.

  2. Razorback fan, huh? I’ll see you 11/27.

  3. it’s nice to feel like someone is taking care of you, isn’t it? i sometime wish for that. i’m happy for you!

  4. OK, the side of the house opening up was the coolest thing ever! I know your boys are having a great time!!

    I am so happy that you are home.

  5. That would definitely rank as the coolest uncle in the world with a house that opens AND a plane! So glad that you are enjoying yourself and getting your tank filled – literally and figuratively. 🙂

  6. I know it had to have been a special thing to have been surrounded by brothers and all that protection and brotherly love 🙂

  7. I am just sitting here in awe about the side of the house that opens. that’s impressive.

  8. I LOVE COMING HOME TO MY MAMA.

    It just feels good to be taken care of. Love it.

    And how great is the whole side of his house just lifting up like that. Way Cool.

    Enjoy the moments. I know how precious they are.

  9. Wish the side of my house opened like that! Think how easy it would be to just hose it all out!

  10. This made me cry, and laugh.

    Love the house…how cool is that?!

  11. Oh that barn was pretty cool, but the look of excitement on your boys’ faces was better.

    And that picture of JJ? Totally looks like you in that pic!

  12. Is it okay to be a little jealous?? 🙂 Sounds divine.

  13. What?! You are an Oklahoma girl too?! But the razorbacks thing….hmm….calling pigs….I don’t know about that! And what on earth happened with the wind chimes?

  14. So happy for the tank refilling. And the moveable house.

    We never stop needing to hear those words of affirmation, do we? Well, I guess it’s not a “need”, but it sure feels good. What a great family you have. Thank you for sharing.

  15. Sounds wonderful…there is no place like home!

    Lovin’ how half the house opens….too cool.

  16. Okay, so I thought you were cool and I just couldn’t wait to meet you. NOW, I want to meet your brother and watch his house do its flippy open thing!!

    Glad you are enjoying home!

  17. Get that family love tank filled, girl! No matter how old we get, it still feels great when our parents treat us like the little-girl princesses we will always be to them.

  18. Your family sounds wonderful and a lot like mine – especially with you being the youngest and the only girl and being treated as the beloved pesky sister.

    The plane ride sounds awesome and the side of the house/garage – whatever that is opening is just rocks . Glad you are having fun.

    Oh and I’ve been married to Jeff long enough to know not to pull for OU. His family members are die hard OSU fans, so whatever your boys did I’m sure they would find acceptable.

  19. I love going home to mama and there is something special about being the youngest and the only girl.

    I am glad you are getting your tank filled and I hope the rest of your trip is just as refreshing.

    That house with the plane…amazing, simply amazing.

  20. I only less than 10 minutes from my Mama and yet when I see her, I still want to smell her and see her puffy dark hair with all its greys swimming around.

    I am just lovin’ that you’re getting this time at home!

    Michael Buble said it well didn’t he? “I’ve had my run, baby I’m done, I wanna go home…”

  21. What a great time you must be having! I’d love to meet your Mama, who raised a wonderful daughter. And yes, G., we do always think of our daughters as little-girl-princesses & are so thankful to God for giving us the privilege of parenting.
    I LOVE the expression on Travis’ face, & the joy that all 3 of them are obviously experiencing. That is one cool uncle!!!!!

  22. I thought this was wonderful BEFORE I saw the plane! I am going to be surprised if your boys ever want to leave! What a special time you have with your family. Times to treasure, indeed.

  23. What an amazing place you have to call your home with such a wonderful family. Your kids must have been on cloud nine (literally). What a blessing it is to go back home and just to get away for a little while. Can’t wait to see you when you return!!

  24. Sounds like a wonderful trip….love the house opening…it’s very Batman-like. There’s no place like home!

    Safe travels…Joyce

Leave a Reply

