Living on a prayer

I’m interrupting my travel series this week with a little something honest different.

______________________________________________________

I’ve been at home with Travis for the bulk of this week while his brothers have enjoyed some time playing at Grammy Camp in the mountains.

Mr. CPQ has been busier than usual at work, so that’s left me with a lot of time on my hands to clean, catch up on old episodes of General Hospital Meet the Press, and generally enjoy the quiet that comes with having only one child in the house.

I’ve discovered that I don’t do well with quiet.

Quiet can sometimes take my mind to a place where it doesn’t need to go.

The place where Overwhelmed, Fear, and Quiet Desperation reside.

It’s been a tough couple of days.  I could blame some of it on post-vacation re-entry to the real world, but coming home hasn’t been the only culprit.

The truth is, I’ve been stuck looking at Tomorrow.

It’s something that’s easy for me to do, and I have to make a conscious effort to keep my eyes on Today and Now.

I talked to Whimzie a couple of days ago when I was about to go to a really ugly place, and, as she is wont to do, she talked me off the ledge with (among other things) this thought:

“Try to remember that we don’t have to do the future today. Just Tuesday.”

That’s been rolling around in my head since she said it, and I woke up yesterday with renewed determination to fight back those thoughts that steal my joy.  It was an okay day, though I was still feeling a little low.

Low, that is, until prayer time with Travis.

Usually I pray over the boys at bedtime, but my heart was heavyish  last night and I didn’t really have it in me.  We snuggled in, nose to nose, and I asked him to pray.

Dear Jesus,

Thank you for this good day.  Thank you that I got to go walking at Kroger. We were out of Honeycombs and orange juice. Thank you that I got Chocolate Lucky Charms.  Thank you that my brothers are coming back.  I missed them very much.

Love, Travis

There was so much joy in his voice and an eagerness to talk to his Creator.  He didn’t focus on the what-if’s of his life.  He focused on the Now.

Gratefulness for life.

Gratefulness for food.

Gratefulness for family.

And this teary mom breathed her own prayer.

A prayer of thanks for the words of a child.

A prayer of thanks for the work of a  Saviour.

A prayer of thanks for worry He removes.

And she got off the bed, wiped the tears from her eyes, and once again found the peace in knowing that He holds today in His very capable hands.

And He holds tomorrow.

Have a nice day.

23 responses to “Living on a prayer

  1. Wow! Susan, I love it when you are honest…er, different.

    This post reminds me of Nehemiah 8:10…”the joy of the Lord is my strength.”

    This was a great reminder to me that worry about tomorrow robs us of experiencing that which will pull us through to the day we see Him face to face: Strength in the Lord.

    So glad God used that 70 pound bundle of “quiet” energy to remind you (and me!) that He is your joy and strength.

    Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow.

  2. Susan, it has been a rough week here. Let’s just say most of life was turned upside down. One day at a time and even one moment at at time, with Jesus, got us through. Thanks for the good reminder.

  3. Precious! Out of the mouth of babes.

    Sure wish we could talk face to face. I hope one day this side of heaven we get to visit face to face.

    And they make chocolate Lucky Charms??

  4. Wow. It’s amazing how He speaks to our hearts to comfort and remind us that He is in control. And that He knows us and loves us.

    Thank you for sharing. Who doesn’t worry sometimes about what the future may hold?

  5. I feel you totally on the melancholy . . . Glad your kiddo gave you such a good reminder and that you shared!!

  6. These types of posts are my favorite. Because I love knowing that other people (other people that I love so much especially) go through the same mountains and valleys that I do. I get SO caught up in tomorrows that I forget about the Tuesdays.

    That Whimzie….she’s a smarty.

  7. Lauren Richardson

    I have never even met him, and that boy just amazes me! I know what you mean about the quiet– but I am so happy for you that you had this alone time with him… sounds like that little prayer was just what you needed. thanks for sharing!

  8. Love you.

  9. A God-sized hug from your best friend, and from your son. Not a bad way to live a Tuesday. Praying new mercies on your head, friend. I may reach out and touch someone today. That is if I can get a new phone. Apple is on the respirator—not keeping a charge. Yeah, enough about you. It was time to change the subject to me. 😉 xxxooo

  10. Yep…that was something God wanted me to hear today! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Good grief, Charlie Brown.

    Just got done reading Amber’s post which already left me with tears….NOW I’m just one big pile of mascara. Thanks for that.

    But most importantly….thanks for your honesty. Thanks for often putting into words what we all sometimes feel. Thanks for the encouragement. Oh and thank that Whimzie girl too….

  12. What precious words from a precious child of God – made perfect for what God would call him to do. I often forget that about my own sondue to his struggles that I simply cannot understand…it’s easy to worry about what could happen, what might happen, and not think about the joy in the here and now. Thank you for this beautiful reminder. Kiss that precious Travis for me…I hope to remember this post for a long time to come! 🙂

  13. Thank you!
    Thank you!
    Thank you!
    This was just the reminder I needed.
    You bless me!

  14. A great post. Been feeling like just pulling the covers over my head the past two days…thanks for this today.

  15. {sigh} And once again it takes a child . . .
    Thanks for bein’ “different”

    Just sayin’

  16. Thank you for being so honest! I’m having a day like your post. I started listing what my month has been like and decided I did not want to contaminate your comment thread. I’m sitting here so thankful for so much. All the junk has made it easy to forget that.

    A piece of advice I think of often…” we need to be careful of our thought life”. My thoughts carry me to not so great places.

  17. God is so very, very good. And He’s on the throne, taking care of all my tomorrows, while at the same time, pulling me through today.

    I love your family.

  18. What a blessing to be reminded! Thanks for sharing and reminding us.

  19. God is working through you for good. Your hands. His will. Big hug to you.

  20. So much has been said here…but just know that I hope we can chat soon…I’ve been having some of those days that sent me to the doc who probably wanted to send me to the funny farm…you give me a sense welcomeness and understanding that I so need right now, so thank you.

    Love you, Sus.

  21. Tears once again as I read…. God knows just exactly how to visit our lonely hearts with a burst of joy, sometimes in the most unusual ways or through where/whom we least expect it.
    Miss you!!

  22. Susie,
    Thanks for reminding us to take one day at a time. Your post reminded me of a prayer I used to keep on my shaving mirror: “Lord, there is nothing going to happen today that you and I together cannot handle.” I appreciate your posts!

Leave a Reply

