10 on the 12th

one

10 Things I Did This Weekend

….in addition to  forgetting Meredith’s 10 on the 10th…..

…and finding a new formatting button in my blog editor that REALLY MAKES THINGS BIG….

(Thanks, Meredith, for hosting, and sorry I’m late!

___________________________________________

1.  I attended my first BBQ competition.

2.  I got lost attending my first BBQ competition.

3.  I loaded bikes into the back of the car, drove to school, unloaded said bikes, then discovered the bike safety certification event had been cancelled five minutes before we arrived. Loaded the bikes back into the car without swearing.

4.  Filled out papers for a pet adoption.  Hopefully tomorrow you’ll get to meet him – we’re very excited to have him join our family.

Remind me that I said that the first time he scratches the furniture, ‘kay?

5.  Watched my son’s football team get shellacked.

In the rain.

6. Ate comfort pizza to erase the pain.

In the dry.

7.  Went to church.

After 32 years of loving Jesus and reading the Bible, I can summarize Revelation in this way:  The train’s coming.  No one knows when.  You want to be on it.

Or bad things happen.

The end.

8.  Won a parenting award.  Lost a parenting award.

9.  Against my better judgement, took up a new crocheting hobby.

10.  Gave up crocheting twenty minutes after starting.

Have a nice day.

24 responses to “10 on the 12th

  1. Um … what’s with #8? You might have to explain that one. Oh, and #9 and 10 sound like my weekend. I decided to make book purses. I started by creating a cool logo for my etsy shop where I’ll sell them. Then I tried to make one. Now I’m trying to figure out how else I can use my super cool logo since I won’t be selling any of these. 🙂

  2. The Revelation summary…hilarious..and true. And..I may steal this from you one day.

    Crocheting..I only do baby blankets and scarves. No clothes, no hats, just rectangular things.

    Very interested in finding out about your pet adoption. My dog is a rescue dog. He was 4 when we got him. No scratches.

    Very fun talking with you yesterday.

    Thanks for the laughs this morning, I must leave now and go work out. I don’t want to.

  3. I think you’ll need to explain further #4 and #8. I can’t wait to hear!!

  4. I loved your Revelation synopsis : )

    A new pet…good luck with that!

  5. Please tell me you didn’t give in to the mouse/rat situation!

  6. you want to be on it, indeed.

    fabulous 10. well done!

  7. A pet, really? You’ll have plenty of blog fodder from now on. I guarantee it.

  8. comfort pizza, Kirk H., whatever works (My husband’s an Aggie, so I had to do the comforting last weekend, to make up for the hog calling. Hee hee)

  9. A new pet AND crocheting! Are you losing your mind? Because if you are not, you will soon! Kitty? Doggie? What is it???

  10. Good for you for not swearing about the bike situation.

    Although that Barleycorn cat may have you swearing in no time. Just sayin’.

  11. I could never hold still a minute to take up crocheting or knitting. And I applaud you for the twenty minues…
    The bike ordeal would have me cussing… ’nuff said. 🙂
    I have been looking over the posts on your blog and find you a refreshing read. Thanks!
    Rosey

  12. Love, LOVE the Revelation summery!! We have people in the church writing letters for those “left behind.” I make fun of them daily.

    A pet? Really? Am I gonna be the last holdout?

  13. Well, I read #7 to Steve & he realized he won’t even need to teach for the next 18 weeks! However, he’s chomping at the bit to get back, so you will have to put up with him next Sunday if you are there.
    What kind of pet will it be? No clues?

  14. I’m interested in hearing about the win and loss of your parent award! 🙂

  15. Loved your list! So happy for you that you won a parenting award. . . even sadder for you that you lost it . . . pretty much sums up my parenting skills:) YAY for pizza. .. . in the dry. . . to ease and soothe pain. . .

  16. Oh, don’t give up crochet! Be mediocre, like me! I have completed 2 whole washcloths. My dtr’s volleyball team has an unwinning season so far, too. Drat. But hey, pizza is good for celebrating or commiserating, no?

  17. I am guessing that the won & lost parenting award was bestowed by Mr. CPQ. Am I right? And if you continue crocheting, you can make yourself a nice poncho for those rainy football games. You may have a few more years of rainy games in your future 😉 (said with an evil grin and damp memories of wet metal bleachers)

  18. I’ve always wanted to know the best way to put Revelation in to words…thanks for the PERFECT summation…

    Excited for your newest member…

    Sounds like a pretty ding dang good weekend!

  19. Loved the Revelation synopsis!

    I’m wondering about #8, too.

    I think about crocheting every now and then — but that’s as far as it goes. I have so many things to do with the hobby-related stuff I have now that I don’t need to take up another one. Plus I don’t really think I could produce neat, even stitches, and that would so frustrate me.

  20. My dad is a bottom line kind of guy. I think he might let you substitute teach for him 😉

    About #8: Me too! Me too! All within 3 minutes flat

  21. Love your summation of Revelation!

  22. Don’t throw in the towel…er, yarn…on crocheting just yet! It really can be fun. And any stitch you’re struggling with, you can just look it up on you tube. I taught myself to crochet a couple of years ago (thank you, Library instruction books and You Tube). Now my husband and three older kids each have hats handmade my me, and I have a sense of accomplishment…oh, and a lot of leftover yarn.

  23. Great post, by the way. You know you had 10 on the 8th, too. 🙂

  24. We haven’t experienced the thrill of victory this soccer season. Oh, well. We’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

