Good Eats

One of my favorite shows on the Food Network is Good Eats.  It has been instrumental in helping me learn why food does what it does when I cook it (you know, burn and boil over), and the low-budget props are good for a snort laugh or two.

FYI – Alton Brown’s recipe for The Chewy is the best recipe I’ve ever used for a chocolate chip cookie.

I’ve been cooking a lot of good eats lately since the weather has started to change.  In the last couple of weeks, I’ve made non-boxed macaroni and cheese, roasted butternut squash, and black bean chili.  Yesterday the temperature took a downward turn toward cold and drizzly, and I didn’t feel like getting out to the store to do my weekly grocery shopping, so I went scrounging through the freezer and pantry for inspiration.

I try to keep three or four bags of chopped, cooked chicken in the freezer so I can throw together chicken tacos, casseroles, burritos, or soup.  I also keep cans of beans in the pantry because they’re inexpensive, tasty, and nutritious.

They’re also a great way to get fiber into my boys who’d rather eat Lucky Charms than Mini-wheats.

With chicken and beans in hand, I pulled together fridge stuff that I tend to keep and made one of our family favorites, White Chicken Chili.

To those of you who have tried and love my black bean chili, you’ll equally love this one.  It has great flavor and spice, and if you have the chicken already in your freezer, it comes together in 20 minutes.

White Chicken Chili

2 cans of small white beans (I use great northern or cannellini)

3 (4 ounce) cans diced mild green chilies, drained

1 cup shredded monterrey jack cheese

2-3 cups of chopped, cooked chicken

1 onion, diced

1 stick butter

1/3 cup flour

3 cups of chicken broth

1 cup half and half

1 teaspoon Tabasco sauce

2 teaspoons chili powder

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon white pepper

In a heavy deep skillet or large pot, saute onion in the olive oil.  When softened, remove from pan and set aside.

Melt the stick of butter in the pan and whisk in the flour, stirring for about three minutes.

Add back in sauteed onion, then gradually add chicken broth and half and half.

Bring mixture to a boil, then back off to a simmer, stirring occasionally for 5 minutes or until thickened.

Stir in Tabasco, dry spices, green chilies, beans, and chicken.  Stir gently to combine, then drop in cheese, stirring to melt.

Simmer mixture over moderately low heat for about fifteen minutes so flavors will blend.

I serve it with corn bread muffins, but my kids who hate cornbread (I have failed as a Southern mother) eat it with Tostitos Scoops.

Sigh.

Have a nice day.

P.S. I’ve been bread making a lot lately, but still haven’t found THE recipe that I want to make over and over.  Do you have a favorite bread recipe that has a link?  Would you mind leaving it in the comments if you do?

23 responses to “Good Eats

  1. that sounds yummy! i will try that one. but really, you had half and half on hand?? i have pumpkin spice creamer. maybe i should be making french toast casserole instead of chili! (hint–using flavored coffee cream instead of milk or half and half in those french toast recipes tastes great!)

  2. Yummy. . . thanks for sharing. I’m going to add this on my list for meals next week. For bread recipes here is one I posted http://mamainhighheels.blogspot.com/2009/01/little-red-hen.html . . . just scroll to the bottom of the post. We love to slice it, warm it in the oven and drizzle honey on it.

  3. I have a very similar recipe except mine doesn’t call for half and half. I’ll definitely be adding some of that to mine next time. You can never go wrong with cream and I always have half and half in my frig. What is coffee without it?

  4. Oh, The Chewy. How I love thee…I was craving those last night, but had no eggs. Sigh. That is my absolute favorite cookie.
    We are huge Good Eats fans here. Love the Mac n’ Cheese recipe.
    I’ve got black beans that I soaked last night. I am going to try the BB soup recipe and I’m printing out the chicken chilli one too!
    For bread: we’ve been using the Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day recipe. Its pretty good. I like the idea of making a large batch of dough at the beginning of the week and making fresh bread. It isn’t loaf style, more like what you’d get at a restaurant.

  5. Your recipe sounds delicious – I’ll have to try it.

    We love Alton too!

  6. I have always wanted to make white chili …and I love your idea of freexing cut up chicken.

    I make homemade bread and dough….but I just throw my own thing together(I’m a crazy cook). My key ingredient….sugar. My mom’s key ingredient…crisco. She swears by it. Her dough is yummy.

  7. Okay…so we know that I don’t cook. But you inspire me, Mrs. CPQ you. So I might just have to try your chili, ma’am. But…only for me and the husband. The children…they’ll be eating Lucky Charms and BlueBox. Because I’m an excellent parent.

  8. Many a fond memory of showing up at Casa de CPQ after a long trip to find The Chewy being baked. And I believe my first view of Alton was at your house as well. A man after my own heart, combining two of my favorite things … science and food.

    Isn’t one of Baby A’s favorites things the mayard reaction? (And don’t all good tasty things come from caramelization?) He might enjoy Alton’s newest book:
    http://www.amazon.com/Good-Eats-Early-Alton-Brown/dp/1584797959

  9. Maillard reaction…Baby A would know that it’s named after a French chemist.

  10. You had me at “1 stick of butter.” 🙂

    I also am still looking for “the best” bread recipe.

  11. Yum yum yum-o. Sounds delish. We’re having a chili cook-off at our block party this weekend!

  12. We love Good Eats at our house, too. Did you watch the 10 year special?
    Maybe your boys will be biscuit people. There are cornbread people and biscuit people. :>)

  13. I seriously heart Alton! He has THE BEST HOT COCOA recipe!! I made it this weekend. Made marshmallows last night and it drove away the blues on the VERY RAINY DAY!!!

  14. White chicken chili is my all time favorite soup!!!

    Miss you, friend!

  15. Had this waiting for me in the crockpot when I got home today. Shredded monterey jack cheese and a slice of avacado on top with a side of tortilla chips. MMMMMM!
    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/11/salsa-chicken-and-black-bean-soup.html

    This time a was running short on canned black beans, so I used 1 can black beans and 1 can great northern beans. This is great to throw together in the morning before I head out the door. The chicken was still frozen, the only thing I chopped was the mushrooms since they needed to be disguised in the finished product.
    Maybe I will eat just a little more before I get into bed.:)

  16. Must try the chili!!

    Ok, my kid is OBSESSED w/ Alton Brown and Good Eats (y’know he lives in Atlanta) and is CONSTANTLY in the kitchen critiquing my non-Alton habits…like tonight, we made cupcakes, and we should NOT use liners b/c it makes them taste waxy…never bothered me before…

    Great show, though!

  17. Love Alton. Glad I already bought the ingredients for this chili.

  18. Also ready for you to guinea pig us a good bread recipe! 😉

  19. tried tex mex butternut squash soup from Southern Living….LOVED IT….

  20. I’ll just fall on my prepared, boxed, frozen and freeze-dried sword right now.

  21. Here’s my very favorite bread recipe, the one I make over and over. It’s actually for rolls (garlic cheese rolls) but it’s the recipe the family begs for.
    http://queenofthecastlerecipes.blogspot.com/2008/10/garlic-cheese-rolls.html
    I also have a good French bread recipe that I make a lot. Let me know if you want that one. Happy baking (and eating)!

  22. Pingback: OCD or Hoarding with Sus « Carpoolqueen’s Blog

Leave a Reply

