The wheels on the bus go ’round and ’round without me

We’re on Day 3 of round the clock Motrin dosing at Casa de Carpool, and other than moodiness, listlessness, and feeling generally cranky all the time, life goes on as usual.

But enough about me.

Travis is on the mend (no fever today!) and taking the whole “get out of school” thing waaaay too well.  I’m not looking forward to the meltdown on Monday when the crushing reality of having to go all day without laying on the couch, remote in hand, eating Count Chocula by the fistful hits him like a ton of bricks.

The other two boys haven’t caught it yet and were healthy enough to go on a field trip today that I was supposed to be chaperoning.  I usually go on all the field trips with the boys because A) I need to butter up the teachers, and B) I need to butter up the teachers.  Today’s field trip was going to be a fun one to a place I’ve never been before and haven’t been able to talk Mr. CPQ into getting excited about it, but alas, it is not to be.

And I was really looking forward to four hours in a charter bus with sixty kids and one bathroom.

Instead, I’m going to stay home today and think about the squirrels that are going to be killed any minute now.  Trapper Dan, M.D. was out here yesterday discussing our less-than-resolved situation and told me he was moving to Phase Two of our eradication solution.  Apparently this solution is rather terminal for the juvies in the attic.

I hope they’ve enjoyed that last meal of insulation and wallboard.

Speaking of meals, I’m on vacation for meals the next two nights.  Our two college babysitters are home for the weekend and each texted me their availability on Friday and Saturday, so Mr. CPQ and I will enjoy the rare opportunity of back to back date nights where we spend quality time wandering the grocery store together.  Our boys L-O-V-E our babysitters and will enjoy having someone at the house who can actually beat them at Wii.

I still can’t walk and chew gum when it comes to video games.  I gave up at Pac-Man.

If we get finished at the grocery store and still have time, I’m going to try and talk Mr. CPQ into taking me to the fair so I can get my obligatory ear of corn and funnel cake and not have a Class A freakout riding the Ferris Wheel and all the rickety rides I have to go on with the kids enjoy the atmosphere.

Since I can’t figure out a way how to end this rambling post and tie everything together in a nice neat package with a bow, I’m just going to say “Happwii Trailways to flu until we meet again.”

Have a nice day.


11 responses to “The wheels on the bus go ’round and ’round without me

  1. “eating Count Chocula by the fistful”

    You’re welcome.

  2. I *hate* the Ferris wheel.

    hate.it.

  3. Have fun on your date nights! Sounds divine. 🙂

  4. Will you try the latest fair food?

    Chocolate Covered Bacon.

  5. What a week and now you get to have two date nights. God is good! 🙂

    Ok…..the first part of the comment was “nice”. Now I’ll admit it. I’m jealous!!!

  6. Did Kellie really just say “chocolate covered bacon”?

    Now I can’t remember what I was going to write in this box because of that. Shudder. Double shudder. And a big N.A.S.T.Y.

  7. Bacon? And chocolate? Two of my favorite foods, ever. But I don’t think I could eat them together. Maybe hand over fist, but not in the same exact bite. Glad Travis is on the mend and that you have some hubba hubba time in the grocery store.

  8. oh a girl after my own heart..I want to go the fair w/ my hubby too!! For Kiwanis Bingo and a “Kawn Dawg” as they say down here…i’m drooling just thinking about it…

    My hubby and I are laughing out loud over your “juvies in the attic” (a VC Andrews follow-up?!).

    Glad T is feeling better…plus, you get 2 nights w/ Mr. King of CPQ (ha!)

  9. Oh my….I need to catch up on my blog reading. I’m sorry that you are not feeling well!!

  10. VC Andrews follow-up! That Tiffani cracks me up. I can’t wait to hear what you guys ended up doing.

  11. Glad to know there are other moms out there who are video game challenged.

    Enjoy two back to back date nights!!!

    And glad that Travis is better.

Leave a Reply

