Down for the count

I caught someone’s cold virus and spent most of today curled up in the fetal position, stirring only to reach for the thermometer and the Halloween-themed box of Puffs tissues.  In between naps, I watched a lot of  quality TV, and by “quality” I mean  an E! Television documentary on rock star wives.

Gripping, let me tell you. I haven’t seen that much silicone since I toured the Rubbermaid plant.

I did leave my room for 10 minutes to find the phone and call my mother.  Not that she can do anything from 1,500 miles away, but there’s just something about hearing her ask if I’ve gargled that makes me feel better.

What makes you feel better when you’re sick?

Have a nice day.

29 responses to “Down for the count

  1. Sad, sad stuff CPQ.
    I’d bring you some soup if I possibly could. Moping around and a good pity party always makes me feel better. 😉

  2. Soup and sleep! But too often, I get neither…

  3. Hope you feel better soon.

    A comfy blanket, a good bowl of soup and everyone waiting on me hand and foot usually does the trick.

  4. How very much I’ve missed mom the last 12 yrs. I’ve been gone!!! especially when I’m sick. I call, too.

  5. I’m so sorry you’re sick. I have one down with the flu now and am waiting to see when I catch it. I hope all the boys are able to go to school today so you can stay home and hide under the blankets without hearing “mom” every 10 minutes. i’ll say a prayer.

  6. George Clooney movies.

    And then pretend like he’s the one asking if you gargled.

    Feel better, Sus. Sucks to be sick.

  7. Definitely recommend GNC brand zinc lozenges for everything, at the first sign of “whatever” & continuing throughout. They are the only ones I’ve found that don’t leave that yucky taste in the mouth. They taste kind of like Sweet Tarts & are so palatable that even G.’s kids like them. They are $9.99 at GNC for a box & worth every penny. Hope you are feeling lots better really soon!

  8. HMM..what makes me feel better?? When my children let me be sick in peace. The oldest usually takes over and runs things while I sleep and have my pity party.

    I’m so sorry you are sick. Praying for you.

    GNC is now on my errand list.

  9. I hope you feel human again soon.
    I feel better if I have hot shower, drink tea, read trashy mags, and eat oranges.

  10. McDonald’s cheeseburgers.

    When I was at home sick as a kid, my Dad would stop by during is lunch to check on me and bring me a cheeseburger from McDonald’s.

    I credit the trace amounts of steroids in that meet with my overactive immune system today.

    • This illness has obviously got me in a puny mess because this comment made me cry and ALMOST want to go to McDonald’s.

      Comment of the Day award goes to Brian.

  11. Vicks vapor rub.
    when I was little my mom used to rub it on and tie a sock around my neck……yeah we don’t use the sock treatment nowadays….but I still love the Vicks.
    feel better soon.

  12. Oh my goodness, I thought I was the only one subjected to the sock around the neck with Vicks treatment.

    Feel better soon, my fine feathered friend. Does it help you to know I’ll be singing James Taylor all day thanks to your visit to my FB page? 🙂

    Thank goodness it’s a good song.

    Trashy TV cures what ails me, as well. And you’re right. A sympathetic ear helps. I had a very stereotypically sounding friend who was from the east coast and happened to be Jewish. I took great pleasure in the times when I was sick with morning sickness for David and she’d tsk and say, “You poor thing!!!” Nothing like it. Validation.

  13. Whenever I’m sick I crave coke and salty chips….Lay’s to be exact. Always.

    Hope you feel better quickly.

  14. Sleep and my dad. Alas, my dad is gone three years now and it really sucks worse to be sick. Seriously.

  15. I have a quilt from my childhood. It needs requilting, but it sure keeps me comfy when I’m sick now. (we had a icky weekend, too)

  16. I hope you are feeling better today!

    A cup of hot tea always makes me feel better, preferably Lemon Lift by Bigelow teas. It smells wonderful, feels good on a sore throat, and it reminds me of having a cup of tea with my mom.

  17. Sorry you’re puny…

    My Mama helps sho nuff…tv, sweet tea and sleep…

    Feel better soon!

  18. Yuck…I hope the ickiness passes quickly!

  19. In the words of the great Snoopy, “Blecch.”

    I’m sorry you’re sick. I hope you’re not so sick that you can’t get just a little pleasure from allowing yourself to do the minimum possible. I guess I should preface that with I hope you’re only doing the minimum.

  20. GNC’s Ultra-Zinc Lozenges, Orange Flavor – at the first sign of a sore throat definitely help me. Hall’s cough drops in Honey-Lemon, too. Growing up, my mom used to make us milkshakes when we were sick (just Neopolitan ice cream in a blender) , which is funny, because as an adult I avoid milk products when I have a cold…they taste funny.

  21. I saw on twitter that you were sick. Bummer!

    My sin routine involves a favorite blanket that I’ve had since I was 10 and a whole stack of favorite movies: Beauty & Beast (the Disney version) and the whole Anne of Green Gables series.

  22. Not fun at all! Hope you feel much better soon!

  23. Being left alone and lots of sleep are my two favorites.

    You. must. be. better. 100%. by. Saturday.

  24. Lydia Stevenson

    That’s funny Brian, my daddy took his lunch break( work wasn’t far away he was a pastor and we lived in the parsonage close by) and brought me Sonic. It’s funny when I get sick I crave Sonic #2 cheeseburger. Not a difficult thing in the States but most of the time we live in Poland, so I miss the burgers, and my Dad & Mom when I am sick. Praying for you Sus, I would suggest Amy’s white popcorn, please come get my bowlful that I am eating right now !

  25. So sorry you are sick! Hope you are starting to feel better after hopefully getting a full day to rest up. I always feel better after being “left alone” to do the trashy TV thing in bed in my favorite pjs. The McD’s or really any fast food brought over by Mom helps out at lunch too – i think for me it was mostly about the super salty french fries and giant Diet coke, but it always tastes so good! Rest up and will say a prayer you feel better fast. There’s really no “off day” for a mom, is there???!!!

  26. I’m so sorry! Hear me out….Vicks on the soles of your feet with warm, soft socks & a People magazine. Hang in there.

  27. Sleep always makes me feel better. . . and hugs. . .and visits or calls from Mom. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  28. I call my mom to whine when I am sick. I also love a freshly made up bed with cool sheets and quilt. Hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

