Morning has broken

We have two kinds of people in this house.  The early risers and the “it’s too early to rise”ers.  I happen to fall into the latter category.

I’m sure it does not surprise you in the least to discover that Mr. CPQ belongs to the former.

Two of the boys have taken after their father.  It’s not unusual to hear Baby B headed down the hallway at 5 a.m., and Baby C wakes up and immediately reaches for a nearby Lego and starts his day CHEERFULLY and ENERGETICALLY and with LOTS OF WORDS.

I now know why tigers eat their young.

But my sweet Baby A?

This morning at the breakfast table as I sat nursing the first life breathing cup of coffee and he stared blankly at his growing increasingly soggy bowl of Cap’n Crunch, he said “Mom, you know why I don’t like to get up in the morning?  I’m just too weak.”

Amen, honey.

Amen.

Have a nice day.

23 responses to “Morning has broken

  1. Me, too! Sadly, I think my children are in the early riser camp. They are also in the night owl camp.

  2. Forgot to mention this morning’s exchange:

    Me: Buddy, it’s best to stay in your seat until you finish breakfast.
    Boy: No, I’ve got to DANCE!

  3. I think most kids start out as the early risers. Just wait til they hit the age of 12 on. You’ll be lucky to pull those boys out of bed if the house was one fire.

  4. That’s me. K4 is currently galloping around the house…K2 just ran through the kitchen…K3 is singing…

    K1 and I are looking at each other, wondering where all the energy is coming from.

  5. And while you’re hitting your stride at 3 p.m., I’m nursing a Diet Dr. Pepper, and wondering why I still have to cook dinner. Because I’m fairly done by then.

  6. Baby A is definitely your Mini Me.

  7. LOL He cracks me up.

  8. I have a weak one as well. A heating pad and hot chocolate help him to regain his strength in time to get on the bus in the morning!

  9. Loved this! Especially knowing why tigers eat their young, LOL! Most of them do learn the value of sleeping in by the time they’re teens. When the pendulum swings the other way it creates other problems, but I do love my quiet mornings.

  10. I’m with Gretchen.

    And I LOVE Diet Dr. Pepper.

  11. Oh, I am so happy I am not the only one. Yes, we can get up early if we have to, BUT YOU CAN’T MAKE US BE HAPPY ABOUT IT!

  12. I feel your pain. Neither my son nor I are good risers. My daughter however is EXTREMELY CHEERFUL about mornings which has led to many a ‘disagreement’ in our home. This morning it was about who had the most syrup on thier toaster waffle. My thoughts? WHO SAID THEY COULD HAVE SYRUP??!!

  13. In my house it used to be get up early or get left behind. That worked real well until my son reached High School and now getting left behind would be prefered. Now if only life would just respond to “Hang on I’ll be there in a minute”

    Amy

  14. I laughed out loud! I feel like Baby A every morning! My kids are grown but my Baby A was up by five, always. I remember lots of bleary-eyed mornings. My Baby B, not so much!

  15. As my FB flair says so eloquently:

    IF PEOPLE WERE MEANT TO POP OUT OF BED, WE’D ALL SLEEP IN TOASTERS

  16. I’m with ya.

    They say the early bird gets the worm, but the night watchman keeps the bird from getting shot.

    Two cheers for the night watchman.

  17. Amen and amen and amen….

    I’m ok if I get it get up when I want which isn’t even late but there’s just something about that alarm clock going off that makes me hurt and whine and moan! UGH!

    Amen.

  18. My husband and I are exactly this same way. He’s been going to the gym at like 5:30 am. So, I guess that just makes me the lazy one who can’t get her butt out of bed before 7:45. Mornings are not my friend.

    Nice to meet you last weekend at the blogger dinner! Looking forward to following your blog. And maybe I’ll see you in Sunday School class now! 🙂

  19. I know exactly what you mean! I can’t drag myself from the bed before 9 on the weekends without a tow truck. But my 2 youngest are up & at ’em around 7…..thank heaven’s for my awesome husband!

  20. LOVE IT! The weakness – I feel it, too. That is why we have coffee.

    My girl is the early riser and the rest of us, son and dad included are late sleepers. She is often up before the sun (almost 9 yo) by herself. She seems to be okay with that, though and sometimes brings me breakfast. It’s a good deal.

  21. He’s singing my song.

  22. I really want to say how much I like Baby Boy A, but I’m too distracted by the fact under the “possibly related posts” section just under your post one of the titles was dropping an F bomb!

Leave a Reply

