Ranger Rick Safety Tip

Don’t turn your back on your KitchenAid mixer while it’s kneading.

It may be sneaky on you and decide to walk across the counter and make a headfirst dive onto the floor.

And damage the Pergo.

And bend the bowl.

It will not, however, break the mixer.

And the bread will still be delicious.

It’s all about looking on the bright side….

Have a nice day.

20 responses to “Ranger Rick Safety Tip

  1. Good to know! I leave my KAM on the counter unsupervised all the time!

  2. I think you need a strategically placed throw rug.

  3. OK, I stopped reading at “damage the Pergo”

    … and began to softly weep, knowing the number of hours it took for us to install that floor.

    I guess I have about a week to comb through the Google search results for “how to repair Pergo.”

    • Dear Imnotned,

      Mr. CPQ wept too, until he remembered you were coming here next week and then it was tears of joy that he would have someone to help him fix it.

      I promise to bake cookies – the chewy kind – and I’ll mix them by hand.

      Outside.

      Fortunately it’s in an “end board”…close to the cabinet base…

  4. I’m guessing that scene didn’t make it into the Pergo commercial.

  5. Oh you poor thing! I was so impressed that you were actually baking your own bread that I had to read twice to find why you needed a bright side. My mouth is watering!

  6. Oh, my goodness! I, too, have an unsupervised KAM on my counter. Good thing that usually it’s dusty for lack of use. It’s almost 20 years old, though, so my days are prolly numbered in the “staying on the counter where it belongs” category.

  7. Just the fact that you own a KitchenAid and were making bread distracts me from the assault charges that Perg is probably pressing at this very minute. If you didn’t clean him regularly he might have a case. BUT… overall the creator rule of “Perg, I brought you into this world and I can take you out.” probably applies….

    Guess in the future I should FINISH my cup of morning coffee before I comment.

  8. I am so sorry about your floor!

    My husband rescued my errant KAM from the same fate just a couple of weeks ago. I was tapping away happily at my computer and he walked over and asked me if I WANTED my KAM walking across the counter and falling on the floor. I need a leash for it or something.

    I broke something on mine this week too. I need a new paddle now. I was using a metal measuring cup to pour in flour and I lost control of it, letting it hit the paddle. Measuring cup and flour went flying… as well as a chunk of white coating from the paddle. I am so bummed. But, on the bright side, the cookies were delicious and paddle coating free. 🙂

  9. Those types of thing give the floor “character”
    Happy the bread was saved!
    just sayin’

  10. Good to know. And kind of sad, but at least you have a husband who can fix it. Is that wrong of me? Poor Jack…

  11. I had no idea they would take a walk! I need to remember that of course I’m just usually making cookies in mine..not so much bread. In my house I’d be much happier that it was the floor and not the KAM..you see my dear husband would fix the floor but I’m not so sure he’d spring for a new KAM..and since that’s one of my favorite things I’d be so sad not to have one! Good luck with the floor fixing!

  12. Look on the bright side….LOVE IT! 😉

  13. I feel your pain. Mine does walk a little with heavy dough, but I’ve also had mine for almost 30 years, and it is still going strong. You CAN”T kill them!!

  14. Wow. I thought is was too heavy to walk… good to know, because I leave mine unattended every time I use it. Sorry about the floor. Character is always good.

    Homemade bread? Totally worth it!

  15. I have to give a big shout out to the KAM for takin’ a lickin’ and keepin’ on tickin’! I’m with Christen and say better the Pergo than the KAM…and Christen, since you have a damaged paddle, you must try a new paddle with the built in scraper!!! Genius!!!

  16. OH NO! As I was reading this, my jaw dropped further and further to the floor! So glad the damage wasn’t worse and the bread still turned out. Amazing! I’m glad to know that these mixers are prone to taking a walk. Now I will know not to leave mine unattended! My hardwood floor thanks you in advance! 🙂

  17. Oh, now that is good to know!

  18. I like that……looking on the bright side of things.

Leave a Reply

