In which I carboload and go shopping

This baking kick is getting out of control.  I made a couple of loaves Wednesday night and decided that the only way to avoid eating them both by myself was to set one aside to take to Kellie’s house on Thursday.  We were getting together for lunch, and she always cooks something and I always show up empty handed like a total leech and just sit at the table and watch her cook, then I eat and run and leave all the dishes.

It works well for me.

Anyway, I was all proud of myself to be taking her some bread (even though it was white bread and not all healthy or crunchy), and I walked in the door and I immediately spied these sweet rolls under the glass dome of her cake pedestal and I asked, “What bakery did you get these from?” and, of course, she MADE THEM and I felt inadequate over my little loaf of white bread, but I soldiered on and drowned those feelings of inadequacy with two bowls of her fideo (chicken noodle) soup.

pandulce

And then, because she’s the Coffeegal, we had coffee from her mack daddy Keurig (Swiss Chocolate Almond for me, Pumpkin Spice for her) to accompany our dessert rolls (which were FANTASTIC), and we may or may not have added half a cup of French Vanilla creamer to our mugs and we retired to the living room where we put up our feet and talked about how much we wished we lived next door to each other just a little closer so we could do this every day more often.

After leaving Kel’s and hightailing it back home to pick up the boys from school, we made our way to Kmart because Travis has been obsessed with buying a Skarloey train and with the latest bounty that the Tooth Fairy left for him this week, he finally had enough cash saved to go a-purchasing.  I decided while we were there to go ahead and knock out some Christmas presents for my niece and nephews, so I cut the boys loose in the toy section and told them to bring me what they thought their cousins would want.

No agonizing, no wondering if it was going to be the right thing.  I bought it, and if it’s not right, I’ll blame the boys.

I did nix the 12 pack of lip gloss that they wanted to buy for my 8 year old niece.  I want my sister-in-law to be on speaking terms with me in the new year, and something tells me that 12 glass tubes of sticky gloss rolling around in her car and in her house wasn’t going to cut it.

Besides, you know what they say about paybacks.

Have a nice day.

19 responses to “In which I carboload and go shopping

  1. What? Kmart? I thought your son was Target obsessed?

    You and Kellie have too much fun together. I want to crash your next luncheon.

  2. You can bake bread. So impressy.

    I, however, am a master at eating bread. Also impressy.

  3. Why can’t I live closer to Kellie?? Or you, you baking goddess you… for white bread and sweet rolls are just what the Dr. ordered for the sick girl’s mama.

  4. I just started baking bread, too. It’s a love/hate kind of thing.
    I do wish I knew your son wanted to get a Skarloey! I’m sure we have more than one running around here since autism leads to multiples of duplicate toys.

  5. I love lunches like that. God gives us friends to enjoy. And breadmachines. ha! So, what did you buy 8 year old niece? I have a 9 year old niece that wants lip gloss, nail polish and a DS game. I went for it. But it was just one tube of lip gloss. I don’t know what Skarloey is, but I hope I don’t find out when someone asks for one on December 22nd and claims it’s the only toy he’s ever wanted in his whole life.

  6. The bread looks so yummy. I love your idea of letting the boys get the gifts. . . I’m gonna steal that one. . . like you said, no worries about getting the wrong thing . . .just blame it on the kids. Good for you for putting the lipgloss back. Payback would have been bad! Have a great weekend!

  7. Hey, I’m on the hunt for a good chicken noodle soup recipe. (K4 has decided that it’s her favorite) Do you think Kellie would share hers?

    Good move on the lip gloss. My sister is going to wish she knew about the payback factor : )

  8. So wise on the lipgloss. So wise. 🙂

  9. Good think Travis hasn’t discovered Nordies, or the tooth fairy would have to be a bunch richer.

    Yes, take that sentence. Grammar and all.

    Glad you had lunch with K. Wish I were there to show up empty-handed, too.

  10. I got my King Arthur Flour catalog in the mail yesterday and I’ve been drooling every since. I want one of everything! One of everything to play with and one of everything to eat.

    http://www.kingarthurflour.com/
    http://www.averagemoreorless.wordpress.com

  11. Besides, you know what they say about paybacks.

    So, I guess I should return the three trebuchets I planned on giving the boys next week, eh?

  12. Thank you for making me laugh today! Stress level= code red.
    Maybe I need some of your carbs to soothe my stress…
    dessert roll for squishy baby?

  13. oh the lipgloss would’ve have been ok…it would’ve been 12 tubes of sparkly nail polish that would’ve created silence….

    Great idea, great looking food and YOU ARE A GREAT baker!! 🙂

  14. Lipgloss…ok.

    Anything powdery…NOT ok.

    Nail polish = WAR.

    Yeah, paybacks….my SIL once gave my daughter that annoying game with the battery operated quacking ducks. NO, NO, NO!

    So, the next year her daughter got a Sand Art kit from me. 🙂

  15. Well, as far as payback gifts, I still remember the game ‘Elefun’ from my then-childless sister in law. Patiently waiting to return the favor… I’m thinking this Birthday will be the day- been lying in wait for 11 years 😉

    By the way, I’m considering when I am RICH I shall design my own neighborhood. You and Kellie for sure will be relocating. (that’s not as creepy as it sounds, I hope)

  16. (Waking up from my Pan Dulce Coma)

    Getting ready to make some more…wanna come over?

  17. Everyone I know is baking bread these days! I think I might have to give it a try. It seems hard. Is it hard? Baking always messes with me because it has to be so exact. Not just a little of this and a little of that.

  18. The smell of those lipglosses always makes me gag (along with eggplant). As the mother of 2 daughters, I agree that lipgloss is forgivable. Body spray is not, speaking from experience.

    I’ll make whatever it takes to get invited to the next coffee/ lunch get together. Might not be edible, but we’ll pretend.

  19. Good call on the lipgloss! Although, that’s better than nail polish! 😀

    I will happily eat your white bread anytime.!

Leave a Reply

