And in other news…

1.  I’ve been trying to figure out the modern equivalent of a cubit and sourcing local supplies of gopher wood.  It has been raining BUCKETS for 36 hours straight, and today’s forecast calls for more of the same.   The boys had a school holiday yesterday, and we enjoyed opening the garage door and the back door to let the glorious sound of falling rain fill the house.

It was a little chilly, but that didn’t deter Travis from heading outside, shucking his clothes, and enjoying a 53 degree shower.  He was one giant goosebump before it was all said and done, but the warm, fresh-from-the-dryer towel took care of the chills as did an apres-bath bowl of Lucky Charms.

2.  I wanted to clean house in preparation of weekend company, but my inability to say no circumstances beyond my control kept me from doing as much as I would have liked.  The nice thing is that this company won’t care because they’ve lived in close community with us for many years and I don’t feel any pressure to provide anything more than clean sheets and chips and dip.

Since it’s ImNotNed and his family, you can be sure that he’ll provide the laughs and any YouTube clips we’ll need.

3.  Speaking of needs, Mr. CPQ asked me to start thinking about what I might want for my upcoming big birthday.  I’m paralyzed by indecision.

4.  Did you know they make fried sushi?  And it’s delicious?

5.  We watched a little bit of the CMA’s last night and I think it’s safe to say that Mr. CPQ is over Shania Twain after seeing Carrie Underwood shake her groove thang.

And I’m over the indiscriminate use of self-tanners after seeing Wynona Judd.

Have a nice day.

 

 

 

16 responses to “And in other news…

  1. #3-how about a trip to Italy?

  2. There’d better be The Chewy involved somewhere, or I’m tellin’ K to turn this boat around (and I do mean boat, since we’re obviously headed into the CPQ storm. Both literally and figuratively, I guess.).

  3. There are so many of my friends having the big birthday this year! I don’t have any gift suggestions…but, I will tell you one of the superb blessings of this decade :

    When you encounter one of the “do I freak out about this or do I choose not to let it bother me” moments…for some reason, I find myself choosing the latter…and less of me freaking out is a good thing!

    Maybe I’ll see you paddling around town today!

  4. If there isn’t going to be The Chewy involved somewhere, I’m tellin’ K to turn this boat around right now. And I do mean boat, since we’re obviously headed into the CPQ storm. Both literally and figuratively.

  5. If it’s fried, is it still sushi?

  6. Carrie Underwood…yep. She seems to do that to grown men.

    Have a super fun weekend with NotNed and his crew. I’m sure the giggles and guffaws will be in large supply.

  7. I don’t know if you know this or not, but when a friend of mine turned 40 . . . she did 40 things she normally doesn’t get to do leading up to 40 days prior to her b-day. Some things were for herself. Some things were for others. She kept a journal. Some were big things, others were simple like her hubby took the kids fishing one morning so she could have the house to herself. . . one morning she drank a cup of coffee on her front porch. . . anyway, I thought this was such a great idea and 20 years from now when I hit 40 (ha!ha!) I’m going to do it.

    I already know one big thing I want to do . . . go on a hot air balloon ride . . . how cool would that be? You have to do something big though!!! Make it very worthwhile. I still think you should consider training for a marathon or even a 1/2 marathon to celebrate the big 4-0!

  8. ooohh, I love big birthdays. Well, the guilt free asking for stuff part of big birthdays.

    Yep, Love Carrie (and not just cuz of her name, haha) Was it just our TV or did anyone else think Taylor did not sound so good – both times?

    Just sayin’

  9. #1 I can SO see Travis doing this & love the idea! Those spontaneous moments are so great! That’s making lemonade out of the lemons of all this rain.

  10. Umm..I have to agree that Wynonna needs to step away from the self tanners..slowly but surely..step away sister….step away

  11. haha I’ve pretty much wasted my whole day trying to make a Christmas/bday list for my hubby! 🙂 You should see the state of my house too, so it’s not like there’s nothing else I should be doing instead!

  12. I am totally stuck about the birthday thing, too! I have to decide before SUNDAY! Too much pressure!!!

  13. I thought the definition of sushi was “raw fish”
    Hmm… if it’s fried, then I might try it.
    Oh wait. I don’t like fish.

    I think sending you and a few of your dearest bloggy friends on a trip would be a great present from Mr. CPQ

  14. look at my sweet little carrot juice high heel wearin’ bestie up there encouragin’ you to run a race…she has that effect on people…hasn’t worked exactly on me yet…only a little 😉

    I know y’all are gonna have a great weekend and those are the BEST kinds of friends the ones that don’t care about the state of your house and only care about spending time w/ you!!

    ONLY 2 WEEKS TIL YOU COME SEE ME!!! WHOO HOO!

  15. So…I thought sushi was defined as “raw fish.” If it’s fried is it still sushi?

Leave a Reply

