Weekend Update

Other than my Sunday morning outing to church, I don’t think I left the house all weekend. I’m usually not that much of a homebody, but the mountains of laundry could  be ignored no longer.  I’m down to two loads left, and tackling them today.

Unless, of course, this morning’s training session leaves me without limb function.

I tried a new osso bucco recipe Saturday night, and despite the brief interlude in which we decided that discussing the composition and function of bone marrow might best be left for the science lab and not the dinner table,  we all enjoyed it thoroughly.

The boys have three days of school this week and then they’re done until January. To say they’re ready for break would be an understatement. I’ll be taking them traveling early in the month while Mr. CPQ stays behind to work and fund my hotel habit.  We have to be back in town mid-month for basketball tryouts for the spring season (new sport for them and new blog fodder for me).  I may head to DC for a quick trip to see the American History Museum that has reopened after a year long closure. After that we’ll be home because theoretically the house has to be decorated and cookies need to be made.

I’m also having a rather significant birthday and I need to mentally and emotionally prepare myself.

Speaking of preparing, I need to sign off and prepare for the day ahead.  We’re taking the boys to the Shriner’s circus this afternoon and I’m meeting a friend for coffee tonight, so if anything is going to be accomplished, it needs to happen in the next few hours.

Have a nice day.

17 responses to “Weekend Update

  1. I love that you just hop in the car and cruise around the country with the kids.

    You’re so brave.

    Or maybe just crazy.

  2. Well wadaya know. We didn’t even know that the AH museum had been closed for a year. It was back up and running in October. Whew!

    I’m so glad you get to travel, but I sure do miss you when you’re gone. (Looking forward to tonight!)

  3. SIX DAYS, SUS!!! 🙂

    What an AWESOME break the boys are getting!!! So excited we get to be a little part of it!

    I know it won’t surprise you, with me so limited in my foodie knowledge, that I’ve never even heard of the osso bucco you mentioned.

  4. “I may head to DC for a quick trip…”

    May? There is no “may”. There is only “will”.

  5. Are the boys homeschooled? Who gets over a month off unless you’re in college? Not heard of in Ohio I can tell ya!

    • Not homeschooled, we’re on a year-round/multi-track system that gives them breaks at odd times. This break is longer than usual because of weird adjustments they had to make to the schedule, so we’ll be off for a loooooong time. Look forward to Travels with Sus on the blog next month…..

  6. I love the idea of year-round school. Of course I work year-round so that may be part of it. I know my husband starts missing the kids by the end of the school year, but I also know he was more than ready for the new school year to begin. It just seems that smaller breaks year-round would be easier and more enjoyable.

  7. I like your school schedule…..I could use a month break myself 😉 I can’t seem to get anything done in Nov and Dec anyway. Happy travels!

  8. Ooooh, we’re going to be at my in-laws for Thankgiving, near DC. I wonder if I could convince a few to join me and take a little trip to see the newly opened museum? Thanks for the tip!
    Nice to see you yesterday in SS! 🙂

  9. Yay for travel! And circus’ and coffee with friends!

    Can’t wait to have some CPQ & Babies A, B, and C time over the holidays with some sugar cookies and hot cocoa.

    You’ve got a lot to look forward to in the next month!

  10. I’m looking forward to reading about your fun and exciting and comical travel adventures. Hope you get to sleep in some along the way!

  11. I’ve always wished my kids went to year around school so we could go on adventures during off-season. Lucky!!

  12. You’re so cool and laid back with all your traveling! 🙂 I guess you have year-round school? that’s cool – I always thought it was a much better idea . . . well except that I love camp . . .

    anyways, safe travels and I’m glad you got caught up on laundry – I literally have like 8 loads that are clean and waiting to be folded and put away. And now they’re very wrinkly. Whatever.

  13. Wow-osso bucco…I’ve never cooked it myself but I do love to eat it.

    I love a weekend at home being a homebody. Enjoy all your travels!

  14. Hope you have a great time & hope you WILL be around for some of the holiday season. I’ll miss you, too.

  15. We’re Air and Space fans ourselves – don’t miss it – it’s the best one!

  16. 6 weeks, huh? Jewels in YOUR crown. :0)

Leave a Reply

