This little light of mine…I’m gonna’ let it shine at the Mexican restaurant

Where we last left off, I was getting verbally accosted at a McDonald’s in Birmingham.  I would happily report that the rest of our drive to Louisiana was uneventful, but this is me we’re talking about and there was one slight little incident at the La Quinta in Vicksburg that shall hereafter be referred to as What Happens When Children Wake Up On Eastern Time In A Central Time Hotel.

Dear people in the room below us,

I meant to get a ground floor room, but they were sold out by the time we arrived.  I’m very sorry that my children exuberantly wanted to jump up and down on the floor when they discovered we were in the first hotel in three days that had the Disney Channel. 

At 4:45 in the morning.

In case you were wondering, the front desk clerk was appropriately stern. 

Signed,

The mother who had to shower and didn’t know her baby elephants were doing the happy dance

Since we were wide awake and really needed to get out of Dodge quickly before the people in the room below us woke up the second time, we hit the road early and pulled into Whimzie’s hometown around 11.  Her hometown is very familiar to me since it was my home away from home during college and grad school, so I told her I was going to run a few errands before meeting up with her to basically give her time to get some things done before we descended on her house with less than 24 hours’ notice.

At the top of my list was meeting up with another blogger who I met through Whimzie when her dad was going through physical therapy following his first surgery a year ago.  Candace was his therapist, and she wrote this blog post that was filled with such encouragement and truth, that even though I had never met her, I was immediately drawn to her lovely spirit.   

I facebooked her the day before showing up in town and asked if she had room in her schedule for lunch and several messages later, she’d picked the place and the time and we had firm plans.  I had forewarned her that I would have the crew with me and let me tell you, she is made of tough stuff because she got ringside seats to the full glory that is the Casa de Carpool.  JJ was ordering off the menu like he had plenty of practice, Tommy was talking her ear off about who knows what, and Travis decided that he would show her his drink-the-Sprite-through-the-straw-in-my-nose trick.

Nice.

She, of course, is too polite to mention all of that in her version of the encounterShe also is organized and knows where her memory stick is.  I, sadly, have still not found mine. Please go to her blog to see the pictures of the two of us and tell her how absolutely ADORABLE she is. 

And by the way, she’s pregnant and I think it’s a girl.  I’m usually right about these things.

Thanks, Candace, for taking time to  hang out with us.  It was a highlight of my trip. Next time, hopefully, the Sprite will go through the mouth and not the nose.

Have a nice day.

11 responses to “This little light of mine…I’m gonna’ let it shine at the Mexican restaurant

  1. Did they get any snow up there? We sure did down here! Bienvenue en Louisiane!

  2. Sounds like an entertaining show to me!

  3. Sounds like fun. The lunch I mean, not the 4:45 bit. When are you coming to the East Coast : )

  4. So I finally figured out where you are! I grew up in a small town not far from there and my husband probably knows Whimzy! Have fun and eat some LA food for me! 😀

  5. Highlight of my week for sure.

    And who says Sprite through the nose is any less acceptable than Sprite any other way?

  6. Ok, I did not know I had a friend who was such a star!!! I went over to Candace’s blog and the autograph cracked me up. Of course, I did not leave a comment…..you know me…..lurker! Anway, glad you were safe in the McD’s. A reminder that Jesus is always with us. Enjoy the rest of your trip. That is, if you are still traveling.

  7. It sounds like you’re having an interesting trip! I bet you passed right through my town in Louisiana! I’m going to go check out her blog post!

  8. You all ought to sell tickets. 🙂 Carpoolqueen’s Cabaret! So glad you got to meet Candace, too.

  9. haha sounds fun! gotta love cranky hotel customers. who doesn’t love people jumping on the ground above you at 4:45 am?

  10. Three boys are what three boys are. I have one boy and two girls, so we would have had stomping AND screaming!

  11. been reading you and whimzie through my friend candace- and she is a dear one to my heart! we are kindred spirits separated by too many miles, but love keeping up through the land of cell phones and blogs. thanks for all the fun- love your sense of humor . we live in the land of boys too- mine are just much smaller (for now). thanks!

Leave a Reply

