She played the (mish)Mash

First things  first, the boys go back to school today.  Theoretically they’re supposed to get themselves up with their handy dandy Lego alarm clocks they received for Christmas, but I’m not sure how well that’s going to work out since the trial run last week resulted in me jumping out of bed, running across the hall, and fumbling in the dark for the on/off switch while they snored contentedly in their beds.

_________________________________________________

New Year’s Day I practiced going the extra step all the way to the outlet mall with Mr. CPQ and the boys.  I typically go on a spending freeze in January, but always give myself a day’s grace so I can hit some after holiday sales. The Croc store had a BOGO on their shoes, so I bought JJ some new fuzzy lined ones for winter (because he refuses to wear socks) and got a new pair for Tommy because his feet are officially bigger than mine and he couldn’t wear my old ones.

Scary.

__________________________

We’ve been painting.  The carpet comes tomorrow (and the skies parted and the angels sang Hallelujah) so we took advantage of not having to use drop cloths to spiff up the boys room and paint the dingy hallway walls and paint over the scuff marks in the room which used to be the children’s play room and which now is back to where it belongs as a formal dining room.

Nothing says “atmosphere” like the epic battle between the Rescue Heroes and the Decepticons depicted in crayon next to the china hutch.

__________________________________

I’m eating out the pantry this month.  It’s something I do every year to make sure things don’t get hidden in the back of the freezer and it’s an easy way to save several hundred dollars by not shopping for anything other than fresh veggies, milk, bread, and eggs.  I’ve got thirty days of dinner planned,  and I think I’m going to blog it later this week if for no other reason than to assure my mom that I’m feeding the children something other than peanut butter and jelly and Skittles for the next four weeks.

__________________________________

My hair is beyond atrocious, so if you know me in real life, please know that I am CALLING MY HAIRDRESSER TODAY to schedule an appointment.  I’m going to do the walk of shame and go back to my old guy.  I was annoyed that he went up $5 on his haircuts, but my hair has never looked the same since I left him and he’s the only one who knows how to thin this horse mane of mine without leaving me looking like a scarecrow.

I know I can find $5 somewhere.

Maybe the kids can eat peanut butter and jelly an extra day or two……

Have a nice day.

17 responses to “She played the (mish)Mash

  1. I’m the first one to comment this time! Do I win something?

    I just wanted to say that Daniel (that’s my husband) taught Bright and Zion the other day the difference between Rescue Heros and Decepticons. I think Daniel is enjoying his second boyhood very much:)

  2. Ah……your list hit some “Oh yeah…..I gotta do that too.” Although I WISH it were just a hair appointment to set. I don’t know why I start off the New Year with appointments to the dentist and yearly physical for myself. Neither of which I look forward too. Yeah—Happy New Year to myself. Ha! 🙂

    Love painting when you don’t have to worry about the floors.

  3. A phone call to my hairdresser is on my to do list today too…should have been on there about 2 weeks ago but no time to squeeze in an apt.

    I’d love to see your 30 day meal plan…my freezer and frig make me cringe every time I open the door…I feel like I need to yell, ‘Stand back’ because it’s that bad…something’s gotta go!

    Have a nice week!

  4. I’m back on the cooking wagon. We can spur one another on to love and good cooking. I don’t even know what’s in my freezer anymore. Guess I should look. I’m planning lots of cold weather meals this week. Just checked your forecast. We’re balmy compared to you guys. Soups and chili on your menu, I hope?

  5. If we ate out our pantry, we’d be eating nothing but some kind of weird Asian sauce packet thing that accidentally jumped into my buggy and beef jerky.

    It might possibly be time to go to the store.

  6. Pantry Diving sounds awesome!!!! Do you just eat by faith…or do you check the dates on the cans?
    We live in a very wasteful society, so I think your idea is incredible. Happy Eating!

  7. Oh, gee whiz. There you are encouraging me to do something good. Not wasting food. I have become so adept at wrapping up our leftovers and putting them in the trash only days later. sigh.

    Yeah.

    Hey, guess what? D got odor eaters in his stocking b/c he doesn’t wear socks, either. Wonder how learning to ski is going to go…

  8. I’m with Amber. If we ate out of our pantry right now, we’d be having oatmeal with soy sauce and cream of mushroom soup as a side. I pulled 5 EMPTY boxes out of the pantry this morning, so we are in worse shape than I thought.

    Hairdresser? Not to be PC, but do they take offense to that? I thought “stylist” was the word of the day. ***Not that I know, since I haven’t darkened the door of a salon since last March. Sigh. 😦

  9. girl, is your pantry like the wardrobe in Narnia??? Does it keep going and going and going??? Mine wouldn’t FIT that much food!!

  10. kids going to back to school today…did you hear one long sigh of relief around the globe??? by last night, if one more person said one more word to me, I thought I was going to scream. I always wonder how I make it through summer vacation. i do love my kids. i just need balance!!! that’s what I call it anyway. good luck with the freezer. i’m trying to do that this month too. we’re having beef broccoli and pasta with italian sausage this week for sure. but i did just throw out teriyaki meatballs. no one in my house likes “pre-made” items. they think they do, and i buy them, and then they always say they don’t like that stuff and why do I buy it???!! i do it to torture all of us, apparently.

  11. Can’t wait to see your pantry recipes! I try to do that once in awhile, too. I am really bad about forgetting about food.

  12. Spending freeze? Hmmm, that’s an idea. Kind of like when I give up random browsing for Lent only more since you include the grocery store. Yikes. Good Luck.
    And as much as I miss my kids after they leave for school, I sure like the quiet and the fact that the house stays and feels cleaner when they’re in/at school.

  13. Lots of people on the ‘net are eating out of the pantry/freezer this month! We are going to try it to a certain extent – just don’t tell my husband.

  14. I have a boatload of frozen shrimp from that Harris-Teeter buy 2 get 3 free sale and I plan on serving it all month! I took all of Mom’s Cooking Light magazines from 2009 and read them all the way home (6 hours) and dog-eared all the recipes I will be making in the new year. I tore out those pages when we got home and put them in an old 3-ring binder full of page protectors my daughter had for science last year. I have already made the first dish of Tilapia with Orange-Parsley Salsa, yummmm. Tonight I used a 2 lb. chub of ground beef from the freezer for my meatloaf topped with ketchup, molasses and bacon. Just a few more calories than the fish. Can’t wait to see your month long menu. I did that for awhile and loved knowing exactly what to buy at the store and buying nothing more than what I needed. Happy New Year!

  15. Love the Mish-Mash…

    I don’t know what I’ll do when my Boy has bigger feet that mine, as it I am certain he will be taller than me next year. sniff.

    I didn’t thinkyour hair looked horrible when I saw you Christmas week, but I’m glad you are going back to your hair guy…good hair is always worth a couple nights of Ramen dinner sacrifice.

    Or better yet…

    You could just ask JJ for a loan.

  16. LOVE the clean out the pantry idea. and this is the perfect time of year to do it!! you can put anything into a soup. . . .

    haha! thanks for the fun 🙂

    lydia

  17. My pantry is just about cleaned out, but I’m going to work on the freezer. And I think it will feed us quite well. I’m ready for some hamburgers on the grill, which I usually do all winter, but it is TOO cold right now!

Leave a Reply

