Tuesday Tidbits

1.  We had our first basketball practice last night.  I confidently walked into the gym thinking “college scholarship”.  I slinked out thinking “aggressive savings strategy”.

2.  The boys were off for MLK Day so we went to the Lego store.  As did every other boy under the age of twelve in Wake County.

3.  Falafel can vary widely from restaurant to restaurant.  I should have known to pass on the mall food court version.

4.  I got a call yesterday from the pediatrician that Baby A’s strep culture had come back positive.  This made me feel better because my mom’s instinct told me something was up with him, but he was not presenting the classic symptoms. Friday’s rapid strep test was negative and I was perturbed that I had over-reacted and hauled him in for nothing, but the slow growing culture over the weekend indicated that yes, something was amiss.  I’m feeling a little vindicated, even if means dishing out the pink stuff twice a day for the next week and a half.

5.  I have not watched a minute of coverage of the disaster in Haiti, not because I am unfeeling, but because it hits so close to home.  I was six years old when a 7.6 earthquake hit Guatemala, throwing me out of bed at 3:00 a.m.  I remember my dad picking me up and running down the hallway to get out of the house in case it collapsed.  I can still see the concrete walls swaying and hear the roar of the earth rumbling and the shattering sound of falling dishes.  I remember the aftershocks and running outside every time the ground shook.  My prayers are with the people of Haiti and for the relief workers who are assisting them. Our donation has gone to The Haiti Response Fund which is administered by the International Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention.

6.  I don’t want to be inappropriately light-hearted, but if I don’t seek laughter in my daily life, I go to an ugly place rather quickly.

7.  I am currently obsessed with RiceWorks Sweet Chili chips.  And Sweet Chili Doritos.  And the sweet chili sauce that goes on the summer roll I buy at the grocery store sushi stand on a weekly basis.

8.  I have five cans of pumpkin in the pantry because there was going to be a shortage at Thanksgiving.  I loaded up, disregarding the fact that no one in my family eats anything remotely squash-related.  I did manage to find a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin recipe they liked, but that only took care of one can and I’ve got five to go.  Ideas, anyone?

9.  One of these days I’m going to run out of things to blog about.

10.  Today may be that day.

Have a nice day.

37 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. I’m right there with you on the pumpkin. I have four giant size cans of pumpkin. Every day I look at it and think, “I should bake today.” But then I don’t.

    Looks like we’re good for next year.

  2. I think everyone is feeling a little ‘sparse’ when it comes to blog topics this week. And I’m definitely with you on the laughter!

    Oh, and if you ever get to the UK…Walker’s Thai Sweet Chili Chips….they are fab-u-lous!

  3. I have 5 15 oz cans and 2 29 oz cans of pumpkin in the pantry. Because I’m probably one trip to the grocery store away from that show about people who have “collection” problems.

  4. A simple, lowfat, and wonderful Chaney favorite is mixing one can of pumpkin with one box of spice cake mix. Top with cream cheese frosting or not- and make them into muffin/cupcakes or just a sheet cake. It’s yummy.

  5. PS- If I had experienced an earthquake, I wouldn’t watch the coverage either. And you’re so right. Sometimes if you don’t laugh, you’ll cry.

  6. Did you eat at Kabobi? Never tried the falafel there, but love their meat!(just ate there Saturday!) The other place there, can’t remember the name, isn’t as good. Did we pass each other and not even know it??

  7. You can add a bit of pumpkin to the egg for french toast. It makes the french toast a little sweeter and you get a veggie in at breakfast.

  8. oh yea- that haiti/guatamala bit made me cry. not because i’m all that sappy of a person, just because i am moved by the way the lord uses our experiences to define who we are and where our hearts are focused.

    p.s. also have a great recipe for pumpkin cookies from pioneer woman.

    p.p.s just made them because i also stocked up at thanksgiving.

    p.p.s.s. (can you do that?) also can throw a can into pancake and waffle mix and call them Go Tennessee breakfast!

  9. I think I have more pumpkin than that. I usually stock up on pumpkin muffins (w/out chocolate chips). I freeze them individually and pop them in my girl’s lunchbox for snack. Well, who am I kidding…I usually make them for MY snack 😉

  10. Pumpkin butter…I found the recipe on the Weelicious website. It’s yummy spread over cream cheese on a bagel or english muffin and it uses honey instead of white sugar as a sweetener.

  11. That Pumpkin butter and cookies in the comments sound yummy. I think canned pumpkin lasts a long time so you can spread it out.

    Laughter truly is the best medicine.

  12. These are really good.

    PUMPKIN SNICKERDOODLES
    http://www.RecipeGirl.com
    COOKIES:
    2 sticks butter (1 cup), at room temperature
    1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
    3/4 cup pure pumpkin puree
    1 large egg
    2 tsp pure vanilla extract
    3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
    1 1/2 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp salt
    1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
    ROLLING SUGAR:
    1/2 cup granulated sugar
    1 tsp ground cinnamon
    1/2 tsp ground ginger
    1/2 tsp allspice
    1. In a large bowl, cream butter with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add sugar and pumpkin puree and beat well. Mix in egg and vanilla, scraping down sides of the bowl to incorporate all of the ingredients.
    2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon. Beat flour mixture into liquid mixture a little at a time until incorporated.
    3. Cover dough with plastic and chill at least an hour, or until dough becomes slightly firm.
    4. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper (or spray with nonstick spray). Mix rolling sugar in a small bowl.
    5. Remove cookie dough from refrigerator. Use a medium cookie scoop (1 1/2 Tbsp.) or a large spoon to scoop out dough and roll into balls. Use your hands to roll the balls in the cinnamon sugar and make sure they’re coated really well. Place 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets. Use a glass with a nice, flat bottom to dip in sugar and flatten the balls.
    6. Bake at 350°F. for 10 to 14 minutes, or until they are slightly firm to the touch. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes or so, then remove them to a wire rack to cool completely.
    Yield: About 3 dozen
    Cooking Tips
    *Store in an airtight container. These cookies freeze well too. Place them in freezer zip bag and remove from freezer when the craving hits.

  13. I completely understand about the Haiti coverage. I watched the 60 minutes report Sunday, but other than that I’ve stayed away simply because my heart just breaks.

    As far as the pumpkin. Personally I love adding a spoonful to oatmeal in the morning. Top with a bit of brown sugar or nutmeg or even cinnamon.

  14. I’ve never had Falafel. What is it?

    I’m glad you survived that earthquake.

  15. First of all…I missed the news on the pumpkin shortage last November. Good thing because I am famous for loading up during times of crisis!
    Secondly…As long as you keep your sense of humor, you will never run out of thing about which to blog! I hope it never happens.

  16. As my Grum always says, “You just as well laugh as cry.” And since she’s buried 2/4 children, had her fiance die on their wedding day, and lives in chronic pain, I think she may be onto something. Loved what Mer said about awareness vs. action. We can watch all the coverage and feel as badly as we want to feel, but if we’re not donating time, prayer or treasures, it does no good anyway.

    Sorry about the falafel. It’s just not right to have your mouth all set for something and then that something fails.

    And we’re discussing the same college scholarship/aggressive savings program.

  17. Love your post because you’re so honest about the fact that some days we simply have no great wisdom, events, thoughts, or hilarity to share with anyone. And yet, you seem to manage! I woke up this morning in a panic about what in the world to blog about. Some days I literally don’t leave my house and if I do, still nothing seems to happen to me. Fortunately I read, and thus I blogged today despite the fact that nothing happened to me worth blogging about!

  18. My 3 yr. old has had strep too & did not have any classic symptoms except constant complaining of a sore throat last week. I took her in & the dr. said her throat was barely red but he did a strep test anyway, thankfully! So we are dishing out the “nasty” pink stuff twice a day too!
    I enjoy reading your blog!

  19. My girls love when I add pumpkin to their pancakes. They also like colored pancakes, so if you’re kiddos might catch on that there is pumpkin in their pancakes, just make them blue and they just might be distracted enough by the color that they won’t notice. (and they get an extra veggie!)

    You are one brave lady going to the lego store on a school holiday! 🙂

  20. Word around the net is that Sandy left a killer Snickerdoodle recipe.

    Not sure if I’m happy or sad.

    I’ll make them and let you know.

    Also, Whimzie, I almost choked on my granola over your comment. Do you know that I am addicted to those “collection” problems. Nothing motivates me to pick this place up more than those shows!

  21. This household doesn’t do pumpkin. And therefore did not participate in the Great Run on Gourdishness of ’09. So you just did your part in taking up my slack. See? You’re a philanthropist.

  22. I was on a couch sleeping here (had a newborn and wanted to be near to her that night for some reason) and was jolted. I SERIOUSLY, Susan, thought a demon had entered my house.Then I figured out it was an earthquake. I can see why you’d want to avoid the news. Hey, a pumpkin roll is good…do the guys like rolled up cream inside sort of stuff? Wish you could mail them to me!!! We have to gut, clean, cook, then mash any pumpkin we eat.

  23. I highly doubt you’re going to run out of things to blog about– you’re too entertaining!!!

    I’m sorry to hear about your experience in a quake when you were younger. I feel the same way about tornado coverage; a tornado destroyed my family’s home when I was 3 (thankfully, we were not in it at the time), and I am scared of storms ever since!

    ~Elizabeth
    Confessions From A Working Mom

  24. I’ve got a great recipe for Pumpkin Struesel Bread/Muffins, but I’m thinking if adding pumpkin to a waffle/pancake/oatmeal adds a veggie to my day, can a slice of pumpkin pie be too bad?

  25. I also have cans of pumpkin left in my pantry. I guess there wasn’t really a shortage – was there?

    I suggest pumpkin pecan pie. I also have a great recipe for white chocolate pumpkin muffins. Yum!! You can also mix it in with waffle or pancake mix. It gives you the added nutrients and just the slightest sweetness.

  26. #6,#(love these!) and #8….nodding my head and saying “me too”.

    You can make pumpkin pie filling(without the crust). Bake it and eat it like pudding. Really yummy.

  27. Riceworks Sweet Chili chips — gluten-free, and we love’em!

  28. The Cake Mix Doctor cookbook has a couple of recipes involving canned pumpkin. I have tried the Pumpkin Spice Cake using a spice cake mix. Let me know if you are interested in the recipe in its entirety, or others. My chocoholic family actually really liked it!

  29. Wow, who’da thought there was so much to do with pumpkin. Not pumpkin eaters over here, I have no use for any of these great ideas. Darn

    My daughter LOVED the pink stuff! And she always had ear infections so any time we went to the doctor she asked for the bubble gum juice. Hmmm

    It seems like you always have great post ideas!

  30. I agree, pumpkin pancakes are delicious!

    It’s just so horrible what has happened in Haiti.

    I was in an earthquake in California when I was 5. It was terrifying. You don’t realize how loud they are until you are in one of an enormous magnitude. Mom and I were just talking about it, actually.

  31. It’s like we’re twins – ha!

    #1 totally cracked me up. I thought the same thing this past Saturday at my daughter’s first basketball game.

    I haven’t watched any Haiti coverage either. I just can’t take the inevitable images. I read about it, though and pray and give.

    I think I read on a blog there would be a pumpkin shortage and words like that TERRRIFY me at Thanksgiving. I stocked up and now look at my ‘pumpkin section’ in my pantry and wonder ‘what on earth?’

  32. girl, I learn something new about you everyday!

  33. I can’t imagine that you will ever run out of things to blog about. I always enjoy!

  34. i know i don’t have to tell you that i have no clue of this “Fa La La La” of which you speak…

    AND..how funny you mention the pumpkin b/c I was perusing my taste of home magazine and saw a pumpkin recipe and said “i need to send this to all the pumpkin girls”…so, I’ll dig it out and email it…’kay?!

  35. The minute you said “sweet chili” I was distracted. And the mention of “sweet chili sauce” sent my mind off thinking about what other dinners I can make that include it. We have a fave that I, by trial & triumph, made one night that has that blessed sauce on it and I probably make it weekly. We purchase ours at Costco.

    Bet you didn’t think I could write an entire comment on sweet chili sauce, huh? Think again.

  36. I bake a pumpkin pie without the crust, but add 1/2 cup flour to the recipe. It makes the pie firmer. We then eat it along with our hot oatmeal in the mornings for breakfast. I always cover my slice of pie with the oatmeal. Yum!

  37. Sorry, got nothing on pumpkin for you, but you knew that already. As for Haiti, the guy next to me at work is from Haiti (his immediate family were spared) but it hurts him so deeply to see his home town shattered. It made me think about my childhood home, school, library, and playground all disappearing one day. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

