Topical Tuesday

I think sometimes fear hinders us not because we fear failure, but because we fear success.

Discuss.

Have a nice day.

27 responses to “Topical Tuesday

  1. I’m feeling an intense amount of pressure about this question.

    I don’t like to discuss fear. It scares me.

  2. This was the exact topic that I was planning on doing my dissertation. The fear of success. Especially in relation to women.

    And then I dropped out. But you can still call me Dr. Sami 🙂

  3. “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

    –Marianne Williamson

    That is one of my favorite quotes ever. I think it is harder to be who we are meant to be because it requires growth. Sometimes growth just hurts. It seems to be so much more comfortable to stay afraid and retreat. The crazy thing is that more people understand and accept that than moving beyond fear. We often look at those who move beyond fear and into success as something special. Something we could never do. When really we are all called to do it.

    Good discussion! Always love a good discussion.

  4. Sorry to write a book in your comments, btw. 😉

  5. How are you in my head?
    I love how when God is trying to teach us something, it is everywhere…….I am beginning to realize that there is a huge difference between being scared and having fear. It might possibly change my life.

  6. Nope. Pretty sure it’s NOT because I think I’ll succeed. 😉

    And now you know what I fear….

  7. Hey now, you need to extend a warning when you are thinky….

    Especially because on the days that you are “thinky”, I am especially not….

    Today I am obsessed with the idea of getting my hair all chopped off on Thursday afternoon.

    I fear a great many things, however, a change in hair style is not one of them.

    Now, if we were talking about the feeling I had when I called my hairstylist this morning and her sweet voice message answered saying: “Thanks for calling. I’ll be out of town until…..”

    (WHAT??????)

    THAT was fear. Because my roots are a sad, sad sight, and its only been 6 weeks (and two days) since the last color.

    Thankfully, the end of her sentence was “…until January 4th.”

    Big sigh of relief.

    That is my big issue today.

    Short or long?

    Discuss.

    🙂

  8. Love Janel’s comment…

    Fear..let’s see… I can tell you that when you finally experience what you spent your childhood+ adult life fearing, there is a great deal of freedom. Especially when you realize that God was always going to be there to wrap His arms around you, making the verse “I will fear no evil, for thou art with me, ” become very real.

    Since that incident, there have been many, many successes and almost non-existent fear…all by the grace of God.

  9. I’ve pulled up my carpet square and formed a small group to discuss on my end… you always see that in a book study: form small groups and discuss.

    Fortunately, I have had wonderful parents (who were proud of me even when I colored outside the lines), coaches (who pushed me to be better every day), and mentors at work (who often said – what’s the worst that can happen? – go and try the new thing!). And then there’s imnotned to keep me grounded and humble and print t-shirts to remind me.

    Survey says…surround yourself with those who love you and will accept you whether you’ve succeeded or failed, and you’ll dive into the unknown with a safety line.

  10. That is the problem…now if only I could find the solution. But what if I fear the solution to that problem…hmmm…I’m telling you Lion King’s song should have been “Hopeless Circle of Life”

    Amy

    Truthfully I couldn’t agree more!!

  11. Fear is a real enemy- one that seeks to steal, kill and destroy whatever it is that we are seeking to do for/with the Lord. So, if being successful is the means by which he can get to you- then so be it. If dying is what you are afraid of, then that is what will consume your mind. In my “old” age :), I have learned that it is not as important WHAT we fear. But that we face the enemy of fear itself, and begin to more deeply understand what the Lord says about it and how we battle it. 🙂

    Just my two-cents. . . .

  12. I fear that if I expound too much on this you might know just how extremely brilliant I am and my intellectual success rate might diminish our camaraderie.

    I totally agree with Kellie… we need fair warning. 🙂

  13. How weird is it that I wrote a post on this very topic LAST WEEK?! And that I’ve been writing a follow-up post for Thursday?! Here’s link to part one: http://averagemoreorless.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/what-is-freedom/ I’m enjoying all the insite on the subject and will do my very best to let it all color Thursday’s thoughts.

  14. I just fear more being added to my to-do list.

  15. The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.

    That’s all I’ve got.

    Oh, and when I saw your post in my Google Reader I thought it said TROPICAL Tuesday so I was expecting fruity drinks with little umbrellas.

  16. I thought Topical Tuesday was going to be more dry skin lotion talk. And, btw, did you find a cure?

  17. People seem to demonstrate greater understanding and compassion for those who fail…success seems to breed criticism.

    We encourage, support, even cheer for the person who is trying and failing yet very often we look to find fault with a person who succeeds.

    Success puts us out there and when we are out there we are vulnerable not only to what others think and say about us but also to our own negative ‘self-talk’….this isn’t just me is it?

    Loved what Lydia said.

  18. Umm, can you fear failure and success at the same time? Currently I fear a specific success because success will bring with it additional responsibility…and stewardship issues… yet I am still fearing failure at the same time because I want it to work. But then, how do you define success in a given situation. Ugh. In the end, I am choosing to second what momologuer said…the part about go and try, and what’s the worst that can happen!

  19. In some, I think this is true.

    In me, I fear failure much more. In fact, I expect it. Sad, huh?

    Great question!

  20. success in what? that’s the question for me.

  21. Hi, Feary McFearson here…

    I hadn’t thought of that direction when I thought of fear…but now that you mention it, then I am certain that could be some of the issue w/ fear.

    Thank you for your insight today, Mrs. Queen

  22. Love Janel’s & Joyce’s comments! My brain is too tired tonight to add anything meaningful, but this sure was thought-provoking!

  23. God did not give us a spirit of fear …what is that Bible verse?

  24. If you said “not only because we fear failure, but sometimes because we fear success,” I’d be more likely to agree. I don’t think it’s an either/or proposition.

  25. Hello, my name is Gretchen, and I have sabotaged every diet I’ve ever been on.

    Something like that?

  26. I really should read the other comments before engaging in the discussion, but I don’t take James 1:19 as seriously as I ought.

    I agree with this thought completely. I do it all the time with my writing. People invite me to seize opportunities and I simply let the deadlines pass. I just don’t do it. Why? I don’t know. I know I can — they wouldn’t ask me to if they didn’t think I could do it! I think I prefer the comfort of current expectations. Like Bart Simpson, I’d rather meet the expectations of underachievement than be Lisa, perpetually disappointed with others who aren’t on her “level.”

    That sounds prideful. I don’t mean it that way at all. I just … I don’t know.

    I like it when people expect little of me. If I succeed, that changes.

Leave a Reply

