Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night…

The 5:00 news last night announced another snow cancellation for today.  Approximately fifteen minutes later, the phone rang.  It was my dear Mr. CPQ calling to check in on me.  I asked if he was on his way to an after work engagement but he said he was coming straight home because when he heard that school was going to be closed, he knew he’d need to come home to administer a tranq dart.

I’m choosing to believe he came home for me and not the season premiere of LOST.

Speaking of lost, if you don’t hear from me tomorrow, send out a search expedition to make sure I haven’t slid into a ditch.  My cabin fever has reached critical levels and I’m loading the kids up to take them out for lunch and some wandering time at Target. 

The kids don’t know yet, but before we can taste the delights of Target, we have to stop at the dentist.  You might question why I, of all people, am risking life and limb to get to the dentist’s office, but it took me three years to get all the boys on the same six-month cleaning schedule and I’m not about to waste that primo scheduling slot.  Besides, after A LOT of togetherness for the last five days, I’m looking forward to those thirty minutes of alone time in the waiting room while all three of them are in the chairs.

Nothing will keep me from this appointed round.

Have a nice day.

16 responses to “Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night…

  1. I seriously did think I was going to die when I heard the news. We are going on 5 days now. AND with the possibility this weekend…wow.

    Have fun on your day out. We are headed out to meet moms and kids for lunch today. Too much time inside!

  2. 30 minutes of quiet, alone time = bliss! Enjoy!

  3. Wouldn’t it be great if you could get a pedi while you wait at the dentist office?

  4. Oh, honey, my kids have no clue I have such psychotic aversion to dentists…they are regular and up to date and will stay that way!

    It hasn’t even snowed here and I have cabin fever! Wish I could meet you at Target!

  5. The dentist office is always much more fun when you aren’t the patient. I hope their dentist has really good magazines to peruse.

    And have fun at Target. I know Mr. T will be very happy!!

  6. Be safe and have fun getting out. After 5 days, I would probably be going crazy, too.

  7. I love sitting in an office reading the magazines that I don’t get. When it’s my appointment I always look a little miffed when they call my name – don’t they know not to disturb me in the middle of a juicy article??

  8. Mine finally went back to school, but we’re expecting more snow tonight. God save us from relunctant bus drivers!

  9. There’s nothing like having your kids strapped to a chair and flipping leisurely flipping through People and Newsweek after a week of cabin fever.
    Pure bliss!

  10. Day 5??? Oh dear me….I’d already be “LOST”. My poor husband would have called in to check on me too, and the kids. We definitely would have braved the drive for a dentist appt, a doctors visit, Target, or anywhere that would take us!!! Cabin fever sets in at about hour 48 here!!! Here’s hoping the bus drivers are up to the drive tomorrow so you can get back to normalcy there!

  11. I’m with Melanie…I think she’s on to a fantastic business plan…mani/pedi station in the dentist’s waiting room, well, while we’re at it, how about right in the dentist chair?…you’re a captive audience, two birds with one stone…now, all we need is some venture capital money. It’s right up there with the KrispyKreme/Chik-Fil-A combination with a drive-thru.

  12. Just make sure they bring the fisher price headphones so that cute dentist knows that they weren’t yours. That is assuming he remembers you and…oh wait you were a 40 year old woman with fisher price headphones…of course he’ll remember you.

    Good luck with that

    Amy

  13. haha isn’t Target always worth the treacherous drive? And you enjoy those outdated magazines at the dentist in peace and quiet 🙂 I would probably do the same thing and I only have one kid!

  14. The boys have dentist appointments today and I’m giddy with excitement.

    Alone time.

    Just me. In the waiting room. In the quiet. Praying it takes ALL.DAY.LONG.

  15. Mine have an ortho appt on March 10th. Can hardly wait to read People from cover to cover.

    It’s the little things.

  16. Now that’s a pretty bad week if the highlight is the dentist’s office 😉 May the snow thaw quickly and the family return to school thusly.

    Is thusly a word?

Leave a Reply

