She don’t lie, she don’t lie, she don’t lie, codeine

Praising Jesus one day and singing the wonders of narcotics the next.  You never know what’s going to show up here, do you?

_________________________________________________

I finally threw in the towel and went to see the doctor yesterday about this coughing-up-a-lung thing that’s been going on for a couple of weeks.  It only took about two minutes for her to listen to my wheeziness and label me with bronchitis.  I’m now in possession of three prescriptions: a Z-pack, a short course of Prednisone, and codeine cough syrup.

This is my first experience with both Prednisone and codeine, and they seem to be working at cross purposes with each other.  The Prednisone is hyping me up a little and making me restless, and the codeine is making me sleepy.  Sleep and restless do not mix very well and it’s making everything a little wonky, so I’m just going to stay home today in my happy little spaced out world and try to remember when it’s time to pick up the children.

I’ve only taken narcotics one other time, and that was after the boys were born and they gave me some of the good stuff to get over my C-section.  I had been taking two pills every six hours in the hospital and assumed that the bottle they gave me to take home had the same dosing instructions.  Unbeknownst to me, the pills they sent home were double strength and so when I took the usual two pills (instead of the one that was clearly marked on the label I didn’t read), I got a bang-up loopy session that lasted several hours while the magic pills did their magic.

Oh, I felt no pain.

And let’s just say it’s a good thing they didn’t authorize refills.

Mr. CPQ has been taking good care of me.  He cancelled dinner plans last night to come sit on the couch with me and listen to my incoherent fuzzy ramblings.  He’s a good man, he is, and I think I’ll keep him.

(He was also the one who called the doctor for me to set up the appointment. Isn’t that sweet?)

Have a nice day.

22 responses to “She don’t lie, she don’t lie, she don’t lie, codeine

  1. I am so sorry your feeling awful. Hope you get better soon.

  2. Sorry your feeling crummy. I’ve never done the steroid thing but I was prescribed codeine once. It was nice. : )

    In the UK you could buy codeine over the counter.
    Feel better!

  3. okay that should be ‘you’re’…sorry a spelling error like that makes me twitch.

  4. Hope you’re feeling better soon! I know that crazy feeling from those two narcotics. Not a comforting place to be. Like the world is going fast and you’re moving extra slow….

  5. (Don’t take this the wrong way) I think Phoebe took prednisone for an ailment several months ago. Just realized I’m doing that thing where you have an issue and someone else has to tell you about their not-so-similar issue. Hope you feel better soon!!

  6. OK, now your comment on Whimzie’s blog makes sense.

    Have fun today on day #2 of your drugs. 😉

    And yes… praising Jesus and then narcotics makes for a very interesting blog.

    How I love visiting this place! 🙂

  7. Wow, more wonky than normal?

    Note to self: call MrCPQ to get some good stories of wonkiness.

  8. I hope you feel better! With the super cold rain / sleet, it’s a great day to stay home and be wonky.

    I like that word..wonky…describes my life, most of the time…

    Praying for you!

    (I’m also in the ‘hey, they gave me some real good stuff after my c-section’ club. Lovin’ me some lortabs… :D)

  9. oh man….what an awful feeling!

    Hang on tight, sister, the ride will be over soon!

  10. The medicine makes for fun IM sessions. Is it wrong to capitalize on your illness for my own entertainment?

    That’s probably too many multi-syllabic words for someone in your condition. Sorry.

  11. We call the narcotic cough syrup “Liquid Gold” at my house for two reasons. 1) It costs $50 co-pay 2) It is as precious as gold. Hope it’s working and you are back to your peppy self soon.

  12. Feel better soon.

    Loopy is good.

  13. Blogging under the influence (BUI)/Bloggin while Impaired (BWI) could get very interesting – Of course if you get into any legal trouble – I’ve got your back.

  14. Better living through pharmaceuticals…that’s why a blockbuster drug can make $1M in sales per day.

  15. Everything is OTC here. har har. Let me know if you need more.

  16. I still have “fond” memories of my college roommate and I drugged out, sitting on opposite sides of a humidifier, trying to get through bronchitis together. That was the only time I had it so I DO feel for you and pray you are better soon!

  17. Maybe you should like…try to write a song or something.

  18. Ooooh, I hate feeling amped up on prednisone. Hope you feel better soon!

  19. So sorry to hear you are under the weather – hope the good Rx are kicking in by now though! I too have had interesting experiences on that “wonky” codeine cough syrup – and only take it when absolutely necessary (lung – coughing up episode like you’ve been having!!!). I had taken it during a bout of bronchitis during a Thanksgiving years ago and my husband rented Gladiator (Russell Crowe – ahh…nice costume!) to entertain me while the family ate dinner w/o me at the table. The drugs induced a weird sleepy dream in which I dreamed I was a gladiator too!!! Very spooky stuff – seemed so real and everything was kind of slow-motion! Swore off the hard stuff very quickly when the awful cough quieted down!!! And those post-delivery Lortabs….nice when you’re hurting, but same weird dreams for me! (clearly I could not take the life of a street user – would probably never survive!!!)

    Feel better soon!!!

  20. I’ve had bronchitis so many times so I really feel for you. Praying for your very quick recovery!

  21. I’m so sorry you are sick! Feel better soon!!!

  22. Sorry you’ve been sick. Hope you’re feeling better soon!!

Leave a Reply

