Nostalgia: Works every time

I’m not the world’s most creative gift giver.  I do well with lists that have exact specifications, and when in doubt, as in the case of my teenage nephews, the iTunes gift card is my go-to purchase.

This year, however, the gift gods smiled upon me and I found a present for Mr. CPQ that hearkened back to the days of his misspent youth and caused him to renew his vows of ardent devotion.

Have a nice day.

20 responses to “Nostalgia: Works every time

  1. Ha…haven’t seen that in years! I got my husband a Reeses cup which I did put a bow around…we don’t really do gifts on Valentines day…rather I don’t do gifts…he of course always gets me flowers.

  2. Apparently sugar is either the first, second, or third ingredient because my mom never let us buy that. I’ve read the ingredients listing of almost every cereal brand created between 1972 and 1980.

  3. I have no idea what that is. Am I young?

  4. I have no idea what that is. And I am so young!!!!!

  5. My gosh! They still make this or is this a 30 year old box of cereal? Mmmmm Quisp!

  6. I’m with Whimzie, we never had that at my house, but it looks very retro-cool.

  7. Would now be the time to mention that Mr. CPQ is older than most of us?

  8. Grandma ALWAYS let us have Quisp at her house. I loved that! 😉 I loved Quisp! The name ALONE was awesome! 😉

    I am so old.

  9. Ingredients
    Corn Flour, Sugar, Oat Flour, Brown Sugar, Coconut Oil, Salt, Niacinamide (One of the B Vitamins), Reduced Iron, Zinc Oxide, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Thiamin Mononitrate (One of the B Vitamins), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (One of the B Vitamins), Bht (A Preservative), Riboflavin (One of the B Vitamins), Folic Acid (One of the B Vitamins).

  10. i am so sad to say i have never had such a thing! i thought i was old, but apparently there is still much to learn. 🙂 heehee

  11. Wow.

    You win. The rest of us wives cry “Uncle” in your presence.

  12. I always felt deprived because my mother didn’t buy cereal, she cooked a full meal each morning; eggs, bacon or sausage, gravy and biscuits, or country ham, biscuits and red-eye gravy. You get the idea:)
    I still feel deprived. The guy on the box is so cute!

  13. You’re a rockin’ wife.

  14. Oh I so remember Quisp. Sigh. Now I have a hankering for some Cap’n Crunch. Better put it on my shopping list . . .

  15. cereal is my love language!!

  16. neweveryam never had this because her mom never HEARD of it! Now I am certainly old enough to have been exposed to it… but I’ve never seen this before. What a neat gift! (for Mr. CPQ, that is…)

  17. Never heard of Quisp, but the box did make me nostalgic for Saturday morning when my mama watched Looney Toons and ate Fruit Loops right out of the box with us. {Sigh} I wish my mama was here. With Fruit Loops. And Looney Toons.

  18. Imnotned wins comment of the day.

Leave a Reply

