I’m a believer

I called my mom yesterday and told her that I wrote about her on the blog and she said, “I hope you lied and wrote me in such a way that I only sounded nice.”

After assuring her that I would only paint her in the most positive light, we moved on to the subject of pressure cookers and she was thrilled beyond words that I had finally seen the light and got one of my own.  She then promptly went into full mom mode and started telling me how to use it properly and then accused me of cheating when she found out that I had ordered an electric one.

What fun is a pressure cooker if there’s no risking of life and limb?

I decided it might behoove me to read the instruction manual before attempting dinner, and for something that was supposed to be perfectly safe, it sure had a lot of BOLD CAPITAL LETTERS spelling the word “WARNING“.

I chose stew meat for my first project because I have a general sense of how long I’d cook it on the stove (3 hours) or in the crockpot (8 hours) to make it tender and I wanted to see how much time it would save me.  The cooker has a browning function which allowed me to brown the meat in the pot, then I dumped the other ingredients on top of it  and then spent about 165 hours making sure the lid was on tight.

You have never seen OCD in all its finest glory.

I pushed the button, ran for cover, and THIRTY MINUTES LATER, the machine beeped, nothing had exploded, I had only yelled “DON’T TOUCH THE PRESSURE COOKER” twice to my boys, and dinner was ready.

This could change my life.

Have a nice day.

27 responses to “I’m a believer

  1. OK, I have always been afraid of pressure cookers too….never, ever, ever wanted one…thought they were dangerous, etc. BUT, you are now the second person to be singing their praises so I am reconsidering. Seriously? Thirty minutes?

    Hmmmm……

  2. I think it’s cool that you used the word behoove….

  3. Thirty minutes? Seriously? How did it taste?

    If KitchenAid makes one in Empire Red, I may need one… 😉 (I love an excuse to buy another matching red appliance for my kitchen!) 😉

    I think this is an awesome story!!!

  4. So glad this was not a post about exploding beans.

  5. That almost seems like cheating.

    Not that I’m against cheating or anything.

  6. Thirty minutes?!? Seriously? Was it tasty?

    Any time you can slip the word “behoove” into a blog post is a good day to me.

  7. Wowsers. Next thing we know, you’ll have your own cooking show on Food Network. Very impressed. Still scared, but very impressed.

  8. my mom always used a pressure cooker. they skeered me as a kid, and that fear has continued to this day.
    so….was it good? was it worth it? risking life and limb and having to potentially use your fire extinguisher or make an ER visit? really?
    please tell…

  9. Electric? I agree takes a little fun out of the danger factor!

  10. I’m still hesitant and a little skeptical. But I’m willing to do some google research because I now realize that all I know is to fear the pressure cooker. I don’t understand what it does or why.

    No thanks for the extra homework and the time I’ll spent researching all things pressure cooker today.

  11. oh oh oh. i want one now.

  12. Was the meat as tender as it would have been if you’d cooked it conventionally or in the crockpot? I’ve always been a bit afraid of pressure cookers so have never tried one. But 30 minutes? Wow!

  13. I think we are all in awe of your pressure cooking skills! 🙂

  14. I’m jealous (in a good way of course.) I love everything Cuisinart.

  15. Hmmm I’m just impressed you knew how long it takes to cook meat in different environments. Because I have to look it up every single time. Luckily, Adam has recently taken over total control of dinners in our household. I’m not sure why, but suspect it had something to do with the fact that I never actually prepared/planned/made meals and ended up just throwing something together (aka making Kraft dinner) about 75% of nights.

  16. And now, I’ll have the Monkees in my head all day. THanks.

    And…Wow! I’m afraid I’ll still admire from afar, but that makes it no less enjoyable for you. 🙂

    Don’t put your eye out.

  17. and . . . . . how was it??? You left us hanging terribly off the cliff of tender vs. tough meat. 🙂

  18. Was it good? As good as cooked-in-the-crockpot-all-day good? Curious minds want to know!!!

  19. I guess I should have reported if the meat was tender or not… This is why you should never come to my blog for information.

    Eesh.

    Yes, it was. As tender as all day crockpot. I was most impressed.

  20. I got stuck on, “I hope you lied. . .” and positive light.

    I think I need more info on the life-changing pressure cooker. Also, while you’re doing appliance commentary, could you give an opinion on your coffee maker? The gals were checking it out, but I didn’t get a close look. I’m still using one that I bought at WalMart about 17-18 years ago for $15.

  21. OK maybe they aren’t as dangerous as the Double Stuffed Oreos in my kitchen, but I am still afraid, very afraid. I think a call to my mom is in order.

  22. Interesting observations. I’m still a little “skeered” though, and Sus, your OCD glory has NOTHIN’ on mine. I wear my OCD crown at all times. Even to bed. And I’ll just leave it at that. 😉

  23. Lydia Stevenson

    My hubby insisted that we just had to bring our pressure cooker back to Poland with us. Took up 5 pounds of our 5o pound limit btw. But, hubby is an awesome cook, so I am sure to be rewarded with some yummy food. Ps he wants to can vegetables too. It should be worth its weight.

  24. Yay for facing your fears….especially when the fruit of your work was ready in 30 minutes!

    I might be going to get a me a pressure cooker too. Right after I finish buying furry animals.

  25. 30 MINUTES?! YOWZAS!!

    I absolutely adore new appliances, I really do. As much as a great purse or new shoes! Next on my list…a 4 slice toaster!

Leave a Reply

