In which I don’t have a clear grasp of where I’m going

I had plans on Monday to go to the NC Aquarium with my friend Heather and her clan.  We thought we’d drive down to Wilmington, check out the fish, then hit the beach with the kids and let them run around and chase each other and generally get sufficiently worn out to so they would sleep all the way back to Raleigh at the end of the day.  

As I was talking through the planned activities with Mr. CPQ, he said, “Why don’t you just take a couple of days and do some sightseeing while you’re down there?” 

He completes me.

I thought it was a great idea because I hadn’t explored any of the coast of North Carolina north of Wilmington, and I had been wanting to see some of the beach towns that I’d heard of since we moved here and scout out some potential vacation spots.

We quickly formulated a plan to leave Wilmington after our day-long adventure and head up the coast,  catch a ferry to the Outer Banks and make our way up through Buxton, Rodanthe (where I would once again rue the day I ever picked up a Nicholas Sparks novel), stop in to see the Hatteras Lighthouse and head to Kill Devil Hills so the kids could see the Wright Brothers’ Memorial. 

I was talking to Heather about my plans as we sat in the Wilmington Chick-Fil-A with our respective broods eating fries and drinking lemonade, and she asked, “Are you catching the ferry to Ocracoke Island?”

I looked at her rather blankly.

“I don’t think I’m going to an island.”

“Well then, where’s your ferry taking you?”

“I dunno.  All I know is that I’m supposed to catch a ferry and it takes me somewhere and then I drive to Kill Devil Hills.”

“Uh, Sus?  The ferry only goes to the island. You then catch a different ferry from that island to get to the Outer Banks.”

“No, no, no.  I’m going straight to the Outer Banks.  I already bought the ferry ticket on-line last night.”

“Sus, I don’t think you can go straight there.  Let me see your confirmation info.”

“Here it is.  See?  It says Ocracoke.  Not Ocracoke Island.”

“Sus, Ocracoke IS an island. I’ve been there.  Trust me.”

“But I didn’t want to go there.”

“Well, you’re going there now.”

This ought to be fun.

Have a nice day.

22 responses to “In which I don’t have a clear grasp of where I’m going

  1. I’m praying for you now, Sis… looking out at the rain, looking at the temperature… & having been on the ferry to Ocracoke ISLAND. But hope you enjoy the island while you are there & that the weather quickly clears for your visit to the Outer Banks. There is a great Wright Brothers Museum in Kitty Hawk & the light house (north of there, can’t remember the town but we were there last Sept.) grounds are beautiful with lots of space for running. Hope you have a great trip. FYI, Carolina Beach & Wrightsville Beach right outside of Wilmington are great summer beaches & lots closer than Outer Banks.

  2. We usually vacation in Wrightsville. LOVE IT. But I just got back from my annual girls’ retreat at the Outer Banks. It seems I’ve taken the nice weather with me, though. Sorry!

    There’s an aquarium in Manteo on the Outer Banks. Not as big as the one you’re going to, but still nice.

    Enjoy!

  3. Duck and Corolla on the Outer Banks…love them both! Enjoy your little adventure!

  4. oh my. why don’t you download elton john’s island girl. maybe it will get you in the mood for your adventure. maybe.

  5. I hope you have fun today. I love Ocracoke…it is such a neat place. Look for pirate-y things to do and you’ll be fine. And coffee.

  6. that totally sounds like something i would do. and have done, just not exactly the same. oh well! have a blast!

  7. You’ll be fine! You got your 2 dollars right? 🙂
    pictures!

  8. hahaha I do that sort of stuff all the time. And to be honest, I’m pretty sure that I dont have a clear grasp of where I’m going 80% of the time . . . oh well, I guess it could be worse right? 🙂

  9. Thank goodness you had your Chick-Fil-A pre-trip meeting…or you would have been on an island without a ferry which is very similar to being up a creek without a paddle except WAY more serious.

    Good luck to you.

  10. This is completely something that sounds exactly like me. Good luck on the trip.

  11. Being a planner, your travels scare me to death! But I’m still so jealous. Have fun and BE SAFE!

  12. It sounds like a CPQ adventure is in store.

  13. Girl, you make me laugh. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the Outer Banks. I think they are wild and wonderful… but a loonnngg drive.

    Tomorrow’s post will be good. I can feel it.

  14. Oh, funny. My experience on the ferry was not a good one. My idea of a ferry is a large, smooth-riding boat. The thing we got in is what my Papa would have used for fishing.

  15. Oh, FUN!! My sis-in-law lives in Wilmington. We vacationed in the Outer Banks Christmas ’08 and will be going back this August. It’s wonderful! I hope you have a great time — island or not. 😉

  16. You are doing the right thing. You have to take a ferry to Ocracoke to get to the ferry to Hatteras. Ocracoke is a great place to check out some little places to eat and the lighthouse. You might even see Blackbeard! Next up, Hatteras lighthouse! We took a similar route last Easter weekend. From Raleigh, we went east and took the Swan Quarter ferry to Ocracoke and then the ferry to Hatteras Island and rode all the way up to Nags Head where we rented a house, saw the Wright Brothers Memorial. If you want to really wear them out, let them run around Jockey’s Ridge for an hour or two. Sounds like a great trip!

  17. Honey, your a jungle girl.

    Don’t let an island named after a vegetable and a beverage sceer you. It can’t be that bad.

  18. Drive first. Plan later. Research and planning are for wimps! (although imnotned has bailed me out on way too many occasions, but let’s gloss quickly over that point). Remember my motto: You speak the language (or two), have a phone and a VISA card, and hit the road.

  19. I cannot wait for the update on this adventure…I’m sure you’ll have us snorting sonic out our noses!!

  20. That just gave me a good laugh out loud! You are one adventurous mommy! Hope you have fun wherever you end up.

  21. yeah…you MEANT to go to an island. That’s the ticket. 🙂

Leave a Reply

