A Recap. In List Form.

1.  It is very cold on ferries in March.

2.  Had I known #1, I would have worn something other than flip-flops.

3.  There are no safety railings on ferries.

4. There are, however, vending machines, and giving my kids quarters kept them occupied in the enclosed lounge and away from the not-so-enclosed side of the boat. 

5.   My children have a pathological fear of sea gulls.

6.  We spent all day by the sea.  Where SEA gulls live.

7.  Note to self: Never show them the movie The Birds.

8.  The season doesn’t start until next week.  Makes it a little hard to shop in fun little stores if they’re not open.

9.  On the bright side, saved a boatload of money not buying souvenirs.

10. Will use that money to buy a sweatshirt today.

Have a nice day.

21 responses to “A Recap. In List Form.

  1. Was it rough riding? Sometimes the water down that way can be rough. Hoping today is warm and sunny for your return! Glad no one went overboard…or was picked off by a bird. I can always find the bright side too.

  2. I do not like seagulls. Had one take a donut out of my hand one time. God not wanting me to have a donut or just scary bird?? They live in the parking lot of a K-Mart here. I’ve never been in that store.

  3. Every time I see a group of seagulls I think of the movie. You know there is a Birds II. Quality viewing!

    Have a blast and stay warm. Have you ever tried OBX clam strips? They are HUGE, like bigger than your thumb. Too much meat for me, but I know how you like to try the local fare. 😉

  4. I am also very afraid of sea gulls. I don’t know why you wouldn’t be, them things is crazy!

  5. LOL! This cracks me up! Seriously . . . I’m crying, from laughter!

  6. Becca is hilarious!

    Nothing worse than being cold, in my opinion–hope you got that sweatshirt!

  7. awesome.

    i LOVE that you have this amazing ability to see things from the right side, the positive view. Even the worst things are viewed through an amazing lens. the lens of CPQ. i may sound sarcastic, but i really mean it, and i’m going to try and borrow that lens around here for a couple of days. 🙂 thanks. i’ll get it back to you soon.

  8. Just don’t be eating around those crazy birds and you should all be fine.

  9. My kids love seagulls, but are afraid of ants and moths. I think we should move to the beach.

  10. I once heard someone call seagulls flying rats. Or was that pigeons? Anyway, they’re pesky little creatures and I liked them until they pooped on my head. Now I scare them away every chance I get (which is not many since I have not seen a beach since 1993).

  11. Never feed a lonely sea gull. He brings his friends.

  12. What a bummer that you missed “season” by one week. Hmm. Maybe we’ll road trip again? I need to fill my OBX reservoir soon. It is such a unique area. Have I told you how much I love it there?
    Yeah, I’ll stop now.

  13. Mine.

    (This comment will only make sense if you’ve seen Finding Nemo a kajillion time and who hasn’t so why am I explaining myself?)

  14. Suggestion: eat at John’s Drive-In. It looks like a little white cinder-block dive, but the dolphin sandwich is to die for, as well as the shakes. It’s on the beach road in Kill Devil Hills or Kitty Hawk. The locals can point you in the direction you need to go. I hope it’s open!

  15. I don’t do birds.

  16. I think you are one very courageous lady, a wonderfully adventurous mom who is making memories to last a lifetime, & such a fun person! Go Girl!

  17. averagemoreorless…”Mine”..HILARIOUS!

    You are the best MOM, evah! Three boys, sea gulls, AND a cold ride on a ferry, without shopping!…still feeling sorry for the boy’s future wives. How can they possibly be a cool as their mother-in-law??

    Can’t wait for the next installment of BIRDS III, CPQ style. Be safe.

  18. The ferry is chilly in late June, can’t imagine March! Didn’t know there was a season. Good to know.

  19. I inadvertently happened on “The Birds” at my babysitter’s house when I was in 3rd grade.

    Now you know one of the reasons behind my uniqueness.

Leave a Reply

