Fourteen Years Ago

Fourteen years ago, my mom poked her head in my bedroom door and said, “It’s your wedding day!”

Today, my husband shook me awake and said, “Time to get up, Snoozer.”

Fourteen years ago, I went to the salon to get my nails painted.

Today, I never let them grow out past my fingertips and nail polish is more of a hassle than it’s worth.

Fourteen years ago, my hair was its natural shade and adorned with a white voluminous veil.

Today, it’s in a ponytail holder that may or may not match my clothes and seriously needs some help from Ms. Clairol.

Fourteen years ago, I grabbed a slice of pizza on the way to the church.

Today, I keep at least three pizzas in my freezer at all times.

Fourteen years ago, my friends gathered in a church to see us get married.

Today, blessedly, I still have those same friends.

Fourteen years ago, my daddy peeked into the sanctuary from the back of the church and dramatically whispered, “I don’t think he’s going to show up.”

Today, there’s never a doubt that he won’t walk in that door.

Fourteen years ago, we had no clue what was to face us.

Today, we still don’t.

Fourteen years ago, we said, “I do.”

Today, we still do.

Have a nice day.

41 responses to “Fourteen Years Ago

  1. Happy, happy anniversary!

  2. How sweet! Happy anniversary!

  3. awwwww….happy anniversary!!

  4. Happy Day to you both!

  5. Very sweet…especially since we live in times where very few know what the word “commitment” means. Have a happy day!

  6. Aww, that’s so sweet! Happy Anniversary! May God bless you with many more. 🙂

  7. 14 years ago I was moving the last of my things out of my rented house, packing for my honeymoon and decorating the church. 14 years ago tomorrow Jack and I were married. How cool! In a slightly weird way.

  8. Fourteen years ago, I walked up to a soon-to-be-MrCPQ and said “Seriously, a white jacket?”

    Today, I’m jealous of his white, yet present, hair.

    Happy anniversary, you crazy kids.

  9. Happy Anniversary! God Bless you in many more years to come!

  10. What a tribute to the faithfulness of God. Hope you will be just as blessed today, though in very differet ways as you were 14 years ago.

  11. Happy Anniversary!!! What a sweet post!

  12. Happy anniversary! Love this post 🙂

  13. Awwww…..what a sweet post. Happy Anniversary!!

  14. Happy Anniversary. What a sweet post! Love, love, LOVE it!!

  15. Congratulations! Happy Anniversary! I love this post – so sweet!

  16. You two are so cute. The top picture, but especially the bottom picture! 🙂
    Happy Anniversary.

  17. Very Sweet! Happy Anniversary ♥

  18. So I’m a sap. But I love this:
    Fourteen years ago, my daddy peeked into the sanctuary from the back of the church and dramatically whispered, “I don’t think he’s going to show up.”

    Today, there’s never a doubt that he won’t walk in that door.

    Fourteen years ago, we had no clue what was to face us.

    Today, we still don’t.

    Fourteen years ago, we said, “I do.”

    Today, we still do.”

  19. 14 years ago you had no idea that your life together would be perfect even when it’s not. You are one lucky duck…enjoy this day

  20. Happy Anniversary to you both! Wishing you many many more!

  21. Happy Anniversary!

  22. Fourteen years ago…. I was there! Every bride says, “You’ll be able to get lots of wear out of this bridesmaid dress” but very few deliver on that promise. The bridesmaid dress from your wedding is the only dress I wore repeatedly after March 30.

    So grateful and blessed to know you both and to still be part of the story.

  23. Love it! Happy Anniversary!

  24. Love you both!!!
    Happy Anniversary!

  25. Agree with Gretchen!!! Hi, my name is Cathy and I’m a sap. Just got tears in my eyes….

    Happy Anniversary, you two lovebirds!!!!

  26. How great for a marriage to just get better with age! Happy, Happy Anniversary!

  27. That was awesome and beautiful. Happy Anniversary, Mr. AND Mrs. CPQ!!!!!! 🙂

  28. Happy Anniversary…ya’ll look great.

  29. In the first pic you both look so young… in the last pic you both look so contented… God is so good! You are 2 very special people!

  30. Love it! Happy, happy day to you both!

  31. Happy Anniversary!

  32. Geez. Make the mascara run, why don’tcha?

    Happy Anniversary!! 🙂

  33. Look at those babes at the altar!

    Precious post, my dear. Hope you and Mr. CPBBQ have had a delightful day! (I’ll be celebrating 12 years along w/ the Resurrection on Sunday..so it’s sure to be a double whammy kind of day!)

  34. Awwww, Congratulations!!!

  35. Happy Anniversary!

  36. Happy Anniversary (a day late….oops!)! hope you had a fabulous day together, and congrats! It’s nice to have another great example of a good Christian marriage in this crazy world!

  37. Sweet, sweet post. Happy anniversary to you and the mister.

  38. Loved your anniversary post. I will have to say I got tickled thinking of the proposal!

    Wishing you and Mr. CPQ many more years!

  39. Ok, that one made me weepy.

    Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

