Three Things Thursday

1. JJ and I both cried in the shoe department at J.C. Penney yesterday.  He cried because his foot is officially out of kid’s sizes which means that Spiderman sandals are no longer available as a fashion footwear choice.

I cried because men’s sizing means I have to shell out double.

Travis is a 7, JJ’s an 8, and Tommy?  Sweet, sweet Tommy is a 10 1/2 E  which is a size and a half larger than the last time I measured him approximately six minutes ago.

The shoe salesman actually used the word “Sasquatch” and offered his condolences.

2.  I’m trying a new diet this week based on an article I read on the flight back home Sunday.  It calls for being a vegetarian (whole grains, legumes, fruits and veggies) until 6 p.m. and then eating whatever you want (meat, dessert) for your evening meal.  I’ve been running a ton of errands this week and have grabbed lunch out a couple of times and I have to say that I’ve gotten some funny looks when I’ve asked for their vegetarian options.  I guess I don’t fit the image or don’t have the PETA bumper stickers on my car, or it could be that I pulled my debit card out of my leather wallet and leather purse and gave myself away as a poser.

Whimzie was wonderfully supportive about my new eating plan and said, “Good luck with that” with just the slightest hint of sarcasm in her voice but she’s allowed to roll her eyes since she knows I have ADD and will be on to a new and improved diet approximately six minutes from now.

3.  Speaking of six minutes, I have to run out the door because I need to get to my hairapy appointment today.  I think all my layers are finally grown out which means it’s time to get a layered cut and start the madness all over again.

Have a nice day.

21 responses to “Three Things Thursday

  1. Can’t wait to see photos of your new hair or hear how the diet is working! Oh, and I totally get the boyfeet/sasquatch thing. My 11 year old is bigger than my 12 year old and also wears men’s shoes. Seriously. What is up with that?

  2. Thank you for being honest about what we all do with our hair. And, I feel ya about the shoe sizing. Tommy is catching D, very quickly. I’m hoping J is holding steady at a 10.5/11.

  3. Interesting idea for the diet, but goes against conventional wisdom to eat lighter in the evening. I know you’ll keep us posted!

    Shoes x 3: hadn’t thought of that before. (sympathetic sigh)

  4. I wear a 10 1/2. Keep me in mind when he grows out of them next month!! LOL love you and miss you guys!!

  5. Speaking of Diets...

    I am going to assume that the number this morning on my bathroom scale was an April Fools joke.

    If not, I will be joining you on your veggie-quest.

    Do they sell swim wear in the Sasquatch isle? Particularly swim wear that will make me look like the approaching-forty- fifteen isn’t actually happening? I may be in need.

  6. Lydia Stevenson

    They do not even carry my shoe size here in Poland. I have asked and they say women’s shoes don’t go that high. NICE!! Embarrasing ! I bring all my shoes from the States. My oldest daughter also wears an 11(just told you my size) and she is only 13, 12 year old 9 1/2 and 10 year old size 6 women’s sizes!!! I am thinking about basketball scholarships for college because surely they are going to be extremely tall.

  7. 5kidswdisabilities

    Sasquatch! That’s funny. Having a family with 3 boys whose feet are size 13, I can understand!!!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  8. All our kids are pretty typical standard shoe sizes which is completely amazing because my foot is barely a 5 and the Hubby is a 9. We were just glad the kids HAVE feet!

  9. My fashionista middle child just learned the hard lesson of buying for love regardless of size when my daddy bought her cowboy boots last week that look fabulous, but apparently hurt like heck. Little sis is THRILLED!

  10. Wow – I can relate to EVERYTHING in this post. My 15 year old son also wears a 10 1/2 …(my 13 year old daughter now wears the same size as me!)

    And the hair? Oh boy! I just got my hair cut last week – I went from a cute little bob to wanting to “change things up” and got a cut little layered cut. Except, it’s not so cute. I hate it! Why did I think layers were a good idea? Ugh. So…I’m growing mine out (again) too!

    Good luck with your new cut!

  11. Oh, I feel your shoe pain. But instead of size issues (my kids still have relatively smallish feet) I have style issues. Some freaky manufacturers think elementary age kids need to have a 1 to 2 inch heel on their sandals. For Sunday School, that might be ok. But don’t they realize kids do still run and play, even in sandals? Drives me nuts!

  12. Ok so Adam is the same way about diets – and everything really 🙂

  13. wow.wow.wow.

    I could ALMOST go for that diet until I needed a midday ChikFilA run…

  14. I am chuckling at the sasquatch comment. Because for triplets, those boys are all vastly different from each other!

  15. I took “2 girls” shopping for shoes last week & #2 has outgrown older #1, moving into women’s sizes, which means no more cute little girl shoes & higher prices. But she’s always been so hard to fit, that I was thrilled to find 2 pairs for her!

  16. Sasquatch.

    Bwahahahaha!!

    Shoes x 3 = not funny.

  17. You just know we are waiting, next, for the hair pics post. And I don’t like it when the hair stylist acts like this is “what she does all day – no biggie”. I wear this hair EVERY SINGLE DAY. So please act like this appointment IS big deal. 🙂 It’s an event, people!!

  18. By “good luck with that,” I assuredly meant that I support you in this new dietary endeavor.

  19. So, how’s the diet working out? I have a friend who when we go out for breakfast always orders a veggie omelet with extra bacon. ha! Maybe you know her…?? I think if I stop snacking, I will lose 15 lbs. What do you think?

  20. All of a sudden I was thinking about this post and it hit me: I IM’d that “good luck with that to you.” So how did you hear sarcasm in my voice?

    GOTCHA!

  21. Please forgive the wrong end quotation placement in the above comment.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

