A Big Lot of Easter

So, Sus, what did you do for Easter?

We had so much fun this weekend.  We took the kids to the mountains to visit their grandparents for Easter weekend where I received the shock of my life to see the kids put ham in their mouth and not complain for the first time in 10 years.  (They even hated ham baby food, which come to think of it, is pretty foul.)  I was so proud of them because we’ve been working on “eat whatever people give you without saying ‘it’s horrible’ out loud” for many, many months, and they behaved beautifully at the table this year and I slipped them an extra dozen Nestle Crunch eggs for making me look good in front of the family.

Since it was close to our anniversary, my mother in law offered to watch the boys for us Saturday night so that Mr. CPQ and I could go out on a romantic date to celebrate, and we’re never ones to turn down free babysitting so we took her up on her offer and stepped out for a couple of uninterrupted hours.

Secretly, I think it was her attempt to get some more grandchildren out of the deal.  This is the same woman who took us and Mr. CPQ’s sister and her husband on a cruise right after we all got respectively married for the express (and often stated) purpose of getting a grandchild nine months later.

Talk about yer awkward glances when she’d announce at the dinner table, “We’re going to leave y’all alone tonight to do WHATEVER you want to do.”

Wink.

Wink.

Sus, where did you go for your date night?

Mr. CPQ took me El Pobre, which means “gas-inducing carbohydrates ” in Mexican and from there we went to our favorite place to meander, Big Lots.  I know it’s hard for some people to believe that I love Big Lots given that just last week I was eyeballing $1,700 purses on Michigan Avenue, but it’s true, I love me a discount store, especially when I see fun stuff like this:

Wrestling Alligators

I had this as a kid! Did you?

Snort.

Thought it was funny to have the "Sunbathing" sign pointing to the "No Shirt" sign. Some stock boy was bored, I'm sure.

My apologies to my food sensitive friends...even I gagged at the thought of "pourable shortening".

His love for potted meat products knows no bounds.

Sus, did you get anything at Big Lots?

We managed to make it out of the store without buying anything you see pictured above, though I had to really wrinkle my nose and give Mr. CPQ the evil eye to get the Spam out of the cart, and then we went to KMart where I wandered the aisles and whispered incredibly romantic things in my husband’s ear like, “Did you see those cute flip flops for $2?”

Sus, did you get any Easter pics made?

I didn’t get a single one with the whole family because boys were strippin’ clothes as soon as they walked in the door from church, but I did get a few my mom might like to see.

Hope your Easter was fantastic, and thanks for asking about mine.

Have a nice day.

20 responses to “A Big Lot of Easter

  1. Looks like it was a great weekend. Those are some handsome boys there! : )

  2. glad to know my family isn’t the only one that missed its photo op because boys (or in my case one particular 19-year-old boy) couldn’t keep those Sunday duds on for one more minute. Of course, being married to a preacher never makes for great after church photos because he didn’t make it home until 1:00 anyhow. Glad you had a great Easter too. We were equally blessed, though I haven’t done any great discount shopping with my man lately. Obviously I’m missing out…

  3. You look radiant in pink, my dear, and I love the picture of you and each of your boys. Glad you had a great Easter!

  4. I have never been to a Big Lots, but it looks like my kinda store.
    And a husband to go shopping with, that’s my love language!!

  5. Speaking of Diets...

    Thank the good Lord above that you ended this post with those handsome boys in their Easter array….after liquid shortening and Spam I thought I might have to excuse myself.

    Actually, that shortening reminded me of a show I saw once on liposuction. But i digress.

    Anywho, I am so happy you had a Happy Easter and a good date with Mr. CPQ as well!

  6. Oh, and I guess i don’t have to be incognito any more…

  7. Snort!?!

    I resemble that remark.

  8. Oh….those are precious pictures of you all with your boys. And you do look SO pretty in pink!! Looks like a wonderful time away!

  9. What a great day to start the week…seeing my beautiful daughter, handsome son-in-law and grandsons all decked out! So proud of you, and love the way you’re wearing your hair “tucked” under a bit.

  10. Great pics with all 4 of your boys! I bought Jean Nate lotion & dusting powder before I went to the hospital to have Gretchen. When I would hold here, she smelled so good. Since I had worked in the nursery of that hospital, I asked one of the other nurses what new lotion they were using on the babies that smelled so good. “Nothing” she replied. Took me weeks to figure out that G.’s smell was actually my “new” smell. So that smell still evokes sweet memories for me!

  11. I know you didn’t ask…or did you…but you all are just adorable…and handsome (for the boys).:)

    And because I know you wanted to know…I spent an entire weekend trying to stay away from “El Pobre” (ahem) so that the ENTIRE choir standing behind me still wanted to be my friend by the end of it…

  12. Lovely pictures! We don’t have any Easter pics, except for the ones of the kids playing “Fact of Carp” (the rest of the world may call this “fact or crap like it says on the box). We don’t use that nasty word though (well, except maybe me…once in a while…ha!) Oh wait, and there’s a pic of Luke playing with the remote controlled fart machine. Really??? Yes. Can you say Hill-Billy????? All the kids (men ) were laughing, and the girls were rolling their eyes. Happy Easter!

  13. Wasn’t there a Jean Nate jingle? It’s slowly coming back to me. Bald Guyz – ha! Great pictures!!

  14. He is risen!

    I heart Big Lots, and also wore Jean Nate as a kid (then switched to Love’s Baby Soft).

    That is all.

  15. I didn’t know they still made Jean Nate’. I can almost hear the commercial!

    Big Lots looks like my kinda place.

    Great Easter pics. I didn’t get a. single. one. of my family. Oh well.

  16. What great pictures! And look! You’re married. Big is always single in my pictures, it seems.

    Liquid shortening? ish….

    Jean Nate? Oh, yeah. I bought my mom some as a present, I’m sure.

  17. Jean NaTAY. Yes, M’am.

    It sat right next to the Love’s Babysoft.

  18. Y’all are a spiffy lookin’ bunch. So cutey in the Easter duds.

    And I love me a hot date at a discount store. Nothing speaks foreplay like a clearance rack. Just sayin’.

  19. Loved me some Jean Nate. And Lemon Up Shampoo. And Gee Your Hair Smells Terrific. Although we couldn’t say the complete name because we couldn’t say “Gee” in our house.

    Love the pictures, too. And the people in them.

  20. Who knew Big Lots could be so entertaining?

    Love your Easter pics! You look GREAT in pink!

Leave a Reply

